Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

DAMNED

by NickZangus - Jam Entry

It's not evil, but the instinct that moves you,
the deep impulse that connects the man and the beast... Survive!
And your survival will depend on your victims' death...

This is the fate of a monster...


Twitter: https://twitter.com/NickZangus
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NickZangusDev
Email: contact@nickzangus.com


Credits:

Song "Gathering Darkness" by Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Font "Celtic Narrow" by Peter Rempel
http://www.prfonts.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#12Mood(Jam)4.46
#14Theme(Jam)4.38
#23Graphics(Jam)4.64
#87Overall(Jam)3.87
#434Fun(Jam)3.18
#519Innovation(Jam)3.01
#877Humor(Jam)2.04

Comments

Rongon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Looks great. Style reminds me of Darkest Dungeon and Mike Mignola artwork.
Keep up the great work :)

PixelPerfect says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:09pm

I tried to play and got a blank page

Rongon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:14am

Theme, mood and graphics get 10 stars out of 5 :)
I loved the game. Really gives the experience of invincible monster, lurking and hunting its prey.
As i said, superb art style.

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Realy impressive, and disturbing. The scary mood is perfectly done and I the introduction scène is perfect. I just wish there would be more !

glerikud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Great atmosphere, graphics and sounds. I had fun playing it. Nice work. :)

VividReality says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:45pm

I love the paper diorama style graphics. I also enjoyed the 'mood mood'. cool game!

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:38pm

The graphics is impressive. I love the two modes of hunt, it could be more separated. I did not understand the voice though. Great job!

fullmontis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Wow, the mod in this game is devastating. The polish you put into this game is amazing, great job. I just wish it was a little more complex gameplay wise, but everything else make up for it easily.

Dikkop says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Really nice graphics!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Best looking game so far!
However the gameplay is a bit flat and easily exploitable by continous leaping.

How many people worked on this? If you were only one why not join compo with this?

Keep up the amazing work!

NickZangus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Thank you all!

@Team Klappermann

I've worked alone on this project, I have decided to not participate in the compo for two main reasons:

1 - Time: in three days I could barely make the game playable, in two days it would be impossible for me;

2 - Code: in a past Ludum Dare, some people stole my code and published the game on the Play Store/iTunes market;

For these reasons I participate only to the JAM.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Great art style and atmosphere.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:26pm

The graphic is AMAZING! Damn! Really great! Well done! ;D
The gameplay is simple but nice!
It's not so deep.. And the sound of the voice is barely listenable..
BTW Great Entry! :D

mooncalf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Art + shaders were used very effectively to create a YATM mood.

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:27am

Really really cool and the art style is fantastic. This is such an awesomely polished entry. Made me feel like wanting to play a red riding hood murder sim as the wolf, being pursued by a huntsman :p

dancingmad says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Wow this game is really gorgeous, and the atmosphere is breathtaking =)

If you made a complete game, I would totally play it!

SeaMonster131 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Looks great! Nice graphics, sounds and amtosphere! And this head on the ground when I hit the girl..

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Great mood! But girls, who walk through all the trees, are quite annoying)

tweedle says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Welp, I'm gonna have nightmares tonight!
This was very well done. The narration really adds to the overall feel. Graphics are cool. I was a big fan of the "search" mechanic as well.
Is there a way to die at all?

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Hey! Thanks for making a game.

What we liked:
Really solid and inventive art, great sound and music design, very on point with mood and theme for the jam, intelligent tutorial within the game itself. The atmosphere reminded me of the film Sleepy Hollow.

What could be improved:
A bit more variety? Maybe some element of trying to escape from people trying to hunt you down. Minor point though. Good job!

Meta-link says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Totally awesome game. Really nice graphics and mood. The gameplay is a bit repetitive, but as the game is short it's okay. Good job !

WASDMagician says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Theme, graphics and mood are all great, the gameplay is really repetative though and it seems like there is no real way to lose.

Aun says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Woaaaouhh ! The atmosphere of the game is fantastic : I loved the graphics and the sounds. Well done :)

Rocketship says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:36am

Disturbing, atmospheric and gorgeous. The gameplay is secondary to the mood here but the mood and atmosphere is very well crafted. The search mechanism is a good one to have because otherwise the game could be frustrating, but I feel it's a bit too powerful. At least I would've liked searching for the pray a bit longer each time. Still excellent job!

taaboo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:38am

The mood of this game wasgood. I liked the bilboard art in a 3d world. Felt good to play and it would have been better if there was a more clear objective.

BeardyBard says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:45am

Great atmosphere of game.
I killed 3 people and then got lost :( in the wood. I consider game has a huge potential.

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Oh my gosh that was amazing... so much polish!

DeepBlueJeer says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Very nice! I loved the way the girl was trying to flee

echokain says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Great graphics and really nice atmosphere. I found the tree collisions were a bit frustrating at times when moving through the forest. I really wanted to see a bit more depth to the gameplay. Like having an objective of the type of prey or a stats gauge etc. (i.e. some limitations to the play. Loved the voiceover work too.

sergicollado says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:43pm

I enjoy to mutch the atmosphere

lemer says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Great gameplay and awesome atmosphere. It's really funny to catch helpless victims. Good work.

shawn42 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:52am

wow. beautifully done.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:52am

The atmosphere is just amazing!

Awpteamoose says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:30am

It's kind of annoying that there was no ending of any kind.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Outstanding graphics!

flokitall says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:39pm

The graphics and mood are top-notch, well done! The woman's voice adds a lot to the experience and makes the game even more disturbing.

Awesome, awesome work!

Grahhhhh says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:15am

To be honest, I had a real hard time understanding the dialog and I felt cheated by that because I was captivated by the game. The style was amazing, the interaction was fantastic, all around, I truly enjoyed the mechanics of this!

GaTechGrad says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:51am

Really not much to it. Click to show red dots, eat the girl, rinse, wash, repeat. Is there any actual objective or ending to the game?

nwdg says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:43am

Good looking and awesome voice acting!

Chris M says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:14am

Completely agree with the others here, you've nailed that horror monster feel perfectly. Chasing fleeing maidens through the forest was uneasy and compelling, great work.

Of course there was no objective here (perhaps due to time) but what there was was magnificent.

disperse says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Great artwork and mood, nice job.

Zeriver says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:03pm

My god, it's soo good. Graphics audio and mood are over the top! With these mad skills you should work in game industry (if you aren't already). Hah, i will check your earlier entires (when i get time) for sure.

randoman says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:03am

This atmosphere is perfect! I missed subtitles because I could not fully understand what was being said, but on the other side, not having subtitles helped get me more immersed...

wooltech says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Light on actual gameplay, but that hardly matters - very atmospheric.

bombjack says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:17pm

the atmosphere, the art, the sounds, everything is amazing.
A little repetitive. could be improve by adding hunters at some points.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:40pm

This is one of the best games I've played so far this LD, art was beautiful, sound was spot on (girl's weeping and cries for help were chilling) and the mechanics were fun and innovative. Seriously great entry, thanks for participating :D

radmars says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Nice style and execution. Created a nice atmosphere, but the gameplay felt very one note. All you do is kill helpless women randomly in the woods. Felt like this was going somewhere then it just ends. Would love to see this expanded!

Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:24am

There isn't a lot of game play here, the but the environment and atmospherics are top-notch. Amazing theme loyalty, I felt very much like the monster. Nice job!

Sep 8, 2015 @ 4:29am

Nice mood. Felt like a real monster!
Good job

nassi says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:54am

The real monster might've been me for going after those defenseless girls with such drive. Cool aesthetic and the gameplay, while simple, feels good.

David Yates says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 5:01am

Great work on the graphics and atmosphere. Gameplay could use a bit more variety, and the voiceover could use (optional) subtitles (but then I have a thing about subtitles in games).

JackDegree says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 5:41am

Great art, really, and great effects!

Raspadsistema says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 8:23am

Very nice. At first was thinking of making something similar in atmosphere and gameplay, but seemed like too much work to make all the characters, you thought of the way to simplify it and still make it work well.

wallmasterr says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 6:40pm

looks realy nice, and grate sound track , I realy like sketched bilboarded tress, the way the look like ur pushing them out the way as u walk past them is awesome

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Horrible mood. Nice aesthetic. I think I will be haunted by this little girl and by her tears during a long long time. Sure you are a monster. Well done ++

local minimum says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Very good graphics indeed. And the effects, sound and visuals work very well together to build up a solid atmosphere. It only needs more game-play. Either by making it arcady by having a ferocious hunger or by having a large world with villages, mountains and what not to explore. Have humans react to people missing/slain. Stuff like that. A great starting point for a very interesting game though.

Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Pssst - you have been featured on todays INDIE SLAM JAM! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WLQHSlnSzqY

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 8:52am

amazing game!~
if there are some hunter or guard it may be more exciting and cool!

Oct 13, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Creepy, great graphics. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Ee0UBhVOJOc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]