Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Moon Base Shootout

by Unept - Jam Entry

********************

Oh crap, monstrous aliens have infiltrated your Moon Base...time for a shootout.
- Top-down shooter against a plethora of colorful aliens with distinct abilities.
- Navigate through multiple levels and rid this functioning, fortified factory of the invaders.
- Exploit a tragic flaw in the moon facility to help kill aliens and pass levels.
- There's a big boss, though it's not particularly difficult in this version.
- Uncover a rather dark secret as you progress through the game...who is the real monster?

Follow me on twitter: @UNEPT

(Yes, there is a theme tie-in, just complete the game to see it.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#39Fun(Jam)3.98
#60Overall(Jam)3.98
#121Innovation(Jam)3.66
#202Humor(Jam)3.48
#234Mood(Jam)3.52
#323Graphics(Jam)3.80
#402Audio(Jam)3.07
#768Theme(Jam)3.12

Comments

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:23am

Great game, loved the space physics! :D

foxboard says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:13am

Neat little game! Liked the writing on the management notes. :>

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:15am

Poor little Skibbles! This was a really great puzzle/action game! The window mechanic was subtle, and I really enjoyed that in most cases you didn't just have to shoot all the enemies. Moar levels please!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:16am

My controls got jammed at one point, but overall a cool shoot em up. The vacuum mechanic was definitely an interesting twist.

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:17am

Plays really good. I enjoyed it!

shimage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:19am

I enjoyed to the end. I love the window tricks.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:19am

Nice! Would be awesome if it had more levels (don't worry, I know what it's like to not have enough time to do them though)

Lolninjacatz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:20am

I think that the game is really well done. There's a lot of enemy types, there are a lot of nice attentions to detail and it feels like a very complete game. Would be nice if there were some environment noises, but with such a complete game that was a minor issue. The biggest gripe I had was really figuring out how it related to the theme - it seemed as though the enemies were monsters, but not the player. Perhaps the theme was found later in the game, but I got through quite a lot of levels without seeing it. I really love the space vacuum mechanic though. It really added some variety to the gameplay when fighting enemies, and lead to some interesting puzzles.

Divitos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:20am

This was amazing! :o
You should definitely continue on with this.

tweedle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:27am

Cool game! Movement and shooting are solid. The "pulling" mechanic after shooting out windows is really awesome. Great game for this challenge!

Keon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:38am

Good game!

I liked the glass shattering mechanic but you could maybe have done a bit more with the vacuum puzzles other than "Shoot window to kill enemies in room". There was one puzzle that I remember but I would have loved some more. The aiming of the gun was a bit clunky but that may have just been my browser.

The memos were very well done - reading them was a good reward for clearing the rooms, and overall they told the story in a well paced manner. I wish you had a moment in the early game where you kill a room full of skittlemonsters so that you can feel extra bad afterwards.

I had one bug where some monsters were unkillable while others of the same type were easily dealt with. Not sure what caused that, but I got past it by running around so it was fine.

Overall a very nice and smooth game.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:37am

Enjoyable little game with good gameplay mechanics, although I didn't understand what it has to do with the theme.

wooltech says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Fun, and a nice way of telling the story from the company point of view. The window mechanic was a good addition to the top-down shooter.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Very nice entry! I loved the gameplay, the art and the storyline. I would have loved some more puzzles with the broken windows, but overall, a great game for one weekend. 4.5/5

Saf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:13pm

The best LD33 game I have played so far! Great work.

anjack says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Top marks! Solid controls, great SFX and GFX. The story was hilarious.

Caspila says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:17pm

This was pretty cool! Really liked the shooting the window thing.
I wanted a funky background music loop!
Art is really good, a little bit of story in the notes.
One thing that I didn't really like was that you have to click on top of the thing you wanted to destroy. If you click in the same direction but farther, the bullet doesn't destroy/kill it, which is not really intuitive because it's just a bullet. This made the gameplay a bit clunky some times.

Great job nonetheless!

disperse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Amazing. Just needs music, other than that perfect and accomplished everything you intended.

Flix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:19pm

cool game, although it will be great if you could add music to the game and btw I love skittles more than Skibbles :P.

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:19pm

First off, this was a fun game. Very cool idea with blowing out the windows, and I loved the humorous notes throughout the game. Only problem that I see is that enemies occasionally clip through walls. Other than that, this was an amazing game: keep it up!

Wryxo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Really nice game, I enjoyed it alot, but you should consider lowering volume on shooting.

athaclena says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:24pm

I got far enough through to know I really liked it before my controls got stuck. Awesome game, very retro-chic :)

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:55pm

everything is perfect i have trouble believing this was made in 72 hours ITS THAT GOOD

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:12pm

SKIDDLES ARE PEOPLE!

Great game!

t4u says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:49am

Great tiny art. Innovative phycis mechanics. Audio is just sound of shooting and tiny step - but that's enough no need for anything more. I didn't care about story just enjoyed the game instead.

ceosol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:01am

I think the "working for a company that is run by monsters" was a little bit weak for the theme. The game itself is fantastic. Very nicely done on the mechanics.

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:09pm

I really enjoyed that. Super fun! Loved how the theme was incorporated!

Shaw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:25am

The window breaking mechanic is sublime, I love the way the game feels and how the gun, even being so small feels like it has so much weight behind it, excellent job.

LMT says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:00pm

That was awesome and hectic. I loved it - certainly one of the best entries I've seen so far.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Nice game! I lik the idea the break windows to get ride of alien

Xanjos says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Once I saw the conveyor belt with all those infant aliens did I realise that something was definitely not right. Game overall was pretty fun although as others have said, the vacuum mechanic could be used more as sometimes it felt much easier to just shoot the aliens (maybe have a limited ammo capacity next time?).

Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Great polish! Feels very complete. The ending was awesome, although the boss was too easy. I like how you can go mostly pacifist.

Sparrow says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Awesome gameplay. I had a blast!

jwin says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Great game, sucking things out the windows into space was an awesome mechanic!

kidando says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:37pm

That was fun. Simple game with great graphics. I like the get-sucked-into-space feature. Haven't seen that since dead space. :). Congrats on submitting your entry

Aske says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Really minimalist and beautiful design :)

I acciidently clicked outside the screen a couple of times which was a bit frustrating since the player continued to move one direction, but thats my own fault i guess :D

dunin says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:59pm

clever game!
Sometimes you could do more puzzle levels and you got a totaly cool game!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:58pm

:D Damn you, Skittles! Very fun and smooth. Only complaint would be that the audio was a bit sharp.

BUNN1E5 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Loved the mechanics very unique and fun! At first I didn't see where the theme was until I but the story showed me!

Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:57pm

The controls are litte buggy for me, other than that it's very cool.

SkullPixel says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:00pm

I now see that I am a monster. Great idea. You are a philosophical genius with the theme.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Very cool game. Had fun, the end is nice hehe

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:26pm

The controls were smooth and the mechanics are solid. I particularly enjoyed the vacuum idea. I feel if that part was expanded upon and this was more of a puzzler it would have been all the better. The story was nice and the graphics were simple yet worked so well. I enjoyed the little touches such as shells on the ground and the fact the only really colors were the enemies. Speaking of the enemies, I think some of them bugged out as I was unable to kill them. Other than that, this was a very solid entry!

MiniBobbo says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:47pm

This was fun. I enjoyed the shootout aspect and the puzzles. The sounds were functional and didn't distract from the rest of the game, although some ambient music would be nice!

The only weirdness I ran into was that the teleporting alien guys would go all over the place when you try to suck them out the windows.

randomhuman says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:21am

Great concept, and great execution! Was there actually no audio, or was that just a problem on my end?

randomhuman says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:25am

Ah, got the audio working. It is solid. Could use some plaintive alien death sounds to really reinforce the monstrosity.

Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Interesting work, lots of good mechanics for something this short.

Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:19am

Super nice game! I love the graphics. I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/OjNOJwfYtGQ

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:02am

Well done! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]