Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster in the House

by Jani Nykänen - Compo Entry

Use Firefox or any webkit-based browser to play the game (Chrome, Opera etc.)!

Monster in the House is an arcade-like game where you play as a true monster, a woman, who wants to steal his husband's money by whacking him. Why she needs the money? For her selfish needs, of course!

Controls:
WASD: Move
Mouse: Aim and whack

The only third-party library this game uses is howler.js. Everything else is pure Html5/Javascript. This project uses my own simple framework (https://github.com/JaniNykanen/SpookyH5-Framework).

The music was created using Otomata and Audacity.

IMPORTANT NOTE: I made a quick bug fix (added missing " * Game.timeMod " to a few code lines), but the source code is from the version before the fix.

The post-compo version is available on Game Jolt only.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#193Humor3.35
#199Graphics3.67
#223Fun3.39
#358Theme3.55
#380Mood3.11
#410Overall3.19
#535Innovation2.89

Comments

uthamon says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Nice idea and execution. I especially like sprites of husband and children, first is depressing and kids look grotesque and... cute?

NamNam says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:43am

Cool and fun little game.

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Nice little arcade game. I think the take on the theme is the most morbid I have seen so far. The raphics also fit and add to that, as well as the music. The game is quite difficult but also rewarding. Overall, a good entry!

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:32pm

I'm not sure she will be able to buy lots of clothes with 11€ haha! But I spent a fun time playing it, graphics are really cool!

Hurlenuit says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Not bad, controls and graphics are really good. I just think it's a little bit depressing.

Tuism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Ommmmg great stuff :D Simple mechanics, dark humour, a nice tension between ease of access and difficulty in not killing your own children :) Favourite so far :D

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Nice Idea, cool small game. With 16 Euro and 30 or more children you have a bad life^^, solid game good job

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Couldn't get this working in Safari or Chrome :(

mutuware says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Good job with the graphics.

sepharoth213 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Great execution! I really like the sprites and the music here. It all contributes to a really nice dark tone that the game maintains even through gameplay.
I think the game tries to not make the physics too wacky, but it inevitably is, so I think that either removing the physics or letting them be as crazy as they seem to want to be is better than treading the middle ground that it does now, especially since the frame of the game is so small.

Great work on the art and the concept execution. Congrats on the entry!

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:40pm

fun game...the kids are hilarious. Also feels pretty satisfying beating up that poor husband.

Jani Nykänen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:44pm

"Couldn't get this working in Safari or Chrome :("
Hmm, this game should work on Chrome, Safari is not supported, though.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Nice graphics and idea, i really enjoy your game.

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Amazing graphics :)

Elenesski says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Nice idea. Kids got in too early before for I was was able to shake him down for all his money.

ViliX64 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Thanks for playing my game (Oranges In Love With My Fly).
I love the art consistency of your game :)

David Yates says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Maybe it says something about the society we live in that this is a silly, humorous game because it's about a wife beating her husband, but would be an edgy shock-value art piece if you'd switched the gender roles.

Overall a neat little game. The graphics are distinctive: very cute grotesque. It's maybe a bit on the easy side: I only ever killed my children when I specifically aimed to.

Ferret says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Damn, are there any issues you'd like to vent? d: Very well executed, slightly depressing.

defacid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:05am

Oh my god this game is insane Jani! It made me laugh but the story is ridiculous. :P

The graphics are pretty solid, as per usual.

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:05am

I liked how it plays, but _man_ that's dark! A good take on the theme though, and mood is created and maintained 100%.

cyrixd says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:47am

Nice game, very focused idea. Good variety in children hopping patterns to keep it interesting. Art style is very distinct - I won't forget that massive chin on the wife!

GagaPete says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:01am

This game is too much fun! Love the graphics.

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:12am

That was funny. The physics were great and the graphics were even better. Everyone loves whacking people.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:20am

Nice graphics. Well executed and easy-to-play :) I rated this very highly

PaulJs says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:41am

Nice idea

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:45am

A very dark and depressing game. Excellently executed. The bouncing happy children were an interesting contrast to the visibly distraught husband and the malicious wife. Great job!

squarepug says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:37pm

I like the style of art. It would have been good if there were upgradeable weapons to get more coins per whack!

Big Cow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Hah, the opening made me laugh out loud, which I don't do much from playing games! Game was simple but fun with very satisfying 'hitting' feeling.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Pretty simple but fun. Music really fits the mood, like the drawings. Only thing was it was not very innovative only thing I score you low on.

piopio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:45pm

This would be one of the more "uncorrecty political"* game I've ever played. And stupid. But graphics are nice and you can have a good time ot relax yourself after a hard job day. Without this game I would need to do something in Real World(tm) and pay a lot of money to a lawyer. So thank you very much Jani.

*: I don't know how to say it in English. I'm sorry.

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Such an art for combo? Awesome

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:20pm

This made me feel like a real monster - I killed my own child.

Fiveathome says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Haha very funny ! It becomes hard very quickly !

aeai says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:40pm

It's a really fun game:) Poor husband got a beating for 23 dollars:P

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:58pm

amazing artwork. Great idea.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:28am

interesting take on the theme, kinda dark!

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:43am

Interesting game, kind of strange that it actually touches on domestic violence. I think this game sends a pretty powerful message in disguise. Excellent work.

treeman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:56am

Hilarious! In a good way!

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Very nice game ! I loved the graphics, they are very special :) The gameplay is simple but it works.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Nice graphics. Too bad I could not beat my own children, they are always in the way ><'

Erlend Aakre says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Great artwork and execution.. damn kids keep getting in the way though! :p

Druid says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:09pm

LOL .... Simple gameplay but that idea saves it all :D Really great entry XD I love this one, srsly :D

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Nice theme use!

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:08pm

No a fan of the art style but gameplay is nice and its really well done.

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:28pm

It seems someone is bitter, haha. Seriously, nice concept and good graphics. Well done.

Crosstales says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:59pm

A nice little game. I played it too many times ;-)
Simple but addictive - imho the earnd amount of money fells too low. I'm not satisfied :-)

Anyway, well done!

LukeZaz says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:42am

Well polished, but rather repetitive and doesn't last long.

BeardyBard says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:42am

There is no time to explain start game and beat the man.

terop2 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:48pm

I liked the graphics style. Cartoon-like graphics looks excellent.

Zampi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:27pm

It's based on real story and every characters was burn in Russia

5\5

Saf says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:04pm

A beautiful entry! Keep up the great work

zuurr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:56pm

huge fan of this one. i love the art style. really. very unsettling in a good way.

on the more mechanical side, i dig the controls a lot and also the fact that the head/arm animates with it.

i think you could have benefited from more blood particles (and maybe not just rectangles) at the end. and maybe some as you go, or the husband getting more beat up as you went.

fitting audio but i guess you didnt make it since you opted out of the category.

killersnoofie says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:16am

Very Nice

namrog84 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:41am

haha that was great.... and sad

Jani Nykänen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:47am

"fitting audio but i guess you didnt make it since you opted out of the category."
I did make it, but I didn't compose it: I used Otomate music generator and then edited the track with Audacity. But since I didn't compose it, I decided to opt it out.

MrKOHCEPBAHT says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:05am

Wow. Love the art, love the audio, love the humor (What makes me feel like I am a bad person).

So little game and so much fun.

collaboration says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Man, that's just great, I am really feel sorry for her husband, really cool game.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Disturbing but solid gameplay.

Zenkerdus says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Looks great and feels finished. Nice looking artstyle.
Replayed several times.
Reminds me of Super Smash's "Grab the coins" mode.
Good job!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:14pm

fun little game. very well done

lycanpoet says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Game was well made and the sprites were pretty cool too.

WizzardMaker says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:27pm

This game was, lets say interesting, its funny.

madmaw says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:02pm

I'm reasonably uncomfortable with the premise of this. I did play, but I don't think I'll rate as I don't think can be objective. Good satire punches upward

dregamr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:20pm

XD. I finally could play it!! I didn't know the name of this game... It's funny!!

Slothmachine says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Nice painted look in graphics. Damn it takes a long time to beat a 10euro out of that man. I feel sorry for that guy. It is not easy to keep your wife satisfied.

ToloaGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:19pm

I'ts a bit depressing and I like that.

Pomb says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:34pm

really sinister but its really whacky (pun intended) :D

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Awesome :) Fun fact I think it's the first game I see with euro coin :) Really cool game! Congrats! (my best score : 11€40).

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:59am

Really Fun! Score: 7000

Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:30am

Great graphical style, pretty dark.

mubox says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Hahahahahahahah.
So many children.

Very good game. :)

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Pretty disturbing!, but the art and the best Game Over sentence ever written make this a great entry :D

Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Very nice graphics, but the mood... omg I feel depressed now.

baldman says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Love the style

psychonull says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Nice graphics and gameplay!!

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 1:46am

I'm not a fan of the subject matter. I think the game could have used a positive family example to make it clear the character you play is isn't good. Otherwise, it's just another example of domestic abuse.

superfreak says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 11:26am

Insightful game with great art - thoroughly enjoyed playing

CreamyBacon1 says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Very good job! Game play is smooth and works well, art is well done, and it gets the theme across well. Again Good Job!

General says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:37pm

My video review: https://youtu.be/-YzHwfcJcZ8
Fun game and creative development approach!

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:37am

oh my god

Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:54am

Interesting game! I included it in part 30 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/aghqdpQgwgA

Ellian says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:48pm

This is a terrible game. But just because of the setting.
I loved it! Nice graphics, weird idea but not serious enough to be lame, it was fun!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]