Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Endangered Death Falcon

by dingotime - Compo Entry

The Endangered Death Falcon

Controls:
You need to feed you nestlings. Fly down, grab cars and people, and then drop them on your nest.
A and D to aim your falcon
W to flap its wings
Mouse to aim and grab with its talons (hold mouse to hold onto prey)
Space bar to do a quick turn

Tips:
It's probably easier with a mouse than a trackpad (for aiming your talon).
Your falcon has limited stamina so you can't just flap your wings constantly - you'll need to glide whenever possible.
Picking up people is harder than picking up cars, but your nestlings like them better.
If you play in full screen, choose your native resolution (otherwise there is a mouse aiming bug in Unity).

Story:
When humanity colonized the planet Falco IV, they hunted the death falcon to near extinction. Fortunately, laws have been enacted - protecting the death falcon and forbidding anyone from interfering with its natural feeding behaviours.

Tools:
Unity 5
Puppet2D Unity (for 2D skeletal)
TextMeshPRO Unity (for fonts)
Photoshop + cheap Monoprice tablet
Sound effects recorded with Blue Snowball, edited in Audacity
Music played on tin flute

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#83Innovation3.74
#189Audio3.33
#189Overall3.53
#204Fun3.42
#211Mood3.38
#333Graphics3.33
#344Humor2.97
#500Theme3.35

Comments

wavertron says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:07am

Wow, that was great. Took a while to master the flying and being mindful of the talons, but that was really neat. Towards the end I was swooping down without flapping, scooping up a car and that had a nice graceful feel to it. Yeah its needs some refinement, but for 48 hours Compo, awesome work. And the music was gravy, really set the mood.

SvenFrankson says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:10am

Nice one ! Now trying to get the music out of my head.

IndigoWolf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:15am

Good, solid entry, enjoy it alot :)

namrog84 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:17am

That really was great and fun

guoboism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:23am

The flute BGM really gives the feeling of sadness of a near-extinction race...Personally pick

Tuism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:25am

I really enjoyed the flying mechanic, it feels pretty good to master the flying and swooping, though something about it is a bit under-tuned... But that's okay, it's great for 48 hours!

The music fit the eagle thing well too :)

It was just a bit strange that you can pick up a car easier than people :P

Good work :)

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:07am

Nice flight physics. The music is so catchy it's unreal. DUH DUH DUUH DUH DUH DUHHHHHHHHHHH DUH DUH DUUH DUH DUH DUHH

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:09am

Took a bit of getting used to the flight controls but was quite fun when you got the hang of it.

Couldn't play for too long though, the music is just nasty D:

jk5000 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:18am

Both the graphics and the music is great. But to me it is too difficult to control of the flying.

Mizipzor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:16am

An interesting idea with a similar (but better) control scheme than what I did. The handpainted vector graphics looked cool, I especially liked the animation of the bird. The gameplay is challenging but rewarding, though it's easy to abuse the ground by landing softly and recharge stamina. The music doesn't seem to fit and I cant figure out how the theme applies here (at all). All in all, very good.

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Controlling the falcon was realling challenging, it reminded me of QWOP, so it was quite fun.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:33pm

I don't think the new laws will help! Glad I'm not a death falcon

Great game & really innovative concept. Lovely music too!

uvwar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Awesome! The flying mechanics were really grating on me at on point but I eventually figured out how to be a little more efficient with my flaps. Might be interesting to have people with umbrellas or using lightpoles etc to 'hook' yourself on things as you skim by instead of having to pinpoint close your talons on a person.

kidando says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:03pm

hahaha. This was pretty intersting. Your background music was really nice. did you compose it yourself? I think the game rocks and has potetial to be massive. It reminded me of QWOP. Congrats on submitting your game!!!

gene-z says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Good work, Nice gameplay, great idea

teknic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:28pm

playable. the talon control is interesting, if awkward.

Darkhaul says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Wow, that was really good! Its a great idea I'd love to see it go further the gameplay felt really good apart from the quick turing, that could maybe use a little work but overall its awesome

Thalikoth says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:45pm

A bit hard to control at first, but very fun.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:46pm

I found it hard to control and kept slamming into the ground. Maybe go a bit easier with the stamina.
I felt the music really set the mood.

dingotime says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Thanks for comments! I agree that controls could be better - I got them "good enough" and went on with the rest of game. Once you get used to them they aren't too bad, it's kind of fun to glide around, managing wing flaps, I think. If I worked on it more, the first thing I would try changing would be to eliminate the mouse aim talon grab (things too small/moving too fast for it work well).

@Mizipzor Theme applies because you are a giant bird who eats people... I didn't go any deeper than that ("the monster" vs. "a monster")
@kidando Yes, I did music myself. I recorded myself playing tin whistle for 10 minutes, cut out the worst 98% of it and added reverb.

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Brilliant game all around!!!

fullmontis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:37pm

I really really like the controls in this. They feel quite realistic, especially how the bird takes speed when floating. they are hard to control but they are not too hard to get used to. Very well designed.

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:25pm

This is my highest voted game until now. It's just so beautiful! The controls were great, I really felt the freedom of movement like a predator bird, and the wind carrying me under my wings. And the flute joining it was great. Congratulations on the great game!

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:27pm

For some reason I can't visit your profile page, I really need to bookmark you :)

dingotime says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:05pm

@Zccc Thanks, I fixed my profile page (I had never made a post on the main page of Ludum Dare - I made a new post about my game, and that seemed to force my profile page into existence)

architect404 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:32pm

fun stuff! not easy to control at first, but the swooping death runs are very satisfying when you succeed! charming graphics and cute bird noises. great work!

K.Chplr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:34pm

The game becomes really fun once you master how to fly. With slightly better physics it could be quite addictive.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Complicated but the mechanic felt robust and well thought.
I feel thet seing someone play skillfully at this game must be an acrobatic spectacle.

bloomingbuds says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Hahahah, nice one :)
I love to see innovative games, which are not easily classified into the usual genres. 5 stars in innovation!

Brightstar says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:12am

Great game. Swooping down and capturing food for my young is satisfying. The music seems appropriate, like it's from a nature show. The setting is pretty neato too.

ALobker says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Very fun to play.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:21pm

I loved the controls! really cool concept and execution, only thing I had an issue with was the music

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Well, that's one way to be a monster, I guess. Love the hilariously absurd premise. The serene music provides a nice ironic contrast to the morbid action going on.

The controls are pretty wacky, and the gliding took a while to get a good grasp of. I think those areas could be greatly improved.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]