Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Love Monster

by Lissar - Jam Entry

Update 1: Fixed flying enemies so they can be killed.

Mini shooter-RPG with a cute aesthetic. Not well balanced or tested, so could possibly be frustrating? Any comments appreciated.

-how to play-

a & d: move
left click: fire gun
right click: teleport to planet
e: heal
space: run
q: cycle dialogue
esc: access menu/level up screen

upgrades:

energy: health
love: action bar (shoot, run heal)
heal: amount e heals
therapy: bullet strength

the world is overrun with cuteness! time to take them out with your handy love shotgun. destroy the cute spawners in each planet system and save the galaxy from cuteification.

Everything except for music by me.
Created in Construct 2.

Music from the Youtube audio library (New Land - ALBIS)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#37Graphics(Jam)4.56
#78Mood(Jam)3.92
#400Overall(Jam)3.36
#449Humor(Jam)2.93
#454Innovation(Jam)3.09
#665Theme(Jam)3.26
#726Fun(Jam)2.79
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:02am

Absolutely LOVE the colors and visuals. Great work!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:11am

This is a super chill and relaxing game :) If you want some constructive criticism, the only thing that really stuck out to me was that it was kind of hard to tell the difference between warping and dying if you weren't paying close attention.. which is hard, because it's easy to get lost in the pretty visuals and relaxing music. Great job!

-Z

Sichuan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:16am

Amazing art. Apperantly I'm too bad to play though because I keep being overrun by cute animals.

avultima says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:28am

Definitely cute! :D

Odd that you had to click the levels on the menu screen before your character was able to get ability points. Also, I could not kill the flying cutes.

Lady Beardo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:36am

Lovely and dreamy!

TsN_RaMPaGE says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:40am

A nice twist on the monster theme :) Good job!

Lissar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:42am

DrPrettyPatty - I had planned on doing this whole death/revival scene but it slipped my mind in my rush to finish! Thank you for reminding me.

avultima - Thank you, I had thought I'd fixed the problem with the flying ones, but apparently I was mistaken! I'll have to take a look at it again later.

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:50am

Visuals are so so cool. Game is relaxing!

Caspila says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:56am

Game was so pretty, but gameplay was a bit underwhelming.

I would love to see that visual on more polished mechanics. Great job nonetheless!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Fantastic artwork! The controls could be a little faster. While I loved the chill vibe, I found that sometimes I wanted to shoot faster than allowed. Need to love the tiny things moooore!

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:59am

I think the game play could definitely use some fine tuning. Things got repetitive kind of quickly, and the controls needed to be tightened. Lovely art style, and the music fit perfectly. Put me in a relaxing mood.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:57am

Dialogues are definitely the best part about this game for me.
Very pretty color schemes, and the planet walks are ultra trippy!

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:55am

Very original idea, and sickeningly cute graphics. I liked the teleport mechanic as well as the amusing dialog. I feel like the gameplay could be faster paced though, like faster shooting speed and faster movement speed, or maybe just reduce the amount of "love" used for shooting and running. As it stands now, when on a planet with lots of enemies, it seems like you don't have a lot of options other than mashing the shoot button, then mashing the heal button when you get low on health. You could try to evade them a bit by running, but then that also leaves you out of love and unable to shoot. I think more mobility would make it more fun.

A couple possible bugs: Is it normal that when you click on a level/planet system on the menu screen, it gives you ability points? I'm assuming not. Also, some planets seem to spin the wrong way around when you sprint on them (like, objects I'm supposed to be moving towards were suddenly moving away).

Overall cool entry, nice work.

Also, come back to GAF. :)

TackoramaLtd says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:51am

Unbelieably trippy and chilled. Monster needed more power/stuff to start with.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]