Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Club

by Steve | tacospice - Compo Entry

- The Club -

A cute story about a red headed lady. In the future.

- Controls -
Left/right: move
Up: enter doors
Down: fall through platforms, stairs
Space: Jump
1, 2, 3, 4: Change resolution scale

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#179Audio3.36
#267Mood3.29
#410Overall3.19
#449Humor2.75
#472Fun3.00
#489Graphics3.04
#766Innovation2.48
#890Theme2.33
#1314Coolness47%

Comments

Enrymion says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:18am

Really hard. Falling through diagonal platforms sucked.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Good job! I liked the challenge. I wished the checkpoints system were a bit more constant, sometimes I fell down in the tower and had to kill myself asap, to make sure I didn't lose my checkpoint. Nice music, too. But, a very simple game.

rxi says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:28pm

I really digged the little "umphs" and "splats". The quirky music fit everything well, overall I really enjoyed the sound design.

The controls and physics felt a little bit dodgy, I kept falling through slanted floors and on occasion I would checkpoint mid air and would have to immediately jump (off the air) when I respawned. Regardless, the satisfying death sound and "splat" accompanied with the lightning-fast respawning and frequent checkpointing made it quite fun to play, although I did have to call it quits after dying a few too many times in a certain spot.

Visuals were fun and fit well with everything else. Heavy use of tweening which is always good.

I hope to see more games set in the dystopian tacocorp universe. Nice work.

okeedokeben says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Great world with very difficult platforming. Nice ending as well. Great job!

pkenney says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:48am

Physics were a bit off, but that gave it a bit of a charm. Whatever troubles I would have had, you mostly solved with the generous checkpoint system. So I could relax and have a good time even though you were messing with me by making the challenge sometimes be *about* how hard it was to precisely control.

I made it to a bit past the "who designed this building" part, but then when I got to the really tough part with floating boxes, I kept having to retry alot. I would have continued one, except then I fell and triggered a very old checkpoint, and that was the quitting moment.

Cool aesthetic. The lurching background took a a bit to get used to.

parDal says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Good, but I didn't get what does this have to do with the theme, maybe I needed to finish to understand (classic plot twist, maybe)

I didn't like the platforming, it doesn't feel intuitive and sometimes doesn't even work properly, I fell a lot from slopes and sometimes I pressed down to go down one platform but it went down two and I fell to death (lots of times). Maybe I'm just a casual though, I'm not a platformer player myself. By the way, I quit playing when I felt at a pastcheckpoint and I respawned there and not in the one I was originally, you really should work on that, if you are planning on making a post-LD version.

Also, sometimes I died to a shooting enemy while respawning from a checkpoint, it happened just one time, so I really don't know how it happened.

On the good side, the overall graphics are very nice and setting is somewhat unique. I loved how your blood splatter stayed even after you respawned. The music is fine and the sound work is solid.

tompudding says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Very slick and polished. Quite fun but a bit familiar

Indiestry says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Impressively polished considering you only had 48h time, art and sounds are booth well fitting and the actual platforming was nice. Maybe a bit hard for my liking.:)

Indiestry says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Impressively polished considering you only had 48h time, art and sounds are booth well fitting and the actual platforming was nice. Maybe a bit tough for my liking.:)

cynicalmonkey says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:40am

the checkpoint system is great idea but a little glitchy, got checkpointed in mid air between platforms next to a shooter with no way to not die via bullet or splatting

freaknarf says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:08am

Cool little platformer, but some little detail made me ragequit...
Controls are sometimes a bit hard to handle because of the inertia, and activating "old" checkpoints is sometimes very frustrating... Now inertia give it a dynamic approach and some part were fun do go through at full speed... I also liked the tiny dialogs too !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]