Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Who's Da Monster ?

by Natura-Time - Jam Entry

Your people are getting eaten !
You must find the monster during his human form after its first attack !

It's like a Where's Waldo but combined with a memory, how many levels can you beat ?

"Click to save your people" -> Click on the screen start the game !
Click on the human that you think is the monster ! (It only appears after the first attack happens)

(This game works with Java, if there is a problem, make sure first your Java is up-to-date)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#596Innovation(Jam)2.92
#830Theme(Jam)3.00
#870Overall(Jam)2.81
#883Mood(Jam)2.60
#920Fun(Jam)2.50
#997Graphics(Jam)2.04
#1268Coolness48%

Comments

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Nice concept, but I think that the player needs more clues to imagine in first term who is the monster. I have enjoyed to try it :-)

mrdude1228 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:59pm

I spent a little bit stuck on the first screen because I didn't realize "click to save people" meant to click on that text, hehe. I think a bit more instruction for the player would go a long way. The audio selections were very nice.

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Couldn't get passed the first screen, (might just be me being an idiot) sorry.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:21pm

This is a very cool and unique game!

Some of the text is a bit unclear, and the long "you caught the monster" screen should be shorter.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Good game. I liked the idea of accusing the monster (of being the monster) good game :D. Also I disagree with MechanicMoon with the clues. Games should not hold people's hands, great game!

Natura-Time says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Thanks for the feedbacks !

MachanicMoon : To do this is like do an auto-aim in any FPS so it's less funny and hard :p

mrdude1228 : You can just click on the screen but yep, it may be unclear x)

Mister_Melon : You didn't tried to click ?

TerraCottaFrog : Yep, you're right ! Thanks !

Nnnnneeeedddd : Ahah thanks ! ^_^

DruhinM says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:38am

Good game. Congrats for finishing a game at Dare

Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:51am

Not sure how this fits in with the theme of "you are the monster" if you're catching the monster, but pretty good!

Natura-Time says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:50pm

DruhinM : Thanks ! :D

Slashee the Cow : I use theme not as an affirmation, but as an accusation : You accuse a human to be the monster. Thanks :)

DarkBoulevard says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:48am

Good entry! I enjoyed it. It had some annoying things like the screens in between levels, but overall good job! :)

Jacktheviper says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:15am

The concept for this game caught my attention and was very unique among the others entries but I think that it didn't do a good job at explaining the rules of the gameplay, also being sent back a level when you accuse the wrong person was very frustrating.

KayZ says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Nice interpretation of the theme. I was surprised that I got so far (level 9) and always found the monster withing a very short time. Sadly the game did hang on level 10, when I (probably) selected the wrong person. The cage didn't not fall down and the music kept playing even after I closed the game (had to kill the java process).

Still, very good game.

BlackQuiltro says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 12:30am

Nice idea! Fun too!
It is a hard game but I liked it. Perhaps to make it more mainstream you could add some more hints or animations to remember the people better. Also, the screens between levels are way to slow, I want to play!!
Good use of the theme. Liked the music and sound effects. Graphics were OK, could have been larger perhaps?
Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]