Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Young Bicycler Adventurer

by CAT_IN_THE_DARK_WOOD - Jam Entry

YoBA.
In that city the only asphalt road is a bike path. How could it be possible worse? But hey, it could! This only asphalt road is occupied by selfish ladys with baby carriages, who totally ignore road signs. But they can't ignore YOU, riding on bike with near-sound speed!

Try to complete bike cross as fast as you can, dodge ladys and conrtroll your pedaling by pressing Z and X in time!

# Controls:
Z, X - left \ right pedal
Left arrow, Right arrow - turn bike
Enter - switch intro, instructions etc
Esc - restart game

Engine: libgdx
Language: scala
Platform: Cross platform, required java runtime environment(jre). (http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloa..)

# From Siberia with love.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#164Humor(Jam)3.55
#388Fun(Jam)3.24
#515Audio(Jam)2.81
#634Mood(Jam)2.97
#692Graphics(Jam)3.03
#716Overall(Jam)3.00
#774Innovation(Jam)2.70
#1090Theme(Jam)1.94

Comments

Caspila says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:29am

It's nearly impossible to look at the screen and at the bar that tells you what input to enter, made that bar should be on the top so you could see it better?
The speed ramps up a bit too fast, it's really hard at the beginning.
Didn't really see the connection with the theme though.

Track reminded me a bit of top gear haha. Good job!

sikosis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:38am

Not bad. Enjoyable even if it didn't follow the theme. The controls definitely took some getting use to.

cebollinos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:52am

Theme was vagely followed in this one. but it was nice!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:54am

Hard to look at the screen and the bar at the same time.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:54am

This game is great! I had to force myself to stop to be able to write this.

It's hard but you want to keep trying. Had me laughing out loud the whole time. The music is perfect and the graphics are smooth and very well drawn.

Damn those Mummies! Get out of my road!

- T.

celisoft says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:59am

Hard to play at the beginning but it's like bicycling ;)

This is one of my favorite game even if the theme doesn't match.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:23pm

I didn't see the link the theme. Graphically it's interesting and the music is not bad too, but it is really too hard to play, I kept falling every 10 seconds until the end.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:17pm

I feel like you could have had some sort of sound cue that would tell you when the bar hit one side of the meter, so you could hear that and bike accordingly. The best strategy imo is to get a lot of speed at the start of the level and then get to the end. Surprisingly nice music!

CONS: The lack of variety in enemy types is a little frustrating.

MISSED OPPORTUNITY: The game could have taken place on a motorcycle and be named Young Motorcyclist's Maternity Masher Adventure, or, as you'd acronym it, YoMoMMA.

reckhou says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:29am

interesting. But no link to the scene. Actually it's fun!

Erlend Aakre says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Took me a while to figure out how to get past the title screen (hit enter). Fun controls, ended up mostly just using one pedal since that was easier.

And lol at the face from Carmageddon :p

glerikud says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Man, I thought I'll be able to hit them somehow without falling! It's good though. It's fun to take sweet revenge.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:18pm

This is hard to play but I can't hep but try anyways. It makes me happy that you wrote this in scala. It seems like such a neat language.

BeardyBard says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:49am

Interesting and fun.
Awesome that Scala as development language was used. I will surely look source codes

Gatobot14 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:02pm

controsl are hard

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:00pm

I like it, but it's a hardcore.

Dudes face looks like it is taken from the Carmageddon cover... or from "Come to daddy" music video .)

yuigoto says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:43pm

I think, somehow, the theme was followed in the game. As you can just go and run over moms. :P

And the idea is quite fun itself, but biking is a bit hard, even more if you have to pay atention to the lanes and the moms/obstacles.

Had a good laugh and fun with this game. :) Nice artwork too. :D

mubox says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:27pm

It's hard to play (screen and pedal's control). Maybe the game somehow is like bicycling (look pedals when bicycling?). That game can receive improvements. Good. :)

HappyHour says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:38am

Difficult but pretty enjoyable once you get the pedal rhythm down!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]