Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Chase

by Caracole - Jam Entry

** PITCH **
You are the monster the villagers want dead.
Escape as long as possible in a daylight which disrupts your perception.

** ACTIONS **
Mouse: Look around
W/S: Accelerate/Slow down
A/D: Move sideway
Space bar: Jump
Ctrl: Slide

** INTENTIONS **
What could a non-human character's perception look like?

** CREDITS **
Game Design / Level Design : Antoine Incorvaia
Sound Design : Damien Pochat-Cottilloux
Programming : Lucas Le Gouic

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#121Mood(Jam)3.79
#190Audio(Jam)3.53
#276Overall(Jam)3.52
#302Graphics(Jam)3.85
#350Theme(Jam)3.67
#448Fun(Jam)3.16
#520Innovation(Jam)3.00
#910Humor(Jam)1.91

Comments

Quadnozzle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:14am

I have to say, this game is a blast! I was immediately drawn into it. I love the simple tutorial being part of the game, you immediately learn all the mechanics right off the bat. The concept of a monsters perception was great, and was implemented well, definitely worth the download. Great job!

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Nice game. 928 was my best score. The camera effects worked well, it gave the feeling like you were some sort of frenzies monster. Well done!

Atridas says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:35pm

I kinda like the idea but the blurry image made it too dificult to play, for me :-(

Nevertheless, the audio really got me into the game. Nice :D

Komradus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:07pm

That was pretty slick. Interesting take on the theme, though at times I didn't feel like I was being chased as I seemed to get far enough ahead. Good stuff.

ajopart says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:33am

Great Job ! 5* on mood, graphics and sound

peterthehe says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:36am

Amazing graphics and audio, but perhaps to the detriment of performance. Good work!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:52am

The graphics of this game are stunning, the atmosphere, the sound. What a pity that it is a bit repetitive. Nice entry!!

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:54am

I really want to like this game, the visual effects are pretty amazing and definitely feel like a fun addition to what feels like an infinite runner game.

That said, cool visuals that kill performance aren't worth it. Firstly, the game was opening fullscreen, but somehow without focus. When I would click to give it focus, it would minimize. After getting it into a window, it lagged pretty badly before eventually just freezing.

RadStar says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:58am

Nice execution of the theme !
Maybe the blur affect is a bit too pronouced, I hardly see.
but after some try you get use to it.
Nice job.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:23am

Great graphics, sort of hard to tell how far ahead of the mob I was (honestly, when they caught me, I had no idea they were right behind me). I like the blurring but I think it should be toned down just a little bit.

Gaga says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:26am

Nailed the getting chased feeling.
But got a bit nauseous from the shifting view distance.

Caracole says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:28am

Thank you all for the feedback ! We are working on the performance issue and will upload a new version of the game (only improving performances, nothing new game-wise) very shortly :)

McFood says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:33pm

That was great. How long is the level? It seemed very impressively long. Excellent use of the blue to highlight shortcuts, it was intuitive and fun.

The sound really contributed to the mood, many games have you as a literal monster, but few make you feel it. Great job!

Caracole says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:54pm

@McFood: the level is procedurally generated so it's infinite ;)
Thank you for your feedback :)

jofra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:23pm

very cool game! nice feeling to it.
I felt the blur effect was a little high for me

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Great game! And one more procedural entry! =)

Did you do the Models?

Caracole says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:27pm

@Team Klappermann: No, the models are from the free "Open World Demo Collection" from Unreal Engine 4 Marketplace ;)

NikinCZ says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Unreal engine for LudumDare? That's incredible! However, good graphics and audio does not make perfect game.

Nichii says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:30pm

I loved it, the audio just makes things so intense, the concept the ideas are great. Would be cool if there were variations in the obstacles. :D

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:39pm

The you should opt out the graphics category ;-)
Otherwise it is unfair competition. Had to do the same for my game =(

justthestudio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:42pm

The game is very addictive, although after some time it becomse repetetive. It really makes you feel anxiety about getting caught :D

Pantoufle says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Really good game here!
The mood is perfect, I really had the sensations to be a monster chased by villagers thanks to great graphics and awesome sound design. The mechanics fit well, even if they are simple.
I think it's a great idea that fits the theme perfectly.
Great job!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Very interesting interpretation of the theme. Camera blur are bit too blury, other than that - great game.

Modoc73 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:58am

Saw the video to this and was like woah! Got to have a go at the. Then saw to download, and thought, hmm. Maybe not.
I am glad you put a video up! Looks like a great game. The idea of blurring so you can't really tell what is coming added a real nice mood to it. Well Done!

duskpn says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:19am

Finally found a game made in UE4!
Really nice graphics and I like how you made the tutorial part of the game. Really good job!

lebrokholic says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:40am

OMG, I love this graphics! You are definitely talented people. Hope to play more such a great games

Loutrattitude says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:47am

Hey, can you make a Mac version please? I'm curious about the audio quality. Did you used an audio engine for it or is it just managed with blueprints?
Thanks.

colinn says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:52am

I thought this game was really well done. There was this old PC game I played (or I think it was PC) named something along the lines of Deadly Creatures...but that isnt it. I really liked that game and the sound from this really evoked how I felt when playing that game. Man, I really wish I could remember the name of that PC game.

Anyways, this was very well done, although in some sections I feel I was unjustly stuck ... but its also because I wasn't playing well and was unable to recover :)

Zampi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:23pm

I'm realy like this game. So mood and atmosphere

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:21pm

This is like temple run but way cooler and way more intense. You really nailed the feeling of being hunted. 5 stars on graphics and mood.

Yrr says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Exciting and beautiful game, although often I couldn't see obstacles until I'd hit them.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:53am

Nice entry. Graphics and audio are really good! Well done! ;)

superfreak says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:49am

AMAZING take on the theme with some great game-play. Others have found the blur difficult but I thought it added a lot to the mood and feel of the game. Brilliant job!

Oct 8, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Fun game! I included it in part 31 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/ZV7CU8j_StI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]