Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Path of a Psychopath

by eemmbbeerr - Jam Entry

An uplifting interactive story built around convincing people, taking over a city and building a dictatorship.
Show your verbal skills and how good you are at guessing the screenwriter's intentions by selecting the best option based on the other's response.

Kindly excuse any noise you notice in the music, we absolutely forgot to bring proper recording equipment. Sorry!

CONTROLS:
Mouse
Press Q or P for some fun.
Press G to skip the current level. Please use sparingly :)

DIFFICULTY GUIDE:
Try not to select the worst option on Easy mode, try a bit harder on Normal and please do not destroy your mouse on Stubborn mode.


Game made by a team of 4, but we all were unavailable for various intervals making teamwork a rather hectic experience.
We hope you enjoyed/enjoy/will enjoy playing our game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#83Mood(Jam)3.90
#117Theme(Jam)4.00
#159Audio(Jam)3.61
#190Innovation(Jam)3.47
#261Overall(Jam)3.53
#457Graphics(Jam)3.54
#613Fun(Jam)2.94
#707Humor(Jam)2.44

Comments

nwdg says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:29am

Neat game, the concept is very inspired.

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:13am

Great concept, audio and graphics.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:16am

I like the idea you developed here. Graphic is nice, gameplay well thought and interesting. I also like the music, IS GREAT!
Well done

peterthehe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:17am

Cool concept and music.

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:18am

Great audio and art!

gilborn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:22am

Just as in real poilitics...
Enjoyed the game all lot, played it first in normal but then switched to easy.

Komradus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Pretty solid stuff, I like your approach to "You are the monster".

Volatile Dove says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Nice mood! even if I'm not fond of interactive stories, I played until the end.

KodingNights says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Mature, thought provoking, enjoyable game. It was a good design choice to let me replay each scene instead of starting again from the beginning. Good game.

Obvious_San says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:26pm

The idea is strong, and also the audio :) Good job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Lovely music and a great art style! Also, a nice take on the theme!

Razbury Games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Very strong game. Was hoping for a touch more feedback as to what answers were right/wrong as I was going, but that's a small problem. One of the better entries, really strong tie in to the theme and fantastic mood-setting!

Multiplexor says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Great game! Got me hooked till the end! Loved the graphics and the ambience. And also it shows that politics is a better way to conquer a city than force. Reminded me a bit of day of the tentacle.

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Just amazing you guys. Everything but the graphics (which were still pretty decent) was just incredible!

glerikud says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:34am

I really liked this one. Clever idea for the theme with a nice music in the background, presented with simple but expressive art (it's good to see how much a game can tell us just by playing with the tones of grey). Nice entry, congratulations. Szép munka :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:49am

Well planned scheme, this game is amazing!

Druid says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:43pm

I really love the concept of this game! Graphics are pretty neat too and music? Awesome. Maybe not best in whole LD, but still pretty interesting entry! Also. 5/5 for mood and audio!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Awesome concept, perfect atmosphere, creative art.. and great narrative :-) Wonderful job!

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Wow, great! The whole package is tight. Nice mood, music, art, writing and it's perfect for the theme. I can see you guys developing something special in the future!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:44pm

a very clever and fun little narrative game. Really nice music too and the art is simple but special. Thanks for making this! :-)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Burned it down on normal. Very cool and moody. Even if sometimes it was a bit of guess work :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:59pm

"Thank you. Now go away."

Killer game over line!

careless says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:35am

Nice idea, music and graphics worked well for this type of game. Interactions / UI were simple and allowed you to concentrate on the story line.

Good entry :D

grywhttl says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Awesome!

adsilcott says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Good concept and great understanding of psychology and politics and how they coalesce. Graphics and music add to the grim and dark tone.

SpringCabal says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:07pm

A very interesting take on the theme, and i've had fun playing it. Wished that there were more different gameover lines and variability though.

axoona says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Very interesting game! And nice music too.

randoman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Great entry! Love the mood and the concept! The only thing I think you could improve is to only dismiss a text when I click on the screen. Sometimes it would disappear before I finished reading.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:05pm

I liked the audio and graphics! I enjoyed the game! This is a good entry! nice work!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:58pm

This is one of my favorite entries so far!
I didn't have enough clues to figure out most of the choices, but that did not interfere with the well crafted story.
Well done guys!

JoeProgram says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Nice entry! I liked the moody gray cut-outs. I would have loved some more feedback - after trying 5 times to convince the lumber union to join me, I wasn't sure which of my attempts were getting closer, or what strategy I should try.

derr says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Nice entry! Really makes you wonder how some people manage to do this in real-life to real people.

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:20am

I like the graphics, the town view. Nice to see another game about Politician are monsters..

madmaw says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:49am

Good writing. The options sometimes felt a little random and success more reliant on trial and error, but I really enjoyed the ride. Thankyou!!

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:49am

Enjoyed this immensely :)

The graphics were excellent. Sometimes simple is best; very effective!

Lots of subtle animation and cues.

I basically got through each scene by trial and error and retrying.

Raspadsistema says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:12pm

I'd give it The Game With Most Truth Behind It Award (or something like that). This and the atmosphere is enough to overlook any gameplay shortcomings. Graphics are not top but somehow magnetic.

Finn says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Personally, I'm not a fan of this style of dialogue puzzles, but it seems pretty solid.

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 12:23am

Definitely liked the narrative, and the writing. So politicians are monsters, huh?

Some criticisms: intentional or not, it was kind of hard to tell from a few sentences alone the thoughts and opinions were of the opposing force, even in Easy mode. As such, it was hard to tell how well you were performing in convincing the town's population. I wouldn't say a score or meters are necessary, but some sort of indicator, such as facial expression, might have helped. Writing alone was too cryptic.

Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:56pm

I like the graphics, interesting game. I included it in part 27 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/hHQb1uxX9tA

Patomkin says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Ah, the monstrosity of politics. Excellent game :)

Aurel Bílý says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Nice :)
I didn't realise at first I was actually supposed to react to what they were saying, but that was just my silliness. It looks simple, but has a certain charm to it, and the music is pretty good (and fitting). The concept is somewhat innovative, even though I had to repeat the first level a couple of times, it didn't feel too grindy. Though maybe (for the first level / tutorial / easy difficulty only), it would be nice to give some feedback to the player when they fail, so they know how many they've got right.
The credits were fun :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]