Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Think: Outside the BOX

by LittleThor - Compo Entry

You are the "monster" in this totalitarian town: alone and different. Surounded by lobotomized workers, you must escape to survive.

---

Genre : Stealth, Maze
Controls : WASD or arrows to move.

---

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#40Mood3.96
#412Innovation3.08
#489Graphics3.04
#506Overall3.08
#786Fun2.52
#851Theme2.52
#1362Coolness46%

Comments

Chronodrax says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:27am

Found the way out of the BOX, then jumped into the nothingness of infinite space, thus giving me plenty of time to think outside the box while free-falling.
My character will die starving to death while falling, but he will die FREE
ps: it's easier to avoid cameras than to find the exit :p

vegapomme27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Could not find the exit and just got lost. Pretty creepy atmosphere, though

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:56pm

l0V3 THE GRAPHICS and the gameplay. Reminds me of a game called 'Life is Strange' (not the one pewdiepie played, a different one'

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Creepy atmosphere, but not very fun to play. I wish more things happened in the game. The graphics are basic, but get the job done.

Overall I think it's an interesting idea that needs more work.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:04pm

The uniformity of movement is really interesting. This is one of the best entries I've seen so far.

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Very nice setting and mood. Good job!

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:11pm

I visuals were simple but work really well with the colour pallet.
With how same-ish everything looked I got lost easily.

jk5000 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:15pm

The idea and game concept is great. I would like some animations.

Reallysketchy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Very cool idea with a great mood and it kind of reminds me of 1984 because of all the "box" posters. I could find the exit, though because everything looks the same.

scriptorum says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Outside the box is infinite free-fall. Next time I'm staying inside!

This is essentially a maze game, so a run button would make some corridor stretches more tolerable.

g_o says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Nice mood! Pretty easy actually but took time to actually FIND the exit

TFR says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Very good game! The art style is very coherent and although the graphics are simple, there is very strong and lonely atmosphere on it. Very good! Its hard to be a monster at Box.

tanjent says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Why not rating of the sound category, because I found it to be awesome! Just wished it had some distant reverberant metal clangs/noises and it would have been even more drab/ominous and fitting.. Got lost pretty quickly and gave up finding the exit, a little map would have helped :)

liquidmedia says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Good game, the controller is different but quick to learn, and it's a maze game :) just a bit light on the graphics and animation the innovation is cool.

fdslk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:07am

Very nice, but same as Chronodrax: I went into space!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:54am

Mood is great, but the camera is too weird. It could be enjoyable with another controls system. I like aesthetic. Thank you ++

LittleThor says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Thank you everyone for your nice feedbacks!

@Everyone who felt into the void: it's just a metaphor of freedom. Will you know what to do when you become free after a complete life of slavery? (Nah, just kidding! I didn't have the time to make a proper end and I totally forgot to freeze time when you reach the exit! :p )

@Reallysketchy: thanks a lot dude! 1984 was my main reference. This, and Metropolis. I am really happy someone noticed it!

@Everyone who want animations: I struggled hard with Unity's animator. In fact, it was the very first time I used it, and I failed after hours of work. I think I need more practice for my next LD ^^

Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Also you're red and they're black so maybe you had a difficult childhood and now you're traumatized.

What if you're a monster, just because in your twisted mind, it's alright to fuck teddy bears?

What if they are right about you, you're insane and you need help? You know, everyone is going very slow, and has a peaceful life. But you just want to escape. Isn't it weird? Maybe suicidal?

Trust me, being suicidal isn't anywhere close to "monster". Thanks for stigmatizing mental illnesses, LittleThor.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:30pm

On Linux, so neither the web nor the Windows version works :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]