Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Monster's Cave

by SumGato - Compo Entry

An innocent princess is kidnapped by an evil monster, taking her away from her beloved blue prince... Or that's what the blue prince (which, by the way, is her cousin) thinks. The princess wants him to continue thinking that, and she will have to act like a monster to do so.

Control a mighty princess in this time management / tower defense game in her quest to keep the knights away from rescuing her.

Instructions are included in game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#561Innovation2.85
#565Humor2.47
#614Theme3.15
#799Overall2.70
#824Mood2.23
#836Fun2.40
#900Graphics1.86

Comments

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:39am

I found the game a little slow, once I worked out what was going on I enjoyed myself though. I really liked the mechanic of spending time to upgrade yourself.

S0rax says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:43am

It's a good idea, the screen who explain the story.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:49am

Nice theme interpretation.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:52am

Pretty good! The whole thing moves a bit slow though. You walk around really slowly during the build stage, and attacking during the defense phase is pretty slow. I was hoping for more of a clickclickclickclick rather than click-recharge-click-recharge.

cgriff says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:52am

Interesting premise - I like the different stages to the game. I would recommend separating the backstory notes from the control instructions, though - it makes it harder to see exactly how you are meant to play at the very start.

Azure_Kyte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:32pm

I agree with cgriff, but once I figured out what was going on, I had a fair bit of fun with it; good job!

Kaev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:00pm

A bit slow and you can build like every stone on the same place infront of the queen. Besides that, it's a good game.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:31pm

It took a bit to understand what was happening. I think there was a bit too much text involved and it needed to be explained in game more.

pixzleone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Cool idea, could use some music.
Well done!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:27am

Loved the non-literal theme interpretation. Mechanically it was interesting, if a bit hard to pick up at first.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:59am

The beginning of the game is really too slow. The instruction and backstory are too long to read. The game need to be more nervous but mechanics are interesting.

jofra says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:27pm

The beginning of the game is really slow and hard to understand i would liked to hear some sounds.
But it is a cool little game :)

Vladirien says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Cool concept, a bit too hard to know what to do when planning but I love the overall idea.

wicht says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:01am

Funny mechanics, i liked it. Only critics would be that my finger now hurts from all the clicking :)

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:27pm

It was a bit of a slow game. The EarthQuake and Roar didn't work (was I not doing something?). Why was the monster baby pink?

adsilcott says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Fun Tower defense game. A little more explanation about how the build/character build affects the attack mode.

gilborn says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:35pm

A very original twist on the theme!

bukt says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 3:04am

As addictive, as great Tower Defence implementation.
Such an theme interpretation! I'm amazed!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]