Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Even Monsters Get Lonely

by CluelessGames - Compo Entry

Even Monsters Get Lonely

Description:
You don’t see many monsters around nowadays, so for monsters, companionship can be hard to find. In this game you play as the lonely Wormy, a large slug-like monster who desperately seeks friendship. You must seek out people to befriend; chase them down; knock on their doors, and greet them with your monstrous embrace. You see, Wormy needs “friendship” to reproduce. If he makes enough friends he’ll be able to carry on his species so they too can make friends and never be lonely again.

Controls:
Movement - WASD/Arrow Keys
Attack/Hit - Space
Restart Level- R
Mute/UnMute - M

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#45Audio3.82
#109Fun3.65
#114Humor3.59
#189Overall3.53
#194Theme3.82
#241Graphics3.53
#315Innovation3.24
#1981Coolness28%

Comments

namrog84 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:11am

I made some friends! Wormy isn't lonely anymore!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:20am

Cool game, but it does get frustrating very fast. I also don't know if I was supposed to explode or if that was a bad ending.

CluelessGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:23am

You are meant to explode so that your babies may enter the world and be able to make friends and never be lonely again. Until they are lonely again. :P

Artefale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:30am

greate, fun is here

Somfin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:33am

Fun concept, funny execution, unbearable wrist strain from the tappy controls.

CluelessGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:38am

Yeah, sorry, may cause RSI :P.

Resonious says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:05am

This is actually pretty challenging. Also engaging. Seeing all the people come out of the houses makes me want to eat them all at once so badly.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:13am

Omg, the sound effects were hilarious!

NexusBreaker says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:37am

the game is funny but to get a human is a little bit difficult and the music is awsome

jelch says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:20am

Great audio.

dsoft20 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:27am

Nice, the controls are a bit strange until you get used to.
I really like the gameplay, simple but very entertaining.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:08am

Nice compo! Maybe, you should have some kind of arrow to show you where the village. I've got lost sometimes

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]