Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

a Spirit Awakening

by StrayCat - Jam Entry

Controls:

Use arrows to move, and A, Q, W, S keys once you gain skills, to use them.


An angry penguin awakens his powers, to save society from its secret opressors.

A bit rushed, but something came out. I hope you enjoy it!

If the web version stucks while loading, please refresh the page and try again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#112Humor(Jam)3.72
#285Fun(Jam)3.40
#346Audio(Jam)3.21
#468Mood(Jam)3.20
#477Graphics(Jam)3.50
#500Overall(Jam)3.24
#808Innovation(Jam)2.65
#1067Theme(Jam)2.15
#1713Coolness37%

Comments

MFEP says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:50am

It's the best game so far in this compo, thank you for these hillarious jokes :D Just a little annoying thing: At the 3rd level, when I get the ray spirit, if I fail to get up with it and fall down, I have to wait a lot for the mana to load back...

bossmojoman says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:42am

Good Job, Loved the penguin animation

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:43am

Bit hard for the eyes o.o

fistmaker says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:51am

Great graphics and animation! Magic could regenerate faster, but fun game!

Adam Gould says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:40pm

I got stuck at "Loading 100%".

dpisarcik says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Very fun game. Impressive how much got done in the short amount of time!

KingMatthew says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:36am

Very nice! I love the animations. The controls were a bit weird but I got over it.
Good Job

radmars says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:47am

Nice one! I like the different enemy and ability types. I think the ray ability should be mana-free since it's kinda frustrating to run out while using it.

StrayCat says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Thank you everyone! It was fun to play around and get something completed. We didn't have much time left to playtest, but we'll try do a full game with a more balanced ray in the future!

MrTwister says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Loved the story sequences and the hilarious enemies and attacks.

Some attacks definitely need some balancing for its cost/regen rate, and it could definitely use some extra polish, but this was really fun! I'm glad you managed to finish this. I enjoyed it.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Fun little platformer with quite a few interesting mechanics. Mana regen is a bit slow, and the whale can be tricky since its targeting is unpredictable. Outside of that, not a bad entry.

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Fun! I played it through all the way!

Some issues were:
There were a few times where I just had to wait for my spirit meter to go back up, which was pretty boring. I couldn't leave the game idle and do something else either thanks to flixel's auto-pause feature. :(

There were also a few where I just landed on an enemy without being able to see that they were there, which isn't very good as far as level design goes. I guess I'm meant to drop a bear down first?

What parts of the game did you make? The music and graphics were really good, so nice job if you made them!

I felt the theme was a little lacking... was the idea that the last spirit animal was meant to be the reference to the theme? I think games that use the theme the best are ones where the theme impacts the entire game, whereas this game could be for any theme really.

Anyway, good game!

peterkirk says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:42pm

I don't understand how this is related to the theme.

TackoramaLtd says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 8:08am

A whale in the face is the answer! Brilliant.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]