Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Hop's Hope

by OldPeculier - Compo Entry

Hop is a monster who wants only to be loved. Yet all the beautiful princesses in the kingdom reject him. And all the knights in the kingdom try to jump on his head. Join Hop on his quest to find love—and top jump onto other people's heads—in "Hop's Hope," my third Ludum Dare entry.

The game may take a moment to load. Wait for it!

To play: arrow keys to move. Space bar to jump. Jump onto your enemies' heads to kill them. Don't let them jump on your head. If you bump tummies you both just bounce off—no one gets hurt.

Hey, have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#34Mood3.98
#45Audio3.82
#50Graphics4.19
#62Overall3.85
#167Theme3.87
#427Fun3.08
#446Humor2.76
#634Innovation2.73

Comments

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 11:02pm

This is really a neat game, great music and art. It gets hard to jump around the jumpy knights! :)

Cryptix says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Love it! I love the graphics, and the lighting gives it a nice ambient feel. Nice take on the theme.

kewleus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:00am

Great game, nice ambient mood. I really like the star rotation in the background.

Birke says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Nice little experience. I liked the changing color scheme and the music a lot. A bit more control in the air during jumps would be nice and it could also be a bit more snappy in the pacing.

Ventura says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:45pm

great game :D, interesting story and awesome programmed mechanics I think.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Gorgeous, just gorgeous. Smooth controls too, and I love the music (although the sound effects are a bit jarring in comparison). The mutual hopping gets a bit frustrating at times, and I'm not good enough to get very far, but I really want to know whether there's a happy ending...

recursor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:29pm

The hop mechanic frustrated me somewhat as I didn't feel like I had the control that I wanted. That being said I really love the art and music and the story of the game was surprisingly interesting. Nice job.

Arg410 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Fantastic!! Love the game design!

gene-z says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Very good work... in the top 5

ajopart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:21pm

What a great entry. I put it on my TOP list. 5* on Mood !

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:23pm

WOW very smooth and stylized gameplay.
Excellent work!

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:27pm

just amazing, really.

Darkhaul says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Lovely game! Had some problems with lag later on but that was probably just my computer but it did mean I didn't get to finish the game however a checkpoint system would be nice, other than that though it was great, looked beautiful, played pretty nicely, and the audio was fantastic

JamesTanm says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:15am

Awesome aestetics, though the controls were a little frustrating at times. there seems to be a weird effect when you try to jump when on a hill where you just start going down the hill / have your momentum changed. It can really screw with your ability to fight enemies

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:16am

Great game. 5/5 for graphics!!! loved the scanlines and pixel art. Winning strat is just right arrow all the way to your happy ending, the enemies just hop over you. Great job for the Compo!

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Great mood, niiice game!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Seems like a pretty polished game, but unfortunately it doesn't look like my computer's able to handle it properly :(

steve says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Unfortunately the game just presented a black screen to me in both chrome and firefox (with all extensions disabled too), the music played and it seems as though I could control it even with the black screen as the jump sound played when I pressed space, but no graphics.

steve says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Looking in the log here's the probably relevant lines to why it's not working for me:

{FreshOpenGL.cpp(114) - isGLExtensionAvailable()} OpenGL extension GL_EXT_packed_depth_stencil is unavailable
{FreshOpenGL.cpp(114) - isGLExtensionAvailable()} OpenGL extension GL_OES_packed_depth_stencil is unavailable
{RenderTarget.cpp(193) - create()} FRESH WARNING: RenderTarget'712fkfgeoff' had incomplete frame buffer.
[.WebGLRenderingContext-0x7fadd2ffb3d0]GL ERROR :GL_INVALID_FRAMEBUFFER_OPERATION : glClear: framebuffer incomplete (clear)
[.WebGLRenderingContext-0x7fadd2ffb3d0]GL ERROR :GL_INVALID_FRAMEBUFFER_OPERATION : glDrawArrays: framebuffer incomplete (clear)

However, this was running on a macbook, and trying this on a PC it seems to work fine, so I'll play it there :)

UrbanHelsing says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:02pm

One of the best so far, but you can simply avoid the enemies by pressing D during the whole game

boardtobits says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Gorgeous art style. I feel like you could have paid of the theme a little more, maybe if you hopped on the goblins' heads you'd be considered a monster or something. I actually actively tried to avoid jumping on heads, thinking something like that was coming. There was also a little glitching with floating flowers sometimes, but all in all a good little game!

keddelzz says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Very, very nice game! Love the graphics & shaders.

Indiestry says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Really great overall aesthetics, everything just comes together nicely. Maybe a checkpoint-system would be a welcome addition :)

Demy says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:24pm

If these are shaders, they're cool, anyway, the graphics is nice, good game.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Excellent release !

Artistic direction is amazing with this old school tech mixed with this advanced lightning system.
As everyone, I love this rotating stars in the sky (but you're not the only one to think about this, we did ^^).

Controls are nice (if we jump well, we can run so fast) but it looks more like a quake gameplay than an ambient game.

Ambient and story is nice and we wonder if Hope will find what he seek (but yes, he do).

Well done !

bombjack says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:15am

Nice little game with classic gameplay. The controls could be improved. I found it hard to jump on opponents heads. Good game.

Vennril says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:38pm

The atmosphere was amazing. Nailed the graphics and audio. Really well done :)

Sparrow says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Interesting experience and nice mood! The graphics were beautiful but I had a lot of framedrops at seemingly random moments with few things on the screen. The game felt too long and dragged out, eventually I stopped hopping on heads and just went on. I was hoping for a cutscene or atleast a text bubble at the end but was left with a few sentences.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Wow! I had hope, and it paid off for Hop! I really like that you can get health back, that you don't have to fight, and really liked the background.

Sep 9, 2015 @ 10:48pm

LOVED IT! Oh man, aesthetics were just perfect ! The star rotation, the sound effect, the effects on pixel art... Just Wow, best Mood I've seen so far. The gameplay is simple but who cares ? It's efficient and that's what is important on a jam game! One of my favorite compo entries overall. Oh... and great story ! They're definitely a lot to love here !

Sep 11, 2015 @ 7:37am

Love the mood but the journey is a little monotone for me.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 10:55am

Well executed :) i would categorized it in the Art game section :)
liked the overall concept, well done.

Patomkin says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:08pm

It's somehow too easy to just hold the right arrow - the opponents simply jump over you and you can go on. Other than that, very cute entry :)

Larzan says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Beautiful, quiete difficult though. Love the art style and the chill music, well done.

local minimum says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Nice entry! Like how you worked on the visuals. I walked and walked and if day or night, not one princess seemed the least inclined. They did replenish my life though, I think. It would be good if that was more visible somehow. In general a good game, but I think it either needs to end sooner or have more sense of progression (in whichever way the story is intended to progress).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]