Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Monster Files

by Literal Games - Jam Entry

This is largely an interactive fiction game. You play as a detective solving monstrous crimes!
Play three exciting cases with 12 diverse and deep characters to solve the mysteries!
Follow the trail of clues and use your puzzle solving skills to reach the climactic conclusion!

Controls:
Mouse. Definitely just the mouse.

Click on people or bodies to interact with them.
Click on items then people or bodies to use the item.
Click to skip text typing.

Credits:
Nathan Patel (@gnatpat) - Programming
Felix Marrington-Reeve - Art
Tom Odell - Music
Archie Evans - Programming + SFX

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#37Overall(Jam)4.10
#43Mood(Jam)4.11
#62Humor(Jam)3.95
#70Fun(Jam)3.85
#90Audio(Jam)3.80
#121Innovation(Jam)3.66
#122Graphics(Jam)4.26
#488Theme(Jam)3.51

Comments

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:56am

Holy crap this is polished! The motion and feel is perfect for a detective game. If it followed the theme better this would get straight 5s all across the board from me :)

Demetz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:02am

Oh wow! this is so awesome! the movement is amazing, the sound is dramatic and the overall feel of the game is pretty darn fantastic, congratulations!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:02am

nice solution for the movement of the characters ;)

I love the style and the choosen colors^^ (we have chosen the same color palette ;) )

COOL STORY! Really enjoyed playing it, it really got me! ;)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:06am

This was a great entry. Another one I was looking forward to play as I watched its development.
Great overall. Was not expecting it to morph into a fighting game.

Lissar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:08am

I enjoyed the mystery solving, not so much the fighting! That took me by surprise.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:11am

omg this was so fun. first solving the murder, then a dark-souls-esque (stretching it a bit) boss fight. the mood is the best i've seen in all the entries I've tried, very well done! cover art very interesting, it's what drew me in!

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:16am

Great game! :)

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:18am

Beautiful game.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:19am

Though I liked the fighting sequences the real meat of the game is the interrogation mechanic. The animations were well done and the dialog was humorous. Great job!

mrcdk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:20am

Loved it, funny cases and lovely graphics and music!

The second part of the cases rekt'd me ;-;

I had some problems, like more dialog options than space though. I can't remember how I ended there and I can't reproduce it anymore.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:23am

a fighting game + a detective game, hmm, it's new.

Polyganz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:31am

Great job! The title animation looks like the guy is jerking off. :D Having the text read out faster or be there instantly would've made this more enjoyable to play.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:58am

Great game, I liked the genre mixing. :)

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:58am

That was a cool game. Great audio. Funny too :D

folex70 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:28pm

congratulations for this game, i very impressed! maked only in 72 hoours!!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Omg this is great!!! Super Amazing!
The best case was the first one with The MONSTER CLOWN.
EPIC
WELL DONE!

bakpakin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:38pm

I am very impressed. I expect this to do verrry well.

Kakureta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:49pm

I loved the art, the sound, the mood this game gave off. It was really fun to solve those cases. The only problem is it doesn't really follow the theme until the fight with a monster. It was fun!

rattower says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Those are some high production values for 72 hours. Very nice game!

Coruja says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Wonderful game! I liked so much the mix of styles! Great job!

Pusty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Hahaha! Awesome work! Love the graphics!

S0rax says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Good game, nice graphics and sound. But the battle sequence is so hard and useless for me

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Very well done game! Love the art

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Pretty neato! No loose ends in Gameplay, no bugs. Very polished and fun to play.

Jakob37 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Nice, incredible that you managed to pull of this in such short time span! I played through the first case, a lot of fun. Well done :)

Crosstales says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Wow, this game is really well done! Great cases, good audio, nice pixel-graphics and it looks very polished.
Are you planning to release this game? I hope so :-)

Superb job!

OmarShehata says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Just finished all 3 cases, fantastic game! I absolutely loved how the instructions actually like, and it turning into an action fighting game all of a sudden was a pleasant surprise! The humor was great too!

richardjs says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Great idea for the theme; not only is it original, it gives you a whole framework for setting up these detective stories. The art was great, and I particularly liked the protagonist design.

The fights were frustrating at first, but after I approached it as solving the puzzle of their movement patterns vs. viewing it as a pure action sequence, I enjoyed them more.

A short finale sequence after solving all three cases would have been a nice capstone.

glimaleite says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:48am

The visual brought me back to the time when I still had my Game Boy! I really enjoyed the detective parts, but I had a rough time with the fighting mode. Great job, guys!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:04am

Wow this is amazing :O

I also made a story game, maybe you'll like it

Crefossus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:54am

gj

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:55am

Great job!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Nice stories and really good graphics and music!

KodingNights says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:50pm

I enjoyed the investigative part. The fighting felt out of place, it was just a strange mix of concepts. Good game though!

LazyPenguin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:26pm

This was great!!

mar3k says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Simply AMAZING!

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Loved the story parts, they reminded me of Phoenix Wright games. I wished the cases would've been more problem solving and less fighting as I think the fighting was the weakest part of the game. Loved the atmosphere, story and graphics though. Good job!

lucienpro says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:16am

Watched your awesome Twitch stream and you cam out with an awesome game, great job!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:34pm

It's a very good game, I liked it! Graphics are good especially monsters sprites. The three stories are fun and the game is very polished. This is a great entry, good job!

Vladirien says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:43pm

One of the best games I played so far! Reminds me a lot of ace attorney games. The game is really polished, good job!

Dikkop says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Cool game! Like the humour!

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Holy sh~t, first boss fight was really unexpeceted! Awesome game, one of the best I've played so far.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Totally engaging through the entire length of the gameplay! The writing is dynamic and funny in each case, the boss fights are spectacular. Enjoyed it very much! Great work!

Stending says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Amazing! Best game I played this LD! Congratulation :)

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:42pm

I love the noir art style! Solving cases is a blast, and I liked the mini fighting sequence. :D

shawn42 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:01am

I like it! You basically wrote two games.. the detective game and the fighting.. nice!

Teesquared says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:55am

Nice combo of mystery and fighting game. I had a hard time with the fighting but it kept trying over and over. Very complete and polished game.

Aevek says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:34am

Super cool game! A really well-implemented mystery interrogation game followed by an acceptable fighting thingy. And three whole cases! Thats a lot of content for 72 hours. Awesome job.

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:47am

Cool story!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Lovely style! Congrats!

zuurr says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:21pm

love this entry. extremely well done. great art, writing (those puns...), and audio. lots of content too! seriously great submission.

bit bummed that i was never the monster though.

Ulydev says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Really, really great entry. An insane amount of polish!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Great visual and audio. This creates for a great mood!

-Loi LeMix

randoman says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Really liked the case solving but the fighting was a bit down to me.

MiniBobbo says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:02am

This was fun. I like how the accusation is the theme. Refreshing change from the player actually being the monster.

I definitely felt the beat-em-up sections at the end were the weakest part. But they were still plenty fun and each monster made me laugh.

Insality says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:05pm

oh shi~, how many time i spended?
Great entry, now words. Its brilliant polished game. All is done perfectly

Dianouille says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:15pm

I love that you mixed a mystery solving game with a fighting game. Nice graphics, cool stories...It's really an awesome entry !

David Yates says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:26pm

First of all, really nice polish and effort on display here. Loved the art and the quirky little stories.

The gameplay I wasn't totally happy with. The adventure part kind of has that all-too-typical adventure game story/puzzle disconnect where your character is a detective who solves mysteries but all you actually do is complete errands for people and rub objects on each other until something happens. But the stories were all pretty silly, so in that way it didn't really matter as much.

The boss fights kinda came outta nowhere with no fore-warning and I found them more irritating than fun. A boss battle is to a game level as a final exam is to the term's coursework, so this was like if I spent a term studying underwater basket weaving and then got to the exam and it asked me to write an essay on Shakespeare.

But I had fun with it nonetheless. :)

Crosstales says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Good one!

UncleChris says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:28pm

I really liked it, and very well done and very innovative. The graphics are very well done. And the surprise case endings was perfectly unexpected! Keep up the awesome work.

axoona says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:04pm

This is a great game, nice approach of the theme, the dialogs are funny and I truly enjoyed solving the cases (but I must admit that although I find it innovative, I really hated the fighting... I just refreshed the game to solve each case from the start...)

Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:13pm

This game is great! I love the original concept, the artwork, and the humour. I feel that the fight scenes were a little restricted, but I still think it's cool that each was different.

HappyHour says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:24am

Definitely one of the funniest ones I've played so far. The sudden boss fight completely caught me off guard. Great work!

LeafThief says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:32am

Well done. Good and moody entry and SO MUCH content. Really impressive for 72h!

Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:37am

Awesome game! Love the humour.

Gamepopper says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Quite funny point 'n' click detective game, which actually had some pretty good twists. Plus I love the animation
The fighting parts were a bit weak however, you can easily beat all three monsters with just one technique over and over again.

HThomson says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:49pm

A refreshingly original take on the theme. Brilliant mood, straight off the bat I was engrossed in your sepia-tinted world of mystery and intrigue, the title music was the perfect opening and immediately set the tone for the rest of the game.

The dialog system was smooth and being able to skip text once you've finished reading prevented any frustration or unnecessary waiting around.

My only harsh critique is that the fight scene feels quite out of place and detracts from the main strength of the game which is the dialogue and story.

However, other than that, fantastic game! 5/5

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Great clown monster (wasn't expecting a (rather difficult) fight).

hitchh1k3r says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:34pm

I always like when a game subverts expectations. When I first got into the combat part though I found the controls (mostly hit detection) to be off putting, I think it's important to have a well polished second part when you pull a switcheroo like that. ^_^ Once I got the hang of it though, I finished all three chapters fairly easily. Nice work on this.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Very impressed. Good job! The stories are very fun.

dunin says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:03pm

nice packaged game!
funny and good graphics..
the point'n click part is maybe too linear but there are three cases: impressive work!

togie says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:21pm

First boss was easy stuff... after learning to jump with him not away :P Fun though! the blinks should be faster and not as long though... there were a couple time i had no clue where my guy was lol

keddelzz says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Well executed! Fancy graphics and matching audio!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Very nice entry!
The cases were interesting. The fighting was a bit less fun, since the movement was not so smooth. The music is good. I like the art style. Well done!

kles4enko says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:43am

nice!

Chris M says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:39am

Nice detective game! So rare to see something like this in LD.

I think I would have preferred a shorter, more compact experience to the amount of content you managed to make here. Sequences like the fight (which is blocking but results in no penalty but a time drain) were exciting but I feel could have been achieved using less intrusive designs (for instance, a short mini game that uses the mouse).

Otherwise great writing, art and ideas. Good stuff!

WizzardMaker says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Great game, nice story but the boss fights where a bit to hard, there should be a "no boss fight" mode

Xanjos says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Found a bug where if you get a double KO in the fighting part, you still get a win but the battle music doesn't stop. Other than that, absolutely loved the storytelling plus the parts where you accuse the suspect of being the monster reminds me so much of the Ace Attorney games.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Nice entry. I really liked the story, depth and different characters. The graphics (outside of fights) were very nice. The fights were funny, but not that fun.

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:54pm

I really like the narritive, music and graphics. Point and clicks as a genre rely majorly on content and having lots of it so I don't think it's the best choic for a jam. That said, with the limited amount of time what you managed to create was impressive and well done. The fighting mechanics were quite clunky but that's understandable. Overall, great entry!

mustaine says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Brilliant. 5 stars.

euske says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:36am

This is how video games are supposed to be.

walsh9 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:04am

Great writing. Loved the art. Feels super polished. What a great game!

hexagore says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:48am

Really enjoyed solving the cases. Nice mechanic there, great art, it was wonderful. I found your use of the theme pretty refreshing too. I must admit I didn't enjoy the switch to a fighting game. It felt unnecessary for me. The case solving was more than enough (maybe if I didn't find it impossible to beat the monster I'd feel differently though).

Still a great entry though, no question :)

xvw says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Your work is awesome!
Love how you turned the theme!

I can't believe that you could do all that in so little time... this is... monstrous! :D

rxi says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Every part of this entry just *worked* together, the pixel art, the low-colour palette, the tweening motion, the beautiful sound effects, the music, the gameplay, the humour, the weird combination of game genres. Every part had its place and worked to make an excellent and enjoyable whole.

A really fresh entry! Nice work.

Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Great sound and a nice look. It delivered a fun flowing story. If you decide to take this further, the monster fights seem a little out of genre and might be jarring to fans of this slower paced style of game. Nice job!

kerotan24 says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Funny cases but the fighting feels unnecessary for a mistery.

MaesK says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Great game! And you guys even did three cases! Excellent work. Sprites are really good, specially when they move and rotate just like Paper Mario.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Awesome entry! a lot of content for just 3 days! Loved all 3 of the cases and the art was superb, good job!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Amazing! Not only did you manage a polished detective-style game, but when the fight scene started I was like omg, this is like Nightshade!!!

To be honest the fight scene was probably a bit unnecessary but I guess it works well enough. Art style really works well here, good job with the palette and I think the manipulation of the sprites works well. Great job guys, looking forward to reading your blog posts!

allinlabs says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 11:43am

Great game and it's actually pretty long. The fighting seems weird, but everything else is perfect!

nassi says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:38pm

I liked the investigation parts but the fight parts, not so much. @richardjs already mentioned the puzzle approach and I think that the fights could've been a better fit to the game if they were less action oriented and even more puzzle like. Like having to figure out the monsters weakness and then defeating it with a single move or something. As is I just don't feel the fight scenes really added to the game.

bombjack says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 7:04pm

nice game. I wasn't expected the fight :) good job!

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 12:47am

Very fun game, good art style, good humor, serious plot twists, unexpected horror... great work!

Patomkin says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Fantastic style! :)

Kizler says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:29am

That was awesome!

Erkberg says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Wow, that was amazing! Great visuals and gameplay. Those battles were a really nice change of pace. The humor was also great, probably the funniest game I played this LD. I really enjoyed this a lot, good job!

peterthehe says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:27pm

So incredibly polished. Loved the puns :P

Ovidios says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Awesome! The first case's monster seemed a little too hard to beat though, considering I had no problem at all beating the other ones!

pavel_insight says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:51pm

GREAT and simple. And also very funny.
Love to see a point&click adventure on LD!
Solved all three cases. 8)

superfreak says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:53am

Brilliant artwork and a super polished piece - truly impressive effort!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:59pm

A wonderful entry all together!
The fights were hard to figure out because they are a bit unresponsive and it's hard to judge exactly what will land and what won't, thereby ending up in a bunch of restarts, at which point I have to listen to the instructions again. A faster retry would make fighting a lot more enjoyable.

That had to be described in a long text but it is an extremely minor complaint in an awesome entry. Well done!

Tselmek says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Really great and polished game. I don't know what else to say but congratulations for the exceptionnal job you've done. The humour is great, the art is awesome, the sounds superb, everything is perfect. Might have liked something like a stamp thing when a case was done and this'll get you only 1/5.. Just kidding ;) here's your A+ sirs.

andyman404 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Lovely graphics and polish! Well done!

Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:09am

Loved the writing and art style! Great job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]