Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Subject Status: Alive!

by flatgub - Compo Entry

You are a monstrous, sentient corrosive blob experient who has to escape from <INSERT SCIENCE FACILITY HERE>, Lucky you can move an all surfaces, Now your only issue is those guards...

I had a lot of fun working on this one! I though I'd try making a different kind of platformer. and it seems to work alright!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#69Overall3.83
#95Theme4.00
#96Fun3.70
#108Innovation3.67
#182Audio3.35
#189Mood3.45
#250Graphics3.52
#475Humor2.68
#1504Coolness44%

Comments

Cynapse says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:13am

I really like this one! I love turn-based stealth, and the ability to move on walls/ceilings is unique. Very cool tactical stealth game. :) The music is a bit repetitive though.

SeaFishelle says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:28am

This was amazing! I really felt like a blobby science experiment, killing those nasty white-coated torturers! Well done!

samcoy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:14pm

I love turn-based stealth games! I really enjoyed the time I spent with it, just a few things though...

- The game feels a little bit easy. Guards are easy to dodge, as are the laser things. I kept playing but it didn't get much harder. I kind of feel that guards should be able to see you if you're on the ceiling in front of them.
- Please make a larger-res version. My eyes.
- When you right click on a white arrow, it should move you there. It gets a little tricky remembering which is which, so right click should really do both.

I am nitpicking, and this game is really good, but those are my suggestions to make it perfect :)

parDal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:32pm

I loved the music build up on each level, although it hurt my ears a little.

Also the lighting FX is very well done, but I didn't seem the darkness mechanic working anywhere in the game, maybe I'm just dumb.

I noticed that some npcs are completely
used as props, mainly the scientists, you could add some kind of reward for killing everyone, it would add a nice extra challenge since I can just stealth out the place in the first levels.

The platforming parts are mostly trial and error, you could somehow force the player to learn about the red buttons jumps before subjecting then to a "jump right or get laserd to death" session.

The later levels got quite hard and strategical, I loved that, but I think you abused the difficulty curve a litte.

In the end, it's too hardcore for me, couldn't finish your game, sorry.

Controls are good, but could have an keyboard alternative, clicking repeatedly through a grid doesn't feel good.

Also, I like to imagine that the creature's perception of time is based on individual ticks instead of continuous flow, I know it's just a game mechanic, but it's cool to think about it.

Overall is a good game, an impressive feat considering that you made this gem in 48 hours, keep up the good work.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:21am

That's nice

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:07am

Quite fun game. The engine seems to leave a lot of room to expand upon with new mechanics, which is an underrated quality in jam games.

I was actually thinking about a type of turn based stealth game for this LD. Then we did the exact opposite.

ireal says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:55am

Wow, that was awesome, you got some skill pulling this off in 48 hours!

Conk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:46am

Very impressed with how much you got done, it's really good! My only complaint would be the controls and lack of full screen, although once you get playing the controls get a little easier, but not good to begin with, buttons would be nice :P

Leopoldine says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Woh, nice game, we need more : )
good job.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Mmmmh Interesting gameplay mechanic. I like it!
The idea is simple but nice! Well done! :D

rotpar says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:36am

Good game! Very good idea and nice gameplay. Really fun as well.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:40am

This entry is amazing. I like pixel art graphics, the stealth theme and the turn based game. Maybe the movement is a bit complicated, but the experience is awesome. Wonderful work!

dancingmad says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Nice piece of work!

Mouriso says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Love it. The visuals, lights, soundtrack, effects. Just plaing it on ntb touchpad is not really comfortable, but I see why it had to be made for mouse input.

napoleon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Really good game, I appreciated it.

stevenjmiller says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:19am

Amazing. Really good mechanics and really easy to understand.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Very neat, fun concept and controls!

Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:55am

Great idea, works really well, plus the gameplay was fantastic. Utterly brilliant for a compo entry! Fantastic stuff!

Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:11am

This is pretty fun, the controls are good, but I wish they were arrow or q,w,e,a,s,d based. Would also like to see the people roam around a bit more. Overall nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]