Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Being a Kraken

by struffy - Compo Entry

You are a Kraken. Battle with Ironclads using your mass and kinetic energy.

Game rigid body physics are simulated with buoyancy.

Ships are buoyant if a third of the hull is submerged. The Kraken is neutrally buoyant so you can travel through three dimensions.

Surface to attract the enemy AI to that position, but close by depth charges will kill.

Attack from below.


Unique features:

. Kraken is controlled by [world] yaw and [local] pitch. The roll axis self-rights allowing for easy control.

. Buoyancy is really modelled. Ships take on water when tipped and sink.

. Depth charges enter the water and really slow - just like real ones.

. Not made in Unity - but opening up game framework to the community.


See it on YouTube (here shown with the sea fixed). Original version downloadable at link below - as well as a new Oculus 0.44 compatible version.

YouTube - https://youtu.be/AqN-xPkA6nc

Blog Post here about the dev - http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/struffy/


Written for Windows 10 using OpenGL and supports Xbox controllers.

Use "beingakraken.zip" for the Comp edition game on Windows 7 and Windows 8. Let me know if there are any issues.

Controls:

Cursor keys (yaw left and right / dive and surface).
W/A/S/D - forward / strafe and backward

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#363Innovation3.17
#588Audio2.38
#598Theme3.19
#611Mood2.75
#693Humor2.19
#727Graphics2.55
#760Fun2.57
#774Overall2.74

Comments

tomdeal says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:28pm

I like the idea (I made a similar game with a 2D topdown perspective), but I did not manage to sink any ship. And it was a bit hard to tell if I was under or over the sea.

NIGIC says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Pretty neat experimental game. Though it seemed to act pretty weird with Win7; had to close it through the task manager with only keyboard inputs available.

I somehow got stuck on top of a ship for a while. I think. Eventually managed to wiggle my way out.

Otherwise it was enjoyable.

Good job!

superfluous says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:52am

This looks really neat, but I wasn't able to try it because there wasn't a non-windows version

struffy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Thanks all for trying it out.

tomdeal> played yours as well :). if you've any suggestions about indicating underwater i'm in. caustics / fish. I've published a new version with revised lighting that may help - saved different as the comp.

NIGIC> ive not managed that. haha. Made me think a tanker or something large where you can achieve that might be good!. I've also added a close by F4.

superfluous. currently porting to Mac OSX. Sorry don't have a version of Linux installed anywhere. but thanks for your kind comment!

farnsworth2 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:32pm

I found the easiest way is to run to the bottom and wait. The ships swarm at your last known location, run into each other, and eventually you just have to sink the last one. The lack of a horizon made it very very hard to orientate yourself, especially after a collision. The water graphic seemed strange and made it appear like I was moving in directions that I was not. Over all sense of motion was really hard to establish, and I felt like I was floating around uncontrollable at times (even though it was just a trick of the visuals, I was probably stationary).

Very impressed that something like this wasn't made in unity though! It takes a lot of work to build a game engine and make it function well.

struffy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Hi farnsworth2. Yes, you were stationary. I realised that after two hours on CPU water I must move on. Does need work on the horizon. Needs to use procedural water in a centre area and then stretch to the horizon using a plane quads - something like clipmaps.

HeyZeus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Awesome, love the idea.

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:48am

Nice idea, need a little more work on some parts. I get the idea. Suits the theme very well, and who doesn't love being the kraken. Congratulations!

Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Was very confusing and is hard to tell where you are/where you are going. Very neat idea though and the buoyancy, etc. were very well done. Just needs a little more feedback to the user.

struffy says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Thanks Flat Miner - yeah it was a case of not enough time - if you're interested try the latest and let me know what you think of the improved water - and change between submersed and floating. Suggestions welcome!

Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:17pm

I will try it when it has been ported to windows. My team's game is also about a kraken.

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:16am

Tried to run but had this weird render: http://imgur.com/o2Mz72x

I'm running on windows 10 and couldn't find beingakraken_win10_no_x_input31.zip mentioned in the missing dlls txt

Jelinib says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:04am

Of the post-comp builds, the non-Oculus version crashes for me whenever a ship fires. However, the Oculus version works fine (even though I don't have an Oculus Rift).

I tend to get a little disoriented whenever I hit a ship, but in some cases it also helps me to feel like I've flipped upside down and am pulling the ship down with me.

This game totally needs tentacles... I was kinda hoping I could lash out from underwater and grab the ships, haha! But bumping into them works too, especially with such limited time! Nice job. :)

struffy says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Hey Jelinib - Thanks for the feedback. I'll sort that asap.

Tentacles are coming next - I want to allow a stealthy attack where you can take sailors off the bridge with tentacles so that ship isn't then alerted to your presence!

Suggestions welcome for how you would control the tentacles - or even if you need to control them!

pixzleone says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Cool idea, but a bit hard to know whats up and whats down as mentioned earlier.
Good job!

PurpleApes says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Nice game. Frontal attack works just fine :P

CiderPunk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 11:26am

very cool! my one complaint was the sea floor didn't move when I did so it didn't feel like there was any motion when you didn't have a ship in view for reference

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]