Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Werewolf Can Always Lie

by Laddo D - Compo Entry

***THIS GAME CONTAINS FLASHING LIGHTS. DO NOT PLAY IF YOU ARE SENSITIVE TO FLASHING LIGHTS****

***THE GAME STILL TAKES A WHILE TO LOAD EVEN AFTER THE BAR FILLS UP! YAY WEBGL***


DON'T FORGET: THE WEREWOLF CAN ALWAYS LIE

There's a werewolf among the villagers! Trap the werewolf in a lie and shoot them with your gun and save the day and be a hero!

But maybe.... the real monster is you? (whoa spooky) (you're not the real monster, the real monster is the werewolf)

Each villager can say multiple things! Mouseover them a couple times to get the full story!

Mouseover - Interrogate villagers
Click - Shoot villager

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#57Graphics4.16
#84Mood3.74
#169Innovation3.51
#206Overall3.49
#259Audio3.16
#293Fun3.27
#459Theme3.41

Comments

Chronodrax says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:34am

I survived 10 days x) 3 drunk and 2 butchers was too hard for me: I hesitated between two of them and the werewolf was a 3rd one O.o
It's a good take on the werewolf classic game in a solo version :) Nice graphics too!
All the waiting after shooting and before the next day helps setting the mood the 1st days but slows the game afterwards.

Mano says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:36am

I survived 12 nights, good job.

ehtd says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:04am

Cool game, good job

notajetski says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:13am

Well done. It took me a bit to figure out that the villagers could say different things. I did find it funny that characters would come back even after I shot them a couple times :)

andyman404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:38am

Nice artwork and music in this logic/deduction game.

YerghaizVerot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:42am

The screenshots look good, but for some reason this game in particular crashes firefox every time I try to run it.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:43am

Survived 9 days, didn't realize there was a drunk different from normal villagers until I saw the comments below (I pulled the trigger too early once I saw him accuse two different people of being the werewolf.

The presentation is really good; I couldn't tell if the levels were random or planned, but I got a few levels where the werewolf accused the priest or vice versa that made it easy. My only real complaint though was getting the statements to disappear so I could see if there were other messages. I would mouse off them and sometimes they would linger for a while.

Despite that, awesome job distilling "One Night Werewolf" into a single player game.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:50am

Very creative and really awesome art

monetai says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:00am

very good game, but I'am not very good at those games... i lost night 4..

ken says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:01am

Survived 18 nights! I got confused at first because the text box covered over their name because they were all at the bottom for me, so I thought what the person was saying was actual just their name and if they were the werewolf or not. The only issue I had was that the text boxes covered over the names and other text boxes. Other than that it was very fun!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:05am

Maybe I'm missing something but it seems like just pure luck, and I never got the right person after trying for about 10 times -- wait, I read instructions to mouse over several times and I did better. Game bets better the longer it goes on, with new characters appearing when I thought I had seen it all. Got to round 11 and died only caused clicked by mistake. Good job.

SvenFrankson says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:23am

Seem to have some issues with Unity Web Player, am I the only one ? Like blank blue boxes on the side, or clic targeting another villager than the one I'm over. Or did I just misunderstood something ?

Pheonise says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:32am

Good take on the theme! Love the art, too.
The delay after picking someone and the next round is a bit much, but overall a pretty good game!

cgmorton says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:45pm

I wish I knew what 'lies frequently' meant exactly. As far as I can tell the drunks' info is useless, so I ended up dying on a round where the priest and villager told me nothing except that they were both safe, and the three drunks told me nothing at all.

TLansdale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Really enjoyed this, well done.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Cool concept. Great solo-implementation for the Werewolf game. Like the art style, too. Very dynamic. I had to play the Unity Player version, which had some camera issues (running IE on Windows 10), but I suspect that wasn't your deployment of choice. Excellent entry.

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Really cool idea, 3 drunks and 2 butchers got me ;)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:25am

The first levels are too easy, imo. All you have to do is keep mousing over people until two of them say that the werewolf is the same person. Still, fantastic art and a pretty well-executed game mechanic.

wooltech says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Interesting take on the card game. Graphics are great.

hrd_games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Love this game. Feels like a take on the old Riddle of the Two Paths (one always lies, one always tells the truth). Very pretty too.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Very cool game, really enjoyed the music and the art style.

Sparrow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Made it to 16 nights. Very fun, would love to see even more characters.

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:59am

Very nice and clever puzzle! I survived 11 nights. Thanks for making it!

FistBumpGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:36am

Interesting concept and nice touch with the different villagers, but could be spiced up a little.
The art style was interesting.

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:18pm

nice graphics but not my type of game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]