Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Creature Power

by Empyrealhell - Compo Entry

Take control of a can of Creature Power energy drink and wreak as much havoc as you can in two minutes. Create combos to reach as high of a score as possible.

Unleash the beast within!

This game was inspired by fun nonsense games with awkward controls like I Am Bread, Goat Simulator, and QWOP. The controls for this game are intentionally difficult to manage, and that's where most of the fun is supposed to come from. The can uses tank steering controls, allowing you to separately move each side forward or backward. You can also release built-up pressure from inside the can for a quick burst of speed, but much like opening a shaken-up soda, the results can be unpredictable. If you ever get stuck, the reset command should put back in the center of the store so you can keep going.

For those of you who may not get the theme tie-in, the can is a reference to the Monster brand energy drink.

EDIT: Added a WebGL build for those that can't run the plugins, and moved the native builds to a separate link.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#12Audio4.20
#54Humor3.85
#149Innovation3.55
#343Mood3.17
#419Graphics3.18
#437Theme3.44
#453Overall3.14
#469Fun3.02

Comments

Teekeks says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:00am

You should get at least 20 stars in Audio for that awesome soundtrack!

sythe2o0 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:03am

I like the interpretation of 'monster'!

Laddo D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:04am

pretty funny

andyman404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:04am

Really cool acapella music and sound effects. A nice game for 48 hrs.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:27am

funny and nice sound affects/music

zanenga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:39am

Haha, very cool idea.

Resonious says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:50am

Excellent use of theme. Also surprisingly decent man-made soundtrack.

psyduckfreak says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:14am

i see what you did You are the Monster.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:04am

I couldn't seem to get the can to move from the starting position without using the spray, so hopefully that's intentional. I also had trouble figuring out which side of the can was moved by which control, but I suppose that's also intentional. :P

Wow at the vocal audio! And nice clean 3D assets.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:03am

It was almost impossible to control but I had fun with what I could do.
Your use of theme was perfect.

Modoc73 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:45am

Seemed like a last minute thing for the sound, but actually worked pretty well! Like in a supermarket with radio music. Nicely done!

zanenga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Hey! You commented in my game "Aye The Destroyer".

I'm just making sure that you know that you can move using WASD. I forgot to tell that in-game. It's now fixed and it should take care of most of the difficulty issue. If you could give me your updated thoughts I would be very glad.

Thank you!

Tempeth says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Music is a treat, haha. Controls are difficult at first, but fine once you get the hang of it. Still trying to figure out how you got up to the security camera in that screen shot, though! Fun fun game, much like.

Jelinib says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:00am

Hahaha, I could barely wrap my mind around the controls. I think you achieved your purpose very well. I spent a lot of the time trapped up against the edge, but otherwise rolling right in and spraying monster juice everywhere is a hilarious concept. Not to mention the grade A acapella! Well done!

Jimbly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:10am

I love the literal interpretation of Monster and the a cappella sound track!

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:15am

Super difficult can skateboarding game.
I somehow managed to get 34,000 points despite me not knowing how to steer the thing at all.
3 cheers for you.

belva1234 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:09am

what the hell is thiiiis i looove it hhahahaha

jk5000 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:47am

Great humor in a weird game.

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Beautiful. Reminded me or surgeon simulator. And music you created, just awesome. still ringing in my ears. But I dont see the monster theme.

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:17am

Haha, nice use of the theme, plus music! =)

bitdecaygames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:58am

Audio was definitely entertaining. Controls were difficult, but that's why it was fun. Managed to break 30k, but couldn't do any better than that once I fell onto the floor.

Also, thanks for playing Scabs! You found a bug we haven't been able to identify -- but where it crashed on you, that was the end of the game. So you didn't miss anything!

Vantaug says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:40am

Pretty cool music.
I just wish the monst... I mean creature had some more weight behind it and controls that, while being weird and unpredictable, were responsive and didn't just make me spin in around. That way I could really wreak some havoc.

Sedsibi says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:51am

Nice job, great music.

Patomkin says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:43pm

This music and sounds are awesome :D

Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:10am

It is pretty funny

madmaw says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Nice sandbox physics game, destruction is always fun. Seems hard to smash anything once you end up on the floor though. Love it.

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:30am

I couldn't stop laughing :D The music and sounds are genius xD

MiniBobbo says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:48pm

This is great audio, although the controls are punishingly hard.

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Awesome idea for a game, cool music! Nice entry!

m43c0 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Sir... You are the genius! Great take on the theme and quite funny too!

FieroNZ says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:07am

Pretty fun but i feel like i have no control over how it moves, feels like no matter what i press i'm just going to travel in a completely random direction.

xvw says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:30am

WTF this game!
The first can simulator I played in my life.
(no joking, you must trust me, i am... serious!)

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:32am

"Best soundtrack of all 2015"

crucknuk says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Great use of the theme and excellent audio! Controls are really hard to get use to, but it seems it was intended

ZYXer says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Hehe, funny game! Great take on the theme!

I wished there would be more explosions, or generally random things flying across the screen.

I mean this as a compliment: The controls are horrible! :D

The music/sound is also great, by the way!

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:25am

Kinda impossible to control, great sound, reminds me of katamari.

CtrlAltTea says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Made me smile, nice job /loved the soundtrack!/

bombjack says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:26pm

the idea and controls are original but not really in the theme

Kizler says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 4:53am

So simple... but that music is off the charts! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]