Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Barrel Roll Ultra!

by Saf - Compo Entry

Join the apes as they fool the plumbers in believing the myth of a great Kong! (and blow their heads)

Right,Left arrow keys -------> Move.
Up arrow key --------------> Jump
Down arrow key -----------> Throw Barrel


Get to a barrel vending machine to grab a barrel!
Aim it at the heads of the plumbers to stop them!

If you run out of lives, you lose.
If the Plumbers destroy the Kong statue, then also you lose.
Destroy all plumbers for the win!!!

My solo entry for Ludum dare 33! Improvements on the way with a post Jam entry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#73Fun3.78
#88Graphics4.05
#93Overall3.77
#101Humor3.63
#130Theme3.93
#183Innovation3.48
#208Mood3.39
#234Audio3.20

Comments

Askbackwards says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Awesome Game!
The only thing negative about it is the blatant mario rip off.
Good audio, flowed well with the game.
The Graphics were well drawn and the animations flowed well.
The Mechanics were flawless and new enough to keep things interesting.
The whole spin on the mario game is a need idea, the whole not being DK thing kinda threw me off, but it makes sense once I got started.

Saf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:00am

Thanks for playing the game. The game is a homage to the classic Donkey Kong. You also said you were disappointed by it not being like DK, but that contradicts with your first point of it being a blatant mario rip off..
Anyway, thanks a lot for the review, I have a lot planned and keep working on bringing the game it to its full potential. On a side note, be more careful when you are the first reviewer for anything creative. If you are giving reviews based on your own biases, they will still stay at the top and will affect any other who plays the game.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:20pm

nice game, good take on the theme and good art, but I think that if you maked as sprites with the White outline, it would be even cooler.

Saf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:26pm

@Hyoga I get what you are saying! Puppet kinda slightly animated Kong! That would have been cooler yeah :)

ceosol says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Awesome AI for the Mario's. I really liked how they changed directions even when they were close to the top. It made the game exciting when it could just as easily been boring and repetitive.

Tselmek says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Good take on the classic DK, nice graphics.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Great game

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Great fun entry! Love the idea of switching Donkey Kong around and it works really well!

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Cool game, love the idea of reverse donkey kong. Graphics are very polished and the wee drum beat is definitely much better than having no music at all. Could have used a few more mechanics, but was pretty fun as is. Nice job!

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:36pm

all in all, super fun game. Loved it!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Excellent job for 48 hours. Well polished, good idea.

ruerob says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Nice well made entry with nice sounds, nice gameplay, nice graphics. The controls feel up to the point! The sounds are fitting too. Very well done!!!

Unept says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Great job on theme tie-in, gameplay, graphics, sounds, (THAT voice). Very well put together.

snakezito says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:06pm

A good game with some great graphics and sound. Not much in the ways of innovation but fits the theme well and overall a good game.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Excellent, excellent work! The gameplay is nearly perfect, and the art and audio are awesome. It got a little hectic in the later levels, but then again, that's the point. ;) I'm glad you're planning to continue with this idea! 5/5

ArchBang says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Very neat! Reversal of a classic - anti-mario games are clearly the way to go. Looks good, plays well, good idea to force the player to dodge barrels too. Nice and complete for 48h effort.

t4u says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:02am

Very nice, graphic, audio and gameplay. Everything is at high level. I dont really sure what am I playing (some kind of slime ghost?).

squarepug says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Really nice graphics, like the sounds too. Definitely one of the most polished looks to it of all the entries Ive seen so far.

DragonGino says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:15pm

awesome game. it is really smooth.the graphics are great.the audio is relaxing. i hope you make more levels in the future.

Sparrow says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Fun game, the graphics and the audio were exceptionally well.

echokain says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Very nicely polished little game. I found the jump a little heavy though.

LMT says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:05pm

That was awesome. I loved the graphics, the mood, and it also had enough content to keep me playing for ages.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:27am

Awesome, awesome idea. Very fun! Addictive. It was really cool that I was "Donkey Kong"'s little minion. Awesome job! :D

Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Really fun! The art is awesome too!

dunin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:11pm

funny idea. and well done!

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Wow, an amazing entry. Believe it or not, but that was my first idea, which I ended up abandoning. I couldn't see a good way to reverse Donkey Kong. Haven't thought about waves of heroes.

But you went even farther with introducing the barrels which can hurt the player-monster as well. I also loved the physics that added possibilities and complexity.

The best game I played in LD33!

Saf says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:42am

@ReddogStone: the physics was added later, to allow for skill shots. This would allow the players to stay closer to the vending machine and still cover a larger area. I am glad you too gave the idea a thought, I was hoping for more DK demakes :) Thanks

magenta says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:37pm

A cheeky homage to a retro classic. Cute graphics with plenty to do in the later levels!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Really nice compo entry! congrats!

Brightstar says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:06am

A neat twist on Donkey Kong. I like it.

Crefossus says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:44am

very polished entry. I love the feedback for all actions like picking up barrel, mario destroyed, and juice added animations. It's like a jam entry level of polish but you did it yourself...impressive!

Good music volume, it just needs a little dancy boombox at the top :D The movement physics seem a little slippery at first, but I got used to it.

I like how new elements are introduced each level (jump over enemy, two barrel dispensers), yet the gameplay is mostly the same (get barrel, throw barrel down at bottleneck (ladders) - repeat). I think you could look at tower defense games that introduce a hero (I can only think of warcraft 3 maps off the top of my head) for gameplay inspiration. I can see how this could be tricky to pull off while staying in the mario universe though.

Also - have you tried leaving the barrel active after destroying a mario so you can time it to kill two marios with one throw? Could make the player feel smart.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:32am

Liked the take on Donkey Kong and thought it was cleverly done. The art style was polished and the gameplay with the different levels was fun.

AuthorX says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:27pm

A lot of fun, really cute and satisfying sound effects and graphics. It's always fun to see a bunch of little characters running around in different directions at once. It seemed too simple in some cases, though, because of having one ladder they'd all have to climb at some point (in level 3, right at the beginning).

Zambini says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Very fun! Clever idea and well executed. The gameplay was pretty solid. The sound effects that weren't VO were very satisfying (especially the barrel hit!).

Overall excellent entry :)


(Also yay for web game!)

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 6:50pm

good take on classic donkey kong.

jsmars says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Great use of the theme! There are some good classics-reversed like this and I love them!

dollarone says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Great game. It took me some time to realise I wasn't playing as DK. Cool and challenging gameplay. How many levels did you make?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]