Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Guard

by Techblogogy - Compo Entry

This game was made in less than 24 hours
You are a servant, who protects a dungeon full of treasure from filthy humans. Your game goal is to protect the dungeon for as long as possible

Controls:
- WASD: Move
- Mouse: Look
- Left Mouse Button: Attack
- Right Mouse Button: Monster Vision

Monster Vision - allows you to see Human footsteps, but slows you down.

Edit 1:
Speliing misatakes are intensionol, cus orcs cunt spell prorprly

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#234Audio3.20
#400Graphics3.21
#529Theme3.31
#561Mood2.86
#612Innovation2.77
#650Humor2.28
#699Overall2.87
#720Fun2.66

Comments

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:59am

Looks excellent. Must have been lots of work to get it running that nicely.

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:00am

I walked around forever finding noone.

madjackmcmad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:00am

Music! Good stuff here, if a bit simple. One of the guys kited me all over the damn dungeon and still got away with the treasure, 10/10 for true adventure realism. Fine work.

jorgemoag says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:01am

The game is fun and interesting. Well done!

bbqbaron says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:03am

I probably overestimate the difficulty of 3d, so I may be overly impressed, but way to spring for it! It's a core concept that I'd play; the game as delivered just seemed a little spare.

+ music
+ dungeon environment

- attack detection was a little finicky, which seems picky but bugged me given that it's one of the very few mechanics
- lack of enemy interaction can obviously get a little stale

Aurel Bílý says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:16am

Nice game. Could use a lot more polish.
- the monster vision is too … green, makes it hard to see a lot, and the footsteps are barely visible - maybe change it to a path in the air, like following the smell?
- it's hard to navigate the dungeon, have a map?
- too dark, low contrast
- the humans AI is kinda silly - you hit them, it only makes them go towards a chest faster
- no instruction in game
...
But I liked the music :)

Leopoldine says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Nice work, 3D is always impressive.
Keep working on it ; )

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:42pm

I could not find the goal of the game, but good mood. Well done.

increpare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:52pm

full-screen button doesn't work for me on safari/osx, and mouse cursor doesn't lock, which makes turning difficult

mceier says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Had problems with moving (on Linux, dunno about other platforms)... character never stopped after pressing W.

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Good graphics, but the music doesn't really fit the game in my opinion. Also it would be great if there was some sort of map or other tool to ease navigation around the dungeon.

snooze82 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:31pm

I got lost :D

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:31pm

The right-click to see footsteps idea was neat. Lack of ability to invert mouse look made the game really difficult to play, though.

TerinHD says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:24am

Human took everything then walked through a wall. :(

The life of Orc #29. Great work!

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:47am

I had a bit of trouble with this one... there's a typo in the intro screen, which it took a second to get rid of. The humans don't seem to react to my bat, other than moving faster towards the treasure. Maybe add in a noise when they're hit so you can tell when you're making contact? The music and graphics were impressive though, and the idea was solid.

nwdg says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Nice music, movement a bit too fast for me but still looks good :)

fubenalvo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:47pm

This game needs faster combat. I hit them 100times and nothing happened, or maybe after 30 they just disappeared. More enemies, shorter combat, and this will be fun. :)

Yeah, and the enemies can run faster than me. That was strange... I'm the monster, right? :D

Reccy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:19pm

It's impressive that this was made within 24 hours, but the mouse controls a bit floaty which it makes it hard to hit the enemies. Also, it's a bit difficult to see the footprints with monster vision. Still a cool game though!

mmango says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Nice game! The graphics reminded me of 90's shooters, which matched well with the dungeon atmosphere. I enjoyed the music, as it kept things light and retro. It might not have matched the dungeon location completely, but eerie music would've made the experience even more claustrophobic. Gamepla-wise, the humans were hard to kill and quite fast, and it was pretty hard to move around. But for 3d, I know things are hard, so nice job!

The humans actually jump scared me a few times haha. In the beginning of one of my play-throughs, I turned around to see a figure without a face.

StaNov says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Did you really make the music all by yourself? It's very profesional :)

Excelent graphics! Textures, lightning - cool, cool :)

I don't know if i got it right. I found a human, smashed him with bat and then he dissapeared. Did he die? Did he respawn? Did he go through wall? I found only one of them, then only footsteps.

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:00pm

For 24h it's not bad, but those are some seriously floaty orcs, I got a bit dizzy with the sweeping rotations and floor made of icy rock (or so it felt)

guoboism says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Like the idea of monster vision. The feeling of tracking foot step is really fun!

glerikud says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:18pm

It took too much time to find one victim for my baseball bat (even with magic vision on). However the game looks good and the music was pleasant.

dollarone says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Awesome stuff - makes me want to learn Unity (or some other 3d engine). Game looks and plays fantastic. Would be great to be able to kill the adventurer. Music was nice. I actually liked that there is no map, I mean, would you really expect Orc #29 to have a map?:)

dancingmad says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:43am

Nice gameplay!

Chris M says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 6:56am

I like the idea of jumping from tracking mode to combat mode, although tracking was too difficult (barely found any footprints and the target moved to quickly) and combat was a little frustrating (ended up like a Benny Hill show with me chasing after a guy repeatedly whacking him with little effect).

Oct 19, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Neat game, couldnt find any people though. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/sWM7EbBXpJg

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]