Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Crawl

by NikB - Jam Entry

Don't Crawl is a multiplayer platformer game in NES stylistic.

One player controls the hero while the others take control of the monsters in attempts to kill the hero and take their place. The game features online multiplayer and can be played either directly (the "host" player will need to forward a UDP port) or by finding the opponents via "hub".

A game by NikB (@ampersandbear) and @YellowAfterlife.
Music by Sleepnaut (@Chromastranger).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#93Fun(Jam)3.77
#119Overall(Jam)3.79
#134Audio(Jam)3.68
#183Innovation(Jam)3.48
#228Mood(Jam)3.53
#250Graphics(Jam)3.95
#529Theme(Jam)3.45

Comments

RiverAndRun says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:14am

Very nice art. A little slow on moving and the trees weren't the easest to understand but overall great job. :D

Wakefield says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:22am

Nice art and fun to play! i´m curious about the online mode :o

pnkthrepwood says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:00am

DA BESTZOR

much fun, can't stop playing

VividReality says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:12am

Pretty cool game :) How have you managed to do multiplayer, though? It's insane to write that in 72 hours!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:19am

Closely emulates the utter chaos experienced in early platformers, which is good. Nothing new for the genre, but it was enjoyable to play with a good variety of obstacles. Definitely challenging. I don't know how useful inclusion of multiplayer is, especially in the long-term; it may be a better pursuit to put more focus into the single-player experience.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:53am

I was largely working only on the multiplayer (and some visual effects) while NikB was working on the actual game.

Multiplayer is where the game really comes to life (and compo theme) - the more players you can gather, the more chaotically hilarious it gets as everyone are trying to kill the player.

Definitely going to make a post-jam version with additional levels and/or a level editor.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:29am

Everything is perfect for a jam game. I don't know what to say. It's unforgiving but not too much. Sounds work very well. I'd like to play the multiplayer mode later :)

Sunflower says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:37pm

The yay:
- graphics
- audio
- practice mode was somewhat cool

The nay:
- tried to get multiplayer to work, but was always connecting forever
- choosing "JOIN PRIVATE" option resulted in crash
- sometimes background was hard to tell apart from terrain

Overall, the game lost a lot in my eyes because I couldn't get it to work in multiplayer mode, which is where the most promising part (and theme execution) lies.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:51pm

We are currently working on fixing the hub - direct connections should still work meanwhile.

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:00pm

I like this game. Please, add jump to arrow up, space is very uncomfrortable.

Big Cow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Its very good, very well done. A little too frustrating for me...god its so addictive though. I love the lack of colour reminds me of c64 games. Man I would love save points. At least I had the satisfaction of crushing that blue blob over and over *SQUISH*. Laser sounds awsome. When the Minotaur started jumping on the platforms I found myself shouting AWW COME ON! Good job.

General says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Here I reviewed LD entries: http://youtu.be/AkOdas_qL9A
Your game is at 50:18

Afterwards I locally tested the multiplayer. This is a great game which fits the theme 100%!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:33am

Very good one! Fit the theme too =)
It's pity that I haven't firends to test FULL POWER of the game =(

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:45pm

This felt sooo nostalgic, it's amazing! Played the game with my sister, high grades all around from the both of us! :D

Loutrattitude says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Realy fun with friends !

tal says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:31pm

cool game! waiting for multi ^^

congusbongus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Very cool game! There sure are a lot of hazards though :)

UrbanHelsing says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Very high quality entry! Great concept, would definitely buy a full version of this game. I really like these kinds of asymmetrical multiplayer games, just like Crawl. I have only played by myself using two clients of the game for now, but it's still great fun! Gonna try and play it with some of my friends later. The pixel art needs to be mentioned as well, it looks very professional. Would be nice to be able to play the game locally as well (just like Crawl), then you wouldn't have to start two clients at the same computer.

johnhattan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Very nice game. It's a pretty familiar theme, but the execution and the extra touches keep it from being TOO familiar. Totally kicked my butt, but I'm never been all that great at platformers. Thanks for letting me play!

Realize2D says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Pretty good game! Beautiful art with great animation and particles, fun gameplay, the only downside in my opinion is the audio that is too repetitive. But good job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:30pm

A post-jam version is now available:
* You can now use Up/X/Space to jump as the player.
* The name of current player is now displayed in the corner of the screen.
* The hub is back and now actually works.
* You can now exit back to the main menu via Escape.
* Done some level balancing to eliminate "camping spots".
* No longer using an external DLL for networking functions.

Additional note:
To ensure that everything goes smoothly, check with the players that everyone have stable latency between them before starting the match - the game uses P2P-like structure so the players have connections between each other along with the main connection to the server.

Thanks for the feedback!

DragonGino says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:30pm

pretty cool game to play i hope that the online fucntion will work later.

CrownCity says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Unfortunately I couldn't join a game. But I really like the concept and the style of the game.

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:44pm

It's funny with friends!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Great entry ! Definitely love your art. I played it with my little brother and we had a lot of fun ! Take a great score, sir :) Would like to see more multiplayer games on LD

cowboycolor says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:58pm

So freaking impressive. The core gameplay is amazing, the art is wonderful, the music is great and there IS ONLINE MULTIPLAYER in a freakin LUDUM DARE GAME. Damn guys, this was like the best submission ever

Awpteamoose says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:56am

10/5, had a blast.

Please don't abandon this.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:09pm

It's hard and it's fun and it has lots of squishy effects and squishy effects are awesome.

HappyHour says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:52am

Loved the responsive controls and the music. Haven't had a chance to try out the online mode, but hope to soon.

grywhttl says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:53am

I'd like to play this! Any chance of a Mac build?

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Solid little platformer, great art, felt very polished. Unforgiving, but that's how I like it! :D Keep it going!

Managore says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:33am

A really fantastic game! Great use of theme, beautiful art, lovely sound effects and music, and a really nice multiplayer experience. Would like to see more level variety, perhaps even randomly generated levels, but obviously that goes beyond the scope of a jam game!

NikB says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:59am

@DragonGino, @CrownCity, multiplayer is working! Just bring your friends! You need one person to host the game (and to forward a UDP port) and the others would be able to join!

@grywhttl, unfortunately, porting to Mac means purchasing
Mac Developer Program, whic we cannot afford right now. Sorry!

Thanks a lot for all your feedback!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:43am

For clarification:

If you use "Host (direct)", you will need to "forward" the chosen port.
If using "multiplayer" (which uses a "hub" server), no further actions are required.

While we won't be able to make separate Mac and Linux ports for some time, the game should run perfectly fine (including online multiplayer) under Wine ( https://www.winehq.org/ ).

derr says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:54pm

The controls are superb! It feels like a very tight and solid platformer. Great job!

recursor says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Very nice graphics and innovative game play. My only criticism is that I found it rather difficult to get past the first level in single player mode. I really like the online multiplayer aspect of it. Nice job.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Excellent entry! Audio and graphics are really nice!

xvw says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:15am

I love how this game is... hardchore. :D
The slime dodge on you, birds do not miss a single opportunity to shit on you... lazer trap everywhere!
...and splashes everywhere! :D

I really sucks at this game, but I enjoyed it a lot!

Modoc73 says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:43am

Really liked the animations and the respawn of the character. Well done!

mortus says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Couldn't find anyone to play with quite sadly. Looks fun though and practice mode was really nice. Trees are not very obvious as a platforms indeed, but the level design teaches you how to use them very nicely. And while having a more conventional flat platform instead would be more intuitive for platformer players, I really love how the trees blend with the rest of graphics, making a level whole and seamless.

kidando says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 2:19pm

I suck terribly at this game. I played practice. But the presentation was absolutely stunning. Certainly one of the best games I have played yet. It feels ready for the Nintendo :). Great Job

bombjack says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 10:59am

I can't rate it because I don't have any windows machine left. But I still wanted to say that the art looks nice. I'm totally fond of it.

pixzleone says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 8:52pm

This is just awesome. I would LOVE to see this worked more on, because I think everything about it is awesome!
Really good job! Keep it up!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Nice concept well thant I've not done it with an other player, solo wasn't easy but the game was good.
I tried traps versus myself to understand what it coud be on multiplayer.

Oct 13, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Really neat graphics, challenging game. The hub is currently down :/ I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/K5Eh9xNFJGY

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]