Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Loved Ones

by Stending - Jam Entry

You're a family man, waiting for something interesting, gambling to change his everyday life.
-----------
Click to grab a ticket
Click to scratch it
---------------------------
Code : Stending
Art : V-K
Music : F3LIZ

---------------------------
This game was made in sorrow and joy.
Many things aren't like we would like them to be, but we managed to reach the end, the result feels pretty good!

/!\/!\/!\The major problem of the game is the repetitive aspect. It's quite intentional, the point is to do a stupid thing and ignoring the consequence, but we wanted the game to evolve on more aspects to distract the player and to give more impact to the action, but we didn't manage to add enough stuff. Maybe we'll work soon on a Post-Jam version! /!\/!\/!\

I hope that everyone will get the meaning of the game and the link with the theme. Everything started from there.

Thank You for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#88Innovation(Jam)3.77
#97Audio(Jam)3.77
#115Mood(Jam)3.82
#145Graphics(Jam)4.19
#206Overall(Jam)3.62
#287Theme(Jam)3.75
#685Humor(Jam)2.51
#836Fun(Jam)2.64

Comments

PixelPerfect says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Your current game link is a 404! D:

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Wow! Even though there wasn't a lot to do, the simple way the story was presented was fantastic! The music and sound effects were perfect. Really great job!

Benjamin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:14pm

The gameplay is indeed repetitive but the core idea is great and the execution is very good too. Maybe you could make it shorter. Some time it feels like the photo flash but nothing changed.

Reccy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:14pm

I really like the story portrayed by the game. I'm a monster. And I lost. Well done!

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Great job all of you! The progression up until the ending really drives the theme home!

Togimaro says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:18pm

An amazing interpretation, simple game but with fantastic atmosphere, great job!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Very good take on the theme and neat realization. The idea of making a simple gameplay and invest more time in polish and narration is a cool strategy, it works well here as the game looks perfectly achieved. You even offer us an end scene! Nice!

The main complaint I would have is the rhythm of the game. Somehow I think the balance might have been done better, maybe by accelerating step by step, the speed at which you grab and scratch tickets. That would have had a kind of frenetic feel. Or, if you don't wanted that kind of acceleration, then I think the game should have been shorter because, at one point, I found myself scratching endlessly, staring at the photo waiting for a change, and finally when it changed, I sometimes didn't even notice the difference. Less photo steps, bigger photo, shorter game, might have improved my experience. That's subjective of course ^^

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:53pm

This was an interesting exercise though without any semblance of choice it is hard to call it a game... still I enjoyed the graphics and the audio. Maybe it could have been shorter? It definitely got repetitive fast!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:06pm

After scratching endless amounts of cards I finally figured out why :D

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:04pm

This is a very good game. Please let me know if you do a post-jam version!

walaber says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:47pm

really clever idea, and making the player do the main action makes this much stronger than just a liner narrative. great job!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Nice take on the theme! Also, that's a pretty aggressive VO :D

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:19am

Very tasteful handling of a serious issue (particularly one that I feel very strongly about), the ending in particular was well-planned. Making the player carry out the actions adds to their weight as some other people have mentioned, although I'm a little unsure how I never ended up running out of those scratchcards. My assumption is that the useless paper cards are merely symptomatic of the real issue happening off-screen, since I thought it odd that infinite free scratchcards were bankrupting us. It was presented well on all fronts - musically, graphically and thematically. Very well done, keep it up!

JackDegree says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:33am

Interesting concept!

jk5000 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:25am

A simple and clever idea. Likes the music and the way you are telling the story. Well done.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Very neat concept! It was a bit hard to see or understand the changes in the pictures sometimes, but the overall idea is clear.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:16pm

It was a refreshing take on the theme, a bit repetitive and could be faster paced, visuals where nice and the sound was sweet.

rodobodolfo says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:27am

Very well polished, everything looked, sounded and played well. I particularly liked the scratch card credits, that was a nice touch.

boardtobits says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 5:58pm

A good story well told. I would love to just see a series of the pictures, to what was changing from set to set. I also liked that you changed up the art on the tickets to keep things from getting too stale. It was a *little* repetitive by the end, but it also felt addictive to see what would happen, so mission accomplished.

nassi says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 8:13pm

How can I be losing when I'm winning so much?!

Really well put together and polished, although that I agree with @SoulGame in that some acceleration of the gameplay would've been nice.

pixzleone says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:52pm

It was a really cool concept and graphics were really nice, music aswell, though it was pretty boring.
If you add more stuff i think it could be really fun! Good job!

Pusty says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 11:41pm

I love it,but the only thing I think is kinda confusing is the fact that the situation worsens even if I made profit but thats just a little thing. Overall awesome job!

Patomkin says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 9:38am

The idea that you're winning most of the time, but somehow still lose is... awkward. Other than that, a very good social take on the theme.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:14am

Great artwork. Strange usage of the theme, but I liked this little project. Music increases mood - something between absurd and tragedy. The gameplay is really simple, but efficient. A fun entry. Thank you ++

jofra says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Very cool entry! Awesome take on the theme, cool little story and gameplay mechanic with very well done graphics.

Would like to see has the story goes on the mood changing a little bit (maybe getting a bit more dark) to give more emphasis to the addiction and the story giving it a stronger and heavier mood. Because the gameplay can be a little repetetive and the changing mood would help to break that repetetion. - this is just a suggestion and me being picky X)

Gj!

folex70 says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 5:52pm

good game mechanics

hexagore says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Wow this was dark. The game might not have much to it but it's beautifully executed and a really original (and more lateral) twist on the theme.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:42pm

I really love your concept.
Excellent work!

Vladirien says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:56am

Nice entry, loved the mood in particular. The endless scratching while the family gets worse and worse. Good job!

dcolgan says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:11pm

No need to point out the repetitive nature and such. That is obvious. Obviously a compelling story telling technique. The drawings and design is fantastic. A small problem I guess you might call it is that due to the tedium I wanted to lose more times and see the effects so the story could advance and be done with it, but it feels morbid because of the nature of what is happening. It is a good way to communicate an ideal though.

Krunoslav says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Very nice music, I loved that the music was changing to sad music when the things go bad.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]