Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Is That Me?

by Gil4 - Compo Entry

"One day Mr. Skull woke up, looked at his mirror ceiling... And got terrified! He turned into the most cruel beast of all the worlds he's ever heard of -- a human! Scared to death, he starts running, even though he's fully aware: there is no escaping yourself."

This's a runner type of game with Right and Left arrows being the only buttons you need. The only objective is to avoid some coffins that are scattered all over Mr. Skull's castle, yet there's a small twist: some of those are only seen in the mirror, some, on the opposite, have no reflection, but you have to dodge them all.

Mr. Skull is also a bit hard to stop from moving (he's seeing a human in the mirror, duh), so you shouldn't run in one direction for too long - that's an intentional mechanic to make the game harder than your usual runner.

Try going for as long as you can to rack up some nice highscores, proving that Mr. Skull is also Mr. Skill.

Game was built with Corona SDK during some short sessions I could use.

Paint was used for art (yep, with that simplicity I didn't even want to start GraphicsGale).

BFXR was used for the hit sfx, while abundant-music generator was used to create the bgm.

Have fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#455Audio2.74
#554Innovation2.86
#576Mood2.82
#579Humor2.44
#636Fun2.77
#744Theme2.88
#748Graphics2.51
#782Overall2.73

Comments

IndigoWolf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:30am

I really like the concept but it was incredibly difficult, or I'm just bad...

Gil4 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:42am

The controls might be the reason, IndigoWolf, as linear damping isn't at 1.0, and the way force is applied to the body you can't stop right the moment you release the button. That makes it more interesting than simple "move at constant speed while pressing the button, instantly stop moving when you release it".

And, well, I did want it to be hardcore, but I may have made it a bit too difficult for someone unacquainted with the genre - I had to work on some runners before, so for me they're all kinda easy now. Anyone feeling it's too difficult - don't feel bad, the problem is most likely my current vision of runners, not your skill.

vegapomme27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:56am

The exe keeps on crashing when I die for the second time. Looked nice though.

Mantlair says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:02am

A simple endless slider game. I think there was a old school game something like this. Anyways good job. Also good music!

Gil4 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:06am

vegapomme27, could you specify what windows etc you're using? I've tested quite a lot on both win 7 and win 8 laptops, no crashes occured. Tried to reproduce the crash with different scores conditions, couldn't though. Maybe you're beating your highscore, but the folder you're putting your game into doesn't let it to overwrite the highscore.txt file?

Indyo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:20am

Nice game!
Maybe it would be cool if the difficulty like the frequency of coffins or running speed increased over time.
That way it would be less frustrating to loose.

However I had a good run with score 43 :D.

Somnium says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:48am

Pretty hard game. An interesting twist on the "mirroring".

samcoy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:50am

I really quite liked this. It wasn't particularly suited to the theme imo but it was very fun.

Graphics were good, as was the music, damn well better than I could make in 24 hours.

It was really difficult because of the looseness of the controls, but that just made it more fun (it felt a bit like controlling a car on an icy road). I played for a good 15 or so minutes, got a high score of about 15.

Overall, pretty good game.

texus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:53am

A bit difficult at first, but I managed to score 75 after several tries.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:58am

Blocked by my antivirus and windows, wouldn't let me unblock for some reason. In order to be fair, I haven't rated game because of this.

Gil4 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:00pm

> It wasn't particularly suited to the theme imo.

To be honest, I just didn't like the theme to begin with. You know, making a game with a monster as the protagonist is possible within any theme (aside from those specifying the protagonist as something completely different), so this one felt like a waste. That's why I decided to show my own view on who the real monsters are - humans. Not saying your opinion is wrong, just clarifying why I decided to get a bit different perspective than others.

And the controls are intended that way to make gameplay a bit different from the usual runners stuff.

Thanks for the reviews, everyone! It's my first LD, so feedback is much appreciated. :)

Gil4 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:02pm

AnaglyphCoding, that's really strange, never had any problems with Corona-made games and antiviruses. ._.

thx4nothing says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Controls are a bit to slippery.

Wontonz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:27pm

This was great. I really enjoyed that you had to keep track of both of your skulls. The Music was fantastic. I feel like the controls felt a bit too loose and changing direction perhaps a bit sluggish or maybe the skulls were a bit too big which made it harder to navigate and weave around.

APC says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Cool idea. I liked the graphics of the game. Adding the momentum made it really hard though.

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Pretty hard due to the acceleration and feeling of "mass" of the character. I don't get the perspective, though, since the "mirror ceiling" is on the side? Anyway innovative use of the runner mechanic, making it mirrored with asymmetric obstacles. Music was nice.

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Really difficult but nice little game

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Really nice concept , was very nice to learn to play it. Good work

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Cool idea. Controls are fine for me. My recommendation is a larger playing area. I think the game feels a little clustered as is. That aside, I still enjoyed myself.

I noticed that once I reached over 100 points the counter started over at 1. Is this a bug?

Gil4 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Thanks for the feedbacks guys, this's a great learning experience for me as a game designer.

> I noticed that once I reached over 100 points the counter started over at 1. Is this a bug?

Hmm, looks like it is, and quite a peculiar one, as I can't reproduce it. After getting that score myself I even tried setting starting values at 99 for more extensive testing. And, to be honest, looking at the simple code beyond the score counter I find this bug even more strange than I thought.

As for the playing area - it was my first time using Corona SDK for the desktop game (as this's quite a new feature), and I wasn't sure I should mess with different resolutions in the short timeframe I had to make the game. So I just went with the smallest resolution that should be supported on all the PCs nowadays. Should've went for 960x720, I guess, but with the pixel art usage plans I had I wanted something more retro.

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:25pm

This was a good start to a game. I think with a bit of Juicing you could really make this a great experience!

Additionally, Gil, for my own game: make sure you extract the files. I believe your error stems from that.

Good entry!

Clurect says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Great idea. The movement was nice that it didn't stop instantly. I liked the story too, funny.

inurashii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:49am

Pretty good gameplay! I'm not very good at these, but the acceleration mechanic made for an interesting experience. The music seemed a little sedate, but was pretty good! The graphics not so much, but that's okay.

Eingya says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:06am

Not sure that the floaty movement fits the theme and the overral game that much (and it also adds to difficulty). The concept though is nifty and fun.

Realize2D says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:13am

Scored 23! Overall a good game, simple but well executed.

madcapacity says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:39am

Cool concept, some real potential there. The characters were not responsive enough. I was frustrated that the characters seemed so heavy and didn't move when I wanted them to.

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:10am

@Gil4

Ah I just realized what happened. No bug at all. I was misreading numbers (like a fool) thought I had a much higher score than I did.

Sorry to make you run tests and dig through code at my expense!

Gil4 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:03am

Thanks everyone, the way movement works looks like the most controversial thing once again.

@Andrew Deem

Is ok, that "1" can be rather tricky. :D

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:48am

Graphics were nice, and all, but it was kinda hard. I read it might be because of controls so I didn't rate poorly because of that. It was fun anyways :)

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:16am

Cool concept, reminds me a bit of Goats on a Bridge. The player movement was a bit too sluggish and became frustrating though, perhaps tightening that a bit would make it more fun? Keep at it!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Nice compo and interesting mirror concept !

parDal says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Nice concept, very original.

I think you could have made the acceleration be optional, like an extra difficult, I really would like to test my skills at linear horizontal velocity.

Zettelkasten says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Very nice game - from intro to the gameplay! The concept is really cool - but this game is difficult! I think this is mainly because of the sliding. Anyways - good job!

kidando says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Reminded me of the connected worlds theme for a past ludumdare. This game was hard for me. :(. Congrats on submitting your game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]