Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

No Credit, No Problem!

by Razoric - Jam Entry

It's your first day on the job as a Title Loan Agent. You must get past the probationary period which involves successfully accepting or denying 10 applications.

Gameplay is inspired by games like Papers, Please.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#103Mood(Jam)3.85
#145Overall(Jam)3.73
#171Audio(Jam)3.58
#199Humor(Jam)3.49
#373Fun(Jam)3.26
#407Theme(Jam)3.60
#414Graphics(Jam)3.61
#510Innovation(Jam)3.03

Comments

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:59am

Reminds me a lot of Papers, Please!

fmdud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:59am

Loved the mood here, the background audio really made the experience. Good job!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:01am

Very good art, and nice take on the theme. Very reminiscent of Papers Please. Good work!

petersmyth says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:04am

Very nice graphics, I especially liked the computer screen effect.

JoseArias says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:05am

As the description said, I thought in Papers, Please. It is a good alternative. Interesting and fun.

SecularBaron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:07am

Awesome game. More depressing than Paper's Please. Truly we are the monsters.

jstclair13 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:19am

Interesting game! More content :D

cudabear says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:28am

This is awesome! I loved Papers, Please so I was right at home with the mechanic you designed. My only complaint is that it was a bit to easy. It would be better with more pressing time constraints or more things possibly going wrong. Still, this is a great for the scope of Ludum Dare.

Graphics were simple but portrayed the scene well. Audio suited well also. And "Iam Nekkid" got me laughing for quite a while. Well done!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Like others said, this is the Capitalist version of Papers, Please. Would recommend.

mboaj says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Credit please! :D

JoJoX says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Very fun one ! The audio is perfect for the game.

Aelius says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:49pm

I think the boss is still the monster in that case. The crazy naked guy is a cool addition.

fubenalvo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Ok, as I see not I'm the only one who compare this game to PprsPlz. But that's a greate game, and this is a good start to grow up for that. :)

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:27pm

You nailed it. I've had one of these jobs. This is how it feels. If you have a soul anyway.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Very funny little game. Nice work! It would have been nice if there was some other way to lose, like a time constraint, but other than that it was very good!

superfluous says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Haha, we had a similar take on the theme! The art is great and the concept is great.

Spoiler:

I think the remorse in the ending hurts the theming. Too much redemption for the player character. :D Still very well done.

iossif says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:52pm

passport.. erm... application please!

i think you really picked a great sample to build your idea on. i enjoyed the game a lot!

Chikoness says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:11pm

I've never felt so depressed after finishing a game. >:

Iam Nekid? Hugh G Rection? I am done.

Full marks for this game :D please do publish it as a complete game!!!

Reccy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:28pm

I love it. There's nothing more I can say :D

KodingNights says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Papers Please!

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Great job, graphics and audio were spot on.

WASDMagician says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Interesting game, quite easy and a nice take on the theme.

I should have given IamNekkid his 1mil.

Reallysketchy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Really fun! I love the theme and the audio's great.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:28am

Got the discount at the end, I would play again if text would be skippable? Other than that, great job! Wasted a warning by not realizing it's year 2010 :)

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:57am

Some nice looking graphics, and great mood!

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:56pm

cool game and nice graphics and audio :D

Yamzho says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Pretty good !

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:41pm

I liked the mood! The audio fit the game very well, it's less nervous than paper please because there is no timer here, but the game do the job. The naked guy is fun :) Great submission!

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Great job. Paper, please. This is a wonderfully polished game. Not too original, but who cares if there having to much fun.

Shaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Fantastic papers, please-esque game, and a real triumph considering the time. Very well made and a great take on the theme. Excellent work.

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Good game! I guess Papers Please is now a genre :D

Also, great audio.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Very nice art and theme understanding :)

superpatch says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Well, a twist on "Papers, Please" and a nice take on the theme. Loved the "use pc" graphic.

lemer says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:45pm

I enjoyed playing this game, great job and fantastic audio.

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:27pm

I really like the aesthetics of this game. Definitely has a Papers, Please vibe going on, which isn't a bad thing. Nice work, although I personally could have done without the final dialog exchange.

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:05am

This is amazingly well designed, good idea for a concept which can be done in 72 hours. Also HILARIOUS! ;D

disperse says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:31am

So polished for 72 hours, amazing work. Probably among the best I've tried so far!

EwChap says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:32am

Very Nice PP style game. Got me good a few times.

killersnoofie says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:01am

Very good game , I must agree with a few other people , it reminds me of papers please ( a game that i think is awesome )

kaype says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:16am

I can definitely see the Papers, Please! influence, but the game itself is still really good. The fonts are great, the art is consistent and the choice if colors is good too.

Great work

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:22am

Really great job!!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:23am

What a soul-crushing game, but I suppose that was the idea. :P I like being able to shuffle papers around on the desk though.

zuurr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:32am

i enjoyed the papers please gameplay and was somewhat relieved that it was way easier than papers please which was always hard and stressful.

this made it more boring too, sadly.

that said i think that this style of gameplay should be done more because i think maybe are more interesting mechanics along those lines.

HappyHour says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:34am

Unique take on the theme and a successful derivative of an existing game. I enjoyed this one.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:36am

Awesome game here! I loved Papers Please and now I love this game too. :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:05am

Very interesting game, it's fun playing it. Sounds is good, it's enhance game mood. Gameplay running well without bug.

And nice ending.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:19am

Very similar to Papers, Please! Took off in a different direction though. Very solid look and feel, played this twice to see the other outcomes.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:46am

Nice take on the theme. There was a download error on the itch.io version btw

dpisarcik says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:49am

Loved the paper-shuffling gameplay. The graphics had a nice consistent level of quality that I can appreciate. It has a nice, modern lo-fi feel.

guoboism says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:02am

A well made Papers, Please game. Picked by GB

KR-Eddie says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Great graphics and audio.
Gameplay was a bit bland and easy, but it made up for it in story.

Obvious_San says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Seems inspired by Papers, Please but anyhow, a good and well designed game :) Pixelart is all righty and the sound is good, too!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Papers, Please

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Nice job on this. Great mood created through the visuals, sound, and game mechanics. Very nice papers-please-like. :)

Patomkin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:28pm

That a nice game! Graphics, and sounds, and those conversations... well done! :) (But it remind me of some other game... hmm)

JoshCJohnK says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:46pm

This game need some negative consequences other than warnings from your boss. When reviewing applications after about the 5th one, the process seems more tedious than rewarding. Putting some form of conflict such as a timer or something of the sort would have been more rewarding. Honestly though this is one of the best LD jam games I have played so far and I have played a lot. GREAT WORK!

Divitos says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Overall a very amazing game!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:10am

The game is a humorous take on the theme. I definitely wish there was a time constraint to make its a bit more challenging. But otherwise, this is great!

paracatgames says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:04am

Oh my gosh! I love this so much. In a way it's an even better theme than Papers, Please! There are so many ways this could be developed further (and altered to be less like Papers, Please), e.g. managing the title loan place throughout the year. Maybe the only game so far where I really did feel like a monster!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:04am

Fun game. The text was pretty entertaining to read.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:13am

Great game, only sticking point was the 250/wk person, where the rules say must have monthly income "greater than" 1000/month, which was a little ambiguous. But that's really a nit pick, everything else was well put-together. Perhaps a skip button during the "cut scenes" with the interest and fees, but all in all a great game.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:42am

A really good take on the theme

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:16am

Definitely reminiscent of Papers, Please. I liked the audio a lot - it really created a paper-pusher feeling. And the "you owe us $way_more_than_you_thought in 84 months" thing got the message across well.

I felt like there probably should have been a time limit where the person would get impatient and leave or you have until 5pm to process everything, or something to give a sense of difficulty. As it is, there was no reason for me not to be very thorough, which made it feel too easy.

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:26am

Papers, please it's one of my favourite games. This game is a good reminiscent of Paper please. The PC interference is really cool.

P.S.: Glory Arstotzka!

goodbadokay says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:49am

Nice graphics, but it took so much time to win:)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Bit slow for me, but I like the art and sfx!

JackDegree says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:21pm

I really really liked it – only found the end a bit meh. I find you insist a bit too much on linking to the theme when it could benefit from being implicit!

But great job otherwise!

Hippomancer says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:53pm

This game gave me customer service flashbacks. 10/10

QuexD says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:20am

Papers pls 1.1

xvw says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Fun game. A lot like Papers Please, that might be a downside. A bit of change would have been cool.
The mood is great, especially the audio. The ending is good but obvious. An alternative ending would have been a plus.

Well done!

cirpig29 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:27pm

You perfectly caught the mood of Papers Please. This game is very solid, complete and does exactly what (I think) it set out to do. You can be proud.

Acerio says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:42pm

This was a weird game. But really interesting. Good job :D

valid4life says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:20pm

I enjoyed the concept but i noticed that you couldn't skip the long process after you accept or deny. Made the game feel long and drawn out.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:31pm

There is nothing better than doing paperwork, this game was quite fun and definitely a five star for innovation!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:16am

Great Game That Redefines What A Monster Truly Is

TheColorMan says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:23am

Good sound effects. I loved the nekkid guy. Title loans are a great way to look at the theme.

Darkflint says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:57pm

An really good interpretation of the theme! Good work!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Tedious, stressful depressing. Absolutely perfect!!!

PEBKAC says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:57am

The game felt somewhat simple/easy; perhaps adding a time constraint would increase the tension?

The audio was spot-on, well done.

walaber says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:59am

nice entry, I'm a sucker for Papers, Please style gameplay. this was a nice snack-sized version :)

Drauthius says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Nice. Those are some high fees.

Goodzilla says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Well made game, nice graphics, works well!
Also I like the idea a lot!

conrad123 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:14pm

I love the interpretation of the theme!

Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:12am

Nicely made game, certainly pushed the same paperwork buttons as Papers, Please. Not sure Hugh G. Rection was really necessary, but there you go. A bit heavy handed with the moralizing too: I didn't really identify with the character's whining about the job.

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:43am

It is amazing how even bureaucracy becomes fun in a game. Games are that powerful. I can easily see the parallel in between this and papers please, and it is a welcome prospect. The game feels so complete it is hard to believe it is to be a Ludum Dare entry, feels like a complete game that took weeks to be created frankly.


I really don't feel like a monster though. I mean sure I ask absurd taxes and lock desperate people in dire need for money on 84 month tortures due to absurdly high taxes, yes. However, truth be told I am actually a lowly victim of a financial system trying to also make a living, the real monsters are those that make the economic turns that impactful on the working populace without giving any support or letting their society crumble due to personal ideological beliefs or plain old corruption. Not me. But still fun game!

AlexFili says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:54am

A very fun game. I got bored so started accepting everybody and then we had a run in with Mr Hugh... Overall really good game, clearly inspired by someone with a similar ideology and well executed!

Resonious says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Definitely akin to Papers Please. Totally awesome though. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Sep 6, 2015 @ 10:47am

Funny, awesome game. I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/U5AMORGkiRk

weirdway says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:21pm

How do I feel more like a monster as a dodgy loan agent than I ever did as a crooked soviet border guard? Excellent, well done.

superfreak says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Really enjoyed the mood in this with visuals which, whilst simple, are super effective and add to the overall feel of the game. Great job.

fdslk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Amazing clone, I love how the game works, it's quite fun and it made me feel like total douchebags most part of the game. 5 out of 5 and I'll love to see this as full game

Demy says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 7:42pm

No dramatically dying relatives and porn ads?

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:23am

Dat Hugh G Rektion tho.

Great job, the audio really pulls it all together here :)

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:37am

Loved the keyboard and ringing sounds, very nice sound design. The "PC" is also a really nice touch! This was a really together game. I just have one problem...

THE HANDBOOK SAID MUST HAVE INCOME __GREATER THAN__ $1000 BUT ROY BLANKENSHIP ONLY MAKES $250/WEEK ASSUMING 4 WEEKS/MONTH THAT'S NOT LEGIT!!! I DEMAND YOU REVOKE THIS WARNING!!!

This game is definitely the cream of the crop, BTW.

#hashtag says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:50am

Excellent game. The gameplay, art and sound were all done very well.

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:53am

Great take on the theme!

Ludipe says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Nice take on the theme. It was a pretty fun reinterpretation of "Papers Please". Very well executed, but it might be laking some kind of reward for completing all the task fast.

Mubox says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:39am

Nice mood. :D

PS: We have fixed our game, if you want to see it again. ^^
Thank you.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]