Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

El Chupacabra

by marcosromero - Jam Entry

================
Game Description
================

You are the real and autentic "El Chupacabra".

It is Midnight and you are hungry. Sheeps are perfect food for your stomach but the farmers will defend their sheeps with Guns!

================
Instructions
================

Kill all the sheeps and avoid or kill farmers.

========
Controls
========

Point & Click.

===============
Technical Notes
===============

Because of real life work this weekend, the game is far from finished, sorry for madness!!

I would have needed one more day to fix movement, implement a lot of things, audio and more :_(

The game is an autentic crap in the actual state but I submitted it anyway.





Downloads and Links


Ratings

#336Mood(Jam)3.37
#367Graphics(Jam)3.70
#402Audio(Jam)3.07
#418Theme(Jam)3.59
#667Humor(Jam)2.55
#716Overall(Jam)3.00
#774Innovation(Jam)2.70
#867Fun(Jam)2.59
#1314Coolness47%

Comments

3CGames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:41am

Great looking game, the sound effects and visuals sell it well. The controls feel really awkward though.

Croze says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:41am

Pretty cool, the click to move was kind of awkward but it fit the theme well. I liked the graphics and sound effects

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:48am

The mood is nice! Controls are a little unwieldy, though.

TeamOA says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:50am

Really quite good. The only thing I didn't like was the controls, it felt like you were clicking to set a waypoint for your monster to move to, so when making long distance clicks, you wouldn't be able to quickly change course. But other than that it's a very solid experience

Downtown says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:03am

Really liked the audio and graphics. The Gameplay didn't seem complete, and I'm very suspicious as to there being 12 sheep in the map, I played both versions you submitted and searched the whole map over and over and could only ever find 11. the movement was a little frustrating as the move commands wouldn't override the previous command.

Great looking effort though, and I imagine you could turn it into a great game with a little more time.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:06am

Controls a bit sketchy.

gquibao says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:40am

Amazing job dude! Loved the art and such a immersive sound effect. Great game you have here!

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Awesome concept and great art. I am the goat sucker.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Yay I found all the sheeps :p

The game is simple but the graphics and the mood are nice.

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:52pm

I love the mood of the night, the combat is a bit awkward, plus I could not find the last sheep. Nice graphics, good job overall!

mooncalf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Very nice audio and great visrep. The hit detection is not very solid, unfortunately. And the panning is a neat device for this; it lets me know that I need to check around and be stealthy if I can.

Good job!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Me ha gustado mucho el juego, muy original lo de usar el chupacabra como protagonista. El pixel art también es bueno así como la ambientación. Creo que ha sido una muy buena entrada, que con más tiempo podría convertirse en un juego muy divertido. Quizás un poco difícil escapar o vencer al de la escopeta eso sí, jeje. ¡Felicidades!

napoleon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:19pm

A pretty decent game if you ask me, however, I thought the sheep sound effects were a bit weird, so were some of the movement animations. Overall, it was pretty decent.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:48am

Soft animations, elegant pixel art, nice point and click and path fiding mechanic, nice camera movement. I also liked a lot the way you did scenary and its atmosphere.

It would be nice if the game were more challenger. Exemples: Maybe the sheeps could runaway from the monster? maybe you have to catch all sheeps before it breaking dawn or have to stay in silence to don't wake up the farmer?

Overall its a great and nice work! a mobile version would be great =D

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Well put together, felt kind of weird, but great!

sergicollado says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:33pm

I like graphics, controls need more work, nice idea
1

kidando says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Well that was somewhat scary. But the graphics were solid. I played the original entry. Really good stuff. Congrats on the submission.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:50pm

The mood is very good but the controls feel a bit buggy. Overall it is a nice jam.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Loved the chupacabra's design and his walking animation, the art is nice. Didnt get why he slaps the sheeps insted of bitting them tho

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]