Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Purge

by Lukbebalduke - Compo Entry


------------------------------------------------------------[ABOUT THE GAME]------------------------------------------------------------

PURGE is a RTS game where you control zombies, build differents structures and create super zombies to destroy the human army, crash sentries and infect soldiers!

The game is playable in 3 different difficulties, to better adapt with your gaming style.

I'm very excited to show you my game. This time I'm exploring different technics of creating graphics and programing visual effects, and I hope you enjoy it!

You also can upgrade your spawner.

----------------------------------------------------------------[CHANGE LOG]----------------------------------------------------------------

[08/24] - Little update to avoid random FPS drop and winning condition fixed. (Old version still available to check)

--------------------------------------------------------------------[VIDEOS]--------------------------------------------------------------------

Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IXNPNjbzqHA
Developer's Comments: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_jwH2Evw-EE

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#71Graphics4.11
#140Theme3.91
#155Overall3.62
#256Fun3.34
#308Audio3.07
#373Mood3.12
#477Innovation2.98

Comments

Twinters says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Great game! Really liked the options the mechanics gave me. The artwork is nicely done, the audio was pretty nice. Liked playing with those huge titan zombies. I'm really impressed with all the stuff you were able to pull off within the time limit!

van noctar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:05pm

It's a very good game!!

Content is very important!

Many skills or options! I like it!

Flaid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:16pm

I can't believe you finished this in 48 hours! Incredibly ambitious, and it pretty much worked. Everything was well done, the graphics, the audio, the mood, the theme... I mean... I am very impressed

I found it hard to advance when my guys were spawning so far back and the scroll speed was pretty slow, especially when the concentration of enemies is so high.

I give it 5/5 because I am damn impressed. Well done.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:25pm

@Twinters, @Van_noctar n @Flaid

Thank you guys! I'm very happy reading all this comments. And yes! It was ambitious, the first day was 'streamed' and I did not stream the second one because I was too tired, and also I finished everything extremely near to the deadline.
I'm VERY happy with your support =)

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:54am

I am amazed you did all this in 48h. Good job ;) Next step is adding a minimap to enhance player control

Manky says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:43am

Pretty solid game, I'm not big into RTS games myself but the fact that you pulled one off in a jam weekend is insane and I'm giving you high marks for that alone. Well done!

jrhee says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:54am

Seriously, an RTS in the compo?? With different unit/enemy types, structures, etc. That's nuts, seriously amazing skills.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Wow! And this is compo! You truely are a one-man army!
Really nice work!

Thank you for making this!
Ps.: Is this how I am supposed to play?
http://imgur.com/mowbrq4
Pps: things get quite slow with 100 ultras :P

Lukbebalduke says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:05pm

@Team_Klappermann

OOOOHHHHHH DAMN!!! HOW DA... ddsahusahdusahsa ROFL
That's absolutely insane! hdusahsdua

fermenter says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Really impressive considering the time limit! Very well done.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Thanks for playing my game!
Could you make a postmortem on how you actually pulled this off?
And maybe drop me a line on twitter @JannesNagel once you did it, so I can read it? :-P

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:36pm

I like this game! Is great!
The gfx is nice and well done, the gameplay smooth and easy.
Nice tutorial!
Well done!

valid4life says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:26am

The graphics looked awesome!
The mood was also great!
Congratulations on a great game! :)

Sedsibi says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:01am

Great game, fantastic graphics, good audio. The only things you are missing are a mini map, and decent pathfinding for the AI. Though if you haven't written an A* algorithm before trying to pull one off during the compo isn't feasible.

Great job.

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:08am

Wow, I can hardly believe the graphics.

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Yes, it's a great game. Love the graphics. Congraz for your entry!

Mikhail says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:02am

Fun game Great Job!!!

ZYXer says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Wow, amazing job! great graphics, great sound. And great gameplay. One of the most advanced Compo entries I've ever seen.

Jimbly says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:31am

Nice, quite a bit of good looking graphics!

KaiseanGames says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:34am

I hate zombie games and movies and everything else zombie related. However, the game itself is great. Nice mechanics, it's cool that you can upgrade stuff but I think you overpowered the player :) (I will not regard my dislike of zombies when rating, don't worry).

Druid says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:00pm

WoW Beautiful art! This is one of most prettiest games here!

What i liked :

Zombies.. In this game you can have LITERALLY horde of zombies! That was... Sweeeeeet! Gameplay and audio was pretty solid too!

What i hated?

Pathfinding was incredibly bad! My zombies get stucked in walls, boulders, trees, sandbags pretty often. That was frustrating. Also scroll speed was little slow.

All in all. Neat entry! I spend almost hour with this one! 5 for Fun, theme and graphics!

CtrlAltTea says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Great game, very polished! My only problem was pathfinding /sometimes my guys got stuck on a wall and refused to move; must have been a very interesting wall. or a zombie union/. I'd also like the scrolling to be a little faster, but otherwise, really impressive!

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Very well put together, the graphcis are impressively detailed, the music is cool. I had a bunch of fun with the big zombies! I would have liked to control the camera with wasd/arrow keys, other than that good job!

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Really awesome! The graphics and the gameplay are incredible. I love the use of the theme and the solid mechanics. Great job! :-)

Jacktheviper says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:04am

The graphics were pretty amazing and the gameplay very smooth and fitting for the theme, it would have been great to have a minimap or other way to increase the player situation awareness though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]