Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

A Harrowing Journey

by tylorlilley - Compo Entry

A Harrowing Journey is a small adventure game that aims to really take this theme to heart! Do your best not to starve to death as you travel to the Grand City after suffering a mysterious curse. Good luck, because rumors have it there are monsters around these parts...

I used Game Maker Studio for the programming, Adobe Photoshop CS6 for the art, sfxr for the sounds and pulseBoy to make the music. My! That's a lot of tools!

NOTE: I found a fatal bug relating to the game's ending and have since fixed it and uploaded a new version, keeping everything else in tact. Please make sure that if you go to play it you have version 1.6, as that is the latest current version! Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#80Theme4.05
#166Mood3.50
#174Overall3.57
#210Innovation3.43
#255Audio3.17
#266Fun3.32
#309Humor3.07
#483Graphics3.05
#1627Coolness40%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:50pm

That's the best score I've given so far - I'm not sure if there's a way to life the curse but it was fun getting into that city and killing some people! The music was good, set the mood, and kept with the style of game.

DeusOpus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Very nice! An interesting decision to have the character be werewolf-esque, I was a bit confused the first time it happened (perhaps some sound to indicate the changing of day and night would be nice).I do think it would be nice if the player could move a little faster though, but I guess that could be a bit of impatience on my part.

PotatoGrader says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:02pm

It was really hard. I barely got to the Grand City, but only at night.
Great night walking effect. And I really loved how you used the theme.

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Thank you for your kind words you guys! It is definitely a hard game... @DeusOpus, there definitely is a loud flashing sound when day and night change... maybe it got lost in the midst of everything going on though! Haha.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:28pm

You gotta change the name of your game.

Otherwise than that? I really like it. It's surprisingly free form, the fact that you put in all that NPC dialogue yet you can kill them all is a lot of effort and it definitely pays off.

I really like this, I think it's one of my favorite games in this LD so far.

fermenter says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Very nice work, Tylor! love the simplicity. Scared the heck out of me when I turned into a monster!

cgmorton says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:47am

Dangit, I accidentally pressed the sword button instead of the talk button, killed a guy, and got shot to death. Not the best way to go XD

If I had one complaint it's that it's hard to tell where you can move as the monster. e.g. I got stuck trying to eat the guy on the bridge and had to wait for day.

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:39am

@ChosenCharacter: Haha, what is wrong with the name of the game? I am genuinely curious as to why you say I need to change it. Thank you for the rest of your kind feedback as well!

@The other two: Thank you also! I'm glad to hear people are enjoying it so much! It means a lot thanks :)

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

rogberth says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:20pm

I love the theme!! Graphics are nice too although the only bad thing is the player's speed... nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]