Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Bloblivion

by jackrugile - Jam Entry

Bloblivion is a blob monster shoot 'em up. You are the monster and you must prevent the enemies from getting to the other side. Build up your score multiplier by shooting accurately.

The concept and mechanic are very basic. I'd like to expand the enemy types and behaviors in the future. Submit your high score in the comments below. Mine is currently 375. Thanks for playing!

Goals:
---
- Don't let the enemies get to the left side
- Shoot accurately to get more points per kill

Controls:
---
- [WASD/Arrows] to move
- Left click to shoot
- [M] to mute sound and music

Notes:
---
- Works best in Chrome
- Tested in Mac Chrome, Firefox, and Safari

Dev Tech:
---
- HTML5/JavaScript
- Canvas Query
- Playground.js
- Sublime Text
- Photoshop
- FL Studio
- Bfxr
- Google Chrome

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#51Audio(Jam)4.00
#196Fun(Jam)3.53
#223Overall(Jam)3.60
#319Graphics(Jam)3.81
#416Mood(Jam)3.28
#744Humor(Jam)2.35
#903Theme(Jam)2.85
#924Innovation(Jam)2.43

Comments

Eduardo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:42am

Nice and juicy. Really like the sound effects. I like the graphics using the canvas api too. I think it was worth it the time working on this, even with the simple mechanic! :)

K.Chplr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:25am

The little intro screen looks great and the gameplay is solid. While nice, the music might be more fitting for a slightly more fast paced game, maybe. Good job working on this.

handkor says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:49am

The music really keeps the pace. Good job.

tGiant says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:00am

Very good implementation of this side scrolling space shooter. I love the FX and Sounds. I also like the small little detail you added such as the shaking of the camera.
Well done.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:21am

Wow, I think this is well made. You know where to put the juice!

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:38am

Good Audio design. The graphics and gameplay worked well! Good job!

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:47am

Love the juiciness here, the sound effects also sound nice and crunchy. Solid shooter altogether!

djfariel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:13am

1st Thought:
Music = Phenomenal

Pros:
Music obviously
Art was well done
Solid mechanics..mostly (see below)

Cons:
None really to speak of. This is a simple game, and you did well.
The only thing I can mention is that when you shoot, you slowly move backwards, and once you reach the edge of the screen, you move downward. You can almost cheat by doing this, as it allows you to move to the bottom left corner. I achieved a score of 265 by forcing myself to the bottom left, and spam shooting toward the top right, lol.

Overall:
Great job on a simple game.

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Really pretty graphics dude! The camera shake is tasty too!

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Amazing work. So polished. I love all the tweens, screenshake, particles, scanline fx!

LukeZaz says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:52am

Simple yet effective. Well-polished game with great animations and music.

01010111 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:22am

I really enjoyed this game! You made a really simple shooter, but the accuracy mechanic made it really intriguing and engaging! The art is really cool, fits the gameplay well - the morphing shapes, parallax scrolling, even the reticle were all very pleasing to look at. Great work! I managed a score of 228 I think (I played earlier and the LD system ate my original ratings and comment), but I wanna come back later and try to get a higher score.

martymon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:11am

Great graphics and sound. I had a lot of fun with this game.

SamH says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:35am

Great entry overall; nice audio, nice music, nice graphics, and I like the fast pace. Of course the enemies lack in diversity but that’s something you can improve later…

Stending says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Pretty awesome! Incredible music and polish, and neat gameplay! Super work =)

Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:50am

Really nice game!!

wavertron says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:58am

Nice little shooter. The "sit bottom left, shoot top right" was a pretty easy cheat though. A delay between shots, or maybe a limited burst that reloads fairly quickly would have been a nice way to add a little more nuance to the mechanics. A little bit weak on the Theme, and for a Jam entry I would have liked to have seen a little bit more depth (ie variety of enemies/moving patterns, or deeper shooting mechanics), but really great job overall. Quite juicy too.

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Highscore: around 130 (forgot what exactly!)
Nice little animations!
Could use more gameplay depth but was well polished.

grywhttl says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:56am

Good work!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Good job! Graphics and audio are cool!

DerekRumpler says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:20am

At first it seemed simple, but only deceptively so. I liked it a lot.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:25am

Amazingly well polished! No complaints

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

bitdecaygames says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:53am

I didn't really feel the theme at all with this game, but it was polished which I respect.

Saf says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:55am

Very polished entry. The soundtrack is amazing, so are the graphics. If you play Dota, this is a good target practice for Mirana arrows :D

ehtd says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Very nice, looking forward for your js13k entry

Qaterknan says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Awesome. I love it. I think the bonus should not be capped at +4, but it should grow indefinitely. Juicy and fun. Great entry.

shawn42 says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Very fun. I like all the polish, it really makes it feel like a finished product. The difficulty scales up nicely. It's be nice to see some sort of power ups or screen clearing bombs or something. Great game!

Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:56am

Neat graphics, simple well made game! I included it in part 30 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/aghqdpQgwgA

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]