Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Necromorph

by Supernaught - Jam Entry

NECROMORPH by Supernaught



WARNING: Please turn down your volume a bit, especially if you're using headphones.



Controls:
Arrow Keys – Move
Z – Jump
X – Attack
R – Restart level

Tip: Up Arrow + Attack – Attack upwards when using bow



Supernaught is:
Alphonsus (@alphnsus) – Code
Dave (@momorgoth) – Art

Follow us on Twitter: @_supernaught

Made with HaxeFlixel and PyxelEdit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Graphics(Jam)4.52
#46Overall(Jam)4.04
#74Fun(Jam)3.83
#139Innovation(Jam)3.60
#156Mood(Jam)3.69
#287Theme(Jam)3.75
#534Audio(Jam)2.75
#711Humor(Jam)2.43
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:16am

Amazing graphics. Best theme interpretation i've seen yet. the levels were a little too hard.

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Really cool graphics

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:22am

Nice game! :D

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:04am

Pretty well made! Like the pixelart and game mechanic idea =)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:13am

Awesome theme, great graphics! An overall perfect game!

pereubu says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:06pm

really nice graphics, especially the color palette :>

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:13pm

I liked the mechanic of switching to the enemy that you last defeated. Some of the sounds seemed a bit loud in comparison to the others. A fun but short entry.

fullmontis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:17pm

I like the mechanics, it is pretty fun to play as the enemy you just killed. The graphics are great, I really dig them. Controls were nice but a little hard to master, I have died a couple of times because of this.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Incredible, fun, challenging. A great game!

sergicollado says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:28pm

So cool when player get enemy weapons, well done!

SojaBird says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Super cool art style and a really really nice gameplay idea.

Do more with this idea!!!

darklightteam says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Great game, cool graphics and implementation of the theme.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Very nice look and feel in this game. The mechanic reminds me of Kirby and the difficulty is frustratingly fantastic. Just a very very solid entry in all ways.

NikB says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Pretty cool. Innovative mechanic and stunning visuals. Good luck with this one!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:47pm

That game was amazing! Great use of that mechanic where you became what you killed. It went from a basic platformer to a strategy game as I tried to plan out my attacks to be able to use the bow on more difficult enemies without sacraficing the ax. My only problem was when you died, the sound was starteling and the white screen was a lot. But awesome game! you did a great job.

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:50pm

This is a really tight platformer! Extra props for adding a variable jump height. You should add some music and release this!

Taldius says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Awesome game, I love the art style and the concept.
The only problem I have is that I find the game really hard, but maybe it's just who is bad.
Anyway, really good job!

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:59pm

It's a great game! Love morphing into enemies and use theyr skills! Good job

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Excellent entry. It felt so polished. I think it's clever how you force the player to think before killing each enemy. It was definitely difficult, but not frustrating. I just wish it were longer.

ZyxAsRey says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Challenging game, it provides a unique gameplay and enforces a strategy on how to approach to enemies and reach for the next level. Nice job and keep it up!

treeman says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Graphics and the overall feel was very well done. I also found the game too hard, but the game mechanic was nice.

freaknarf says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Good game, but i ragequited before beating it ; it seems that sometimes keys need to be pressed multiple times before the game realizes it was released eg : i'm pushin right arrow, and even released the player sometimes keep walking right. I must push right arrow again and release to make the player stop...
As the game is not really easy (at least with this kind of trouble) i quit but that's a nice game ! Concept is nice, and fits perfectly the theme ; becoming the monsters you kill, it reminds me kirby's gameplay in a way (and i love it). Palette's choice is quite original and i really liked the visual style and work done. I did not expect sfx to be so loud, so I was a bit surprised at the very first sound :)
Good game, I'll try again later !

cbear_wallis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:36pm

really solid! I loved it. The whole thing is really well realized.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Very well done. I would've loved some background music. BUT: It was REALLY well done. A platformer with a nice twist and interpretation of the theme :)

HappyHour says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Great color palette and pixel art. :)

Mase says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Nice parallax backgrounds.
I died on the last spike in the game ( >.<) So that was fun.

Hmm except for the archers, the enemies seem too passive.

rogual says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Loved this one. Really hard but I beat it in the end. Your interpretation of the theme was excellent, in a "why didn't I think of that" way.

Really nice entry.

K.Chplr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Good game with a great mechanic. I wish it had more challenges and some music !

A minor issue I noticed : With an azerty keyboard, the W key can be used to jump with in most forms (which is nice), except with in the flying form where Z has to be used.

BeardyBard says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Cool gameplay
I give this game 111 out of 111.
Need more spikes, lol

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Cool graphics! I like the idea of swapping into enemy after killing them. Kinda like Kirby but with more puzzle element.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:23pm

This feels like a very complete game. Love the graphics and colors.

Yrr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Now this is exactly the kind of game I love to see!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Great entry! I'm glad you were in my chat to tell me to shoot up. The difficulty ramp felt great. Art was well done. Nice interpretation of the theme.

CtrlAltTea says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:20am

Great art, very nice idea!

Awpteamoose says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:42am

More! Make more levels!

Our artist doesn't believe it's a two-man project.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Awesome little game. Love the gibs

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Challenging, beautiful levels and a wide variety of movement mechanics to get around. This is well designed and amazingly executed - I love it! I think some music could push it a bit further though.

rnlf says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:47am

I really liked this game! It looks awesome, it feels awesome and even the simple sound effects match the rest awesomely.

The levels were well balanced, maybe a tad to easy.

One tiny complaint though, Z/X forced me to install a second keyboard layout. Please consider using something more international next time.

Besides that, really, really great game!

shawn42 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Wow. One of the best I've seen so far... Great art and interesting mechanic to mix in to the standard platformer. I really like dropping rocks on enemies as the flappy bat thing!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:29am

Beautiful pixel art; interesting mechanics also. I wish it was longer, but other than that, great job with this. :)

xvw says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:03am

Good take on the theme, with a good concept!
Beautiful graphics!
Shame that you have not found a composer!

zeid says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:36am

Awesome game, nice graphics and concept.

zeid says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:37am

Awesome game, nice graphics and concept. The difficulty was a tad hard, and the death sounds were a little grating other than that spot on!

Tselmek says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:32pm

The pixelart is gorgeous and the mechanics are well done. Good job with the level design even though the hitboxes feel a little too unforgiving. Definitely needs some music. Good job!

Sanju says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Loved that graphics.

Managore says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Stunning graphics! I wish I could give you a 6 for that! Great use of theme as well, and really responsive controls. I felt like the melee enemies could be more threatening, perhaps walking around or attacking at intervals.

Unept says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Beautiful game. Love the art and the gameplay, great take on the theme. Great variable gameplay. Nice!

superfluous says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Very possibly my favorite game I've played so far this jam. Great mechanics, interesting opportunity for strategy, amazing spritework, exceptional polish. I would buy an expanded version of this in a heartbeat. Great work.

inurashii says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Very polished! Would have liked checkpoints, but otherwise it was a lot of fun.

Draknek says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Could do with more checkpoints. If there was a checkpoint midway through each level I think I would have persisted and got further, but as it is, it feels like it's asking me to repeat parts of each level for no good reason.

Bit weird that the knight doesn't attack you.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Wow that's a great entry!!
I love the graphic, it's awesome!
And the gameplay is smooth and really enjoyable, a little too challenging!
Well done dude!

recursor says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Love the art style going with reds, white and dark blues. Very lovely. My only frustration was having to start over at the beginning of each level when I died. Other than that I quite enjoyed it.

napramirez says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:27pm

It's so fun to play, the balance is just right. I want moar of this! A little music here and there, and it's ready to go! Release this kraken!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Nice classic game, easy to play, with a good concept, but so short T_T !
We would like to see more !

Togimaro says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Too short but excellent! I hope a Post-GameJam version with more levels and more ennemies!

allinlabs says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Super beautiful game and fun to play. The gameplay switch when you kill an enemy kept it really fresh to play, and I enjoyed finishing it!
The controls are a little buggy (sometime it would do the action, other times it wouldn't change direction or just stop...). I also feel there is something missing with the knight not attacking you.
Still, it's a really fresh platformer.

Arche-san says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Nice concept with a very good theme interpretation.
The hitbox is a bit hard a first but not frustrating.
It's very fun to perform the monster you just killed before. Excellent level design BTW !
Great job :D

6DownStudios says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:45am

Great take on the theme, very innovative! Fun game, well designed, pixelart/animation is top-notch!
Outstanding work guys!

RobotMeal says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Amazing entry! Fun platformer, very cool power-steal mechanic.

BNeutral says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 6:51am

Very fitting title.

Headmade says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 9:02am

We have a winner right here. Very innovative and fun to play, great looking, nails the theme and even has a great name.
The only thing missing is music. Odd to leave it out considering this is a jam entry.

DarkwindMedia says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Nice pacing at the start, good challenges, character feel was good, engineering seemed solid, art was fantastic. Good impacts on death. Particles were nice and subtle, not over the top. Everything moved well. Really clean. Really really well done.

MaesK says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Excellent. All is perfect: idea, graphics, game mechanic, and even sound. I just miss some music, but everything else is impressive. A short game, but carefully done.

pixzleone says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 9:30am

I really like the artstyle!

sorlok says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:26am

First 5-star on both innovation and fun! I really liked this game; it forced you to make choices (since killing an enemy always stole their power). The mechanics were a little off, but not enough to break the enjoyment of the game. Great concept, great art, and great game!

bombjack says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:26pm

nice graphics and original gameplay.

jerombd says ...
Oct 11, 2016 @ 4:07pm

Sweet graphics & an interesting gameplay: I can imagine a bigger dungeon with its dozens of different monsters and their own movements!

nictaylr says ...
May 2, 2017 @ 1:42am

Hi Supernaught, any chance I can get the source? I am student learning HaxeFlixel!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]