Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Peace is a lie!

by komjaur - Jam Entry

Highscore isnt working right now.

Note:Every object is destroyable and blow up for pieces.

STORY:
Johnny was pilot and he was living on the island where everybody lived in peace and harmody

One day Johnny went flying and had mental breakdown...


OBJECTIVES:

1 . DESTROY AS MANY OBJECTS YOU CAN BEFORE TIME RUNS OUT.
2 . COLLECT FLYING OBJECTS.
3 . DON'T CRASH THE PLANE.


CONTROLS
LEFT MOUSE BUTTON - SHOOT BULLETS
RIGHT MOUSE BUTTON - SHOOT ROCKETS
MIDDLE MOUSE BUTTON - ROTATE VIEW
MOUSE - TO MOVE PLANE
V - CHANGE VIEW

Before giving low rating on theme , think what is definition of monster?
(Im not good at describing things)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#388Fun(Jam)3.24
#542Graphics(Jam)3.37
#599Overall(Jam)3.13
#652Audio(Jam)2.17
#715Humor(Jam)2.42
#821Innovation(Jam)2.63
#854Mood(Jam)2.66
#1074Theme(Jam)2.11

Comments

komjaur says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:55am

I upload other verisons and fix highscore later .

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:06am

I liked the visuals of the game. The plane was difficult to control and it wasn't immediately apparently what I was supposed to do. Once I figured it out though, it worked pretty well. Good job!

komjaur says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:16am

i tried hard to make controls playable

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:42am

Not quite fit the theme it think. But i like planes, so good job.

shiroookami says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:47am

Overall the game was well done. Not sure how it fits the theme, but still a good game.

Obvious_San says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:47am

Not really the theme, but it is fun to play :) Music would be really nice! And some engine-sounds.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:48am

im normally really not into 3dgames but this one is really nice! i love the polygon island!
A really nice game to relax :)

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:48am

my review has five stars in every column but 4 stars overall why because it can be buggy i died just while fling around can when i hit a pickup i exploded but still great game

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:52am

I thought the usage of the theme was fine! A figurative monster. I couldn't seem to destroy anything without running into things, but it was fun flying around!

Z

kakarotsan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:55am

Doesn't run in Linux. It just says "Unity Web Player | dare"

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:00am

I don't think this was really the mark. The theme seemed hard to go figurative with, but there was only 1 paragraph that exclaimed you to be the "monster".

That being said I had a lot of fun playing this! Am I supposed to explode when flying into bullets/rockets/additional time? I don't think the controls were too hard, I enjoyed this :)

Unept says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Nice, fun little game. I don't quite get the theme tie-in, but had a blast playing it!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Not bad. I had a few times where I seemed to just bust apart when flying through a pickup... as though I actually collided with it.

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Fun fast flying and shooting things sim. I do love how I pick up a bonus collectible and then crash into it while picking it up.

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Yeah, I don't get "you're a monster" vibe here, though I understand the idea. Part of that is a slightly ridiculous premise: why did a plane on ever-peaceful island even had weapons? Then again, the game itself is fun enough. Having collision on rings around bonuses is a particularly evil touch, took me a few deaths to figure it out :)

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:26am

Reminds me of old DOS games, I had fun playing this, not really fits the theme, but it's good.

randomhuman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Fun when you have rockets, but when you run out everything is too hard to destroy. I blew when trying to collect more rockets a couple of times as well.

adsilcott says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Fun game. The plane was difficult to control but I had a lot of fun blowing things up. I think the game fits the theme as you are the monster, terrorizing this town.

Darkflint says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:03am

It looks nice, but i always explode without understand why. and bullets doesnt seem to do their work, got only a few zeppelins with rocket.

ponywolf says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:45pm

I really liked the explosion effect and the graphics as a whole. A bit hard to control.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]