Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

de-monstration

by aprotasenya - Compo Entry

de-monstrate if you choose
or don't

Fix:
- had to fix the win/lose state

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#187Humor3.37
#222Theme3.76
#235Mood3.33
#288Graphics3.43
#475Audio2.70
#520Innovation2.91
#570Overall3.02
#579Fun2.85

Comments

IndigoWolf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Really nice art and funny little story, I enjoyed it!

JackDegree says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Really love the drawing!
The story is touching too, if I had kids I'd have them play it :)

ccglp says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:51pm

I laughed when the monster plays the guitar, nice job :)

Jod says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:48pm

I did not de-monstrate! I crushed their puny little guitars!

Loved it :D

Deadpan-Gamez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Amazing art for such little time really enjoyed it! :-)

frokes says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Hm, nice art style and story but the collision is rather frustrating. Would also benefit from the ability to hit downwards and upwards. Still a nice game!

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Pros:
I Really liked how you built the tutorial into the game.
Good graphic style.
Liked the eyes following your mouse cursor.
I liked that you had to hold the click to attack, it made it feel far more tactile.

Cons: (two very minor bugs)
Sometimes the depth of the character is wrong and it kinda brakes the immersion.
Managed to get out of the map and walk around.

I really enjoyed this and I think it is a really solid entry.

zillix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:25am

very cute! I was impressed with how the instructions were integrated into the game world.

rednowall says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:55am

cool game

Eingya says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:22am

Hmm, the shift key doesn't do anything for me...

Caspila says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:22am

I liked it, but i think it could be a little shorter for what it is. Good job though, I liked the art, the story and that you cam play the instrument with your creepy hands - nice touch.

Arnage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:40am

I would have expected another ending after playing all guitars and not smashing anything/anyone, (expect for the required bushes) is there something else you have to do to properly de-monstrate yourself?

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:48am

@EVERYONE: Thanks for playing, rating AND commenting! That's huge.

@Eingya: Shift should shift everything else you can do (starting with running).

@Arnage: I am not 100% sure, but it seems smth's working wrong with playing music. Sorry for that.
But a friend of mine said he was walking and chirping all over the place and de-monstrated successfully.

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:59am

Man, I love this - violent and funny:)

t4u says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Going around smashing random things? Nah.

MoreRPG Team says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Good tutorial and idea!

Shina69 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:48pm

It was a simple and original sketchy game. Love the fact you can whistle and play the guitar at the same time xD or you can just go mad and smash everyone around you until they refugee into the castle and tell their kids! It wasn't the most brilliant one but it sure was amusing.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Nice looking simple game

charliecarlo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:04pm

This is surreal and funny, I enjoyed it. I like the monster design. I played through twice, the second time trying to tickle everyone into the castle, but the two blokes in the top right corner absolutely refused to have any of it, so I wasn't able to finish the game like that.

The depths at which things are drawn are all screwy, it bothered me. For example, losing your legs behind a text box but still seeing your torso, or seeing people's faces through your own face.

MrTwister says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Cute entry! Loved the idea, the game mechanic and the execution.
Graphics and SFXs are really well done.

The "tutorial" chars are rendered over the monster though, so it looks a bit weird when you pass under them, but collision/layering issues are just a detail. I also found the "endless-chirping" bug but it kinda fixed itself by playing the guitar, lol.

I really enjoyed this entry. Well done, mate!

General says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Please, check my video review: https://youtu.be/Ey3lKehbPVI
Your game is at 23:50

On the second run I understood how to whistle, lol :D

Daukan says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:25am

I liked most of the drawing even if it became a bit too scabby with the castle. You could have made the game a bit bigger i believe.

rodobodolfo says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:36am

Nice art and humour. The dialogue was fun and I liked how you could be a friendly monster. Good work!

Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Nice game. :) Cute drawings, I had fun. Fits the theme. :)
Somehow I didn't try right-clicking...
Well done!

Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:15pm

hahahah, really fun! great drawing, and very humoristic game. The best part is to make the monster sings, hahaha

Quetzakol says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Not bad ! The art style is interesting not very beautiful. It was funny

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Right-clicking would always bring up the context menu on the Mac, so I don't know if the webplayer is setup to disable it, but it makes it hard to sing to all the denizens. Thought it was a pretty simple game. Found squishing the round citizens oddly satisfying.

Oct 18, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Couldn't get bast the tree bashing! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/VOSoNttI06o

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]