Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The monster

by mrcdk - Jam Entry

Hello Ludum Dare people!

I made a VN! ... well... the engine... and, sadly for you, the script.

I'm participating in the jam because I used cc images and some code that I had written before while preparing this Ludum Dare.

I don't have the schedule saved, but I worked on this project like 5~6 hours a day. In total about ~24 hours.

The game is... short... like 5 min long! I wrote the "story" while adding new stuff, so it's really bad.

There is no sound, btw.

Expect a lot of typos... and maybe some bugs...

I hope I don't need to look at this code in two days... because I already forgot how everything ties together xD

Anyway, enjoy! And thanks for playing!

MrCdK

---

Credits:

- Sprites: http://sozai.hanabie.com/ta/ta.htm
- Backgrounds: http://lemmasoft.renai.us/forums/viewtopic.php?f=52&t=17302
- Font: http://openfontlibrary.org/en/font/carlito

Made with: snõwkit libs - Haxe

http://mrcdk.com

---

NOTE: If you want to run the game in fullscreen, start it before entering fullscreen!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#62Humor(Jam)3.95
#266Fun(Jam)3.43
#570Theme(Jam)3.40
#583Overall(Jam)3.15
#748Mood(Jam)2.81
#937Innovation(Jam)2.39

Comments

Jimbly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:03am

I got the Bad End, and then you made me feel bad, and I had to play it again. Good end.

shiroookami says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:05am

Oh the fourth wall breaks! Amazing game. It was fun to play through and the fourth wall breaks are hilarious. Fantastic job!

Brelx says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:08am

Best game I've played from the jam so far! It was a bit short, and had some typos as you mentioned, but it was really funny. The multiple endings were great too.

sararyCow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:10am

I have to admit you got me the first time and I had a bad ending :3.

A short experience but I like the art and the humor. Consider make it longer only if you plan to translate it to Japanese :P.

GagaPete says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:49pm

I love that humour. Got the good ending. That was the real day of the tentacle! xD

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:16pm

It is a jam entry, you can put a free sound, It would make game awesome. Bit hard to read, changing text background color might improve.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:20pm

OK, That was one of the funniest game I played today. Playing with the tropes of dating sim and japanese well known hmmm sexual weirdnesses was really a good idea.

Dianouille says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:23pm

I loved it ! I would have liked to interact more with the monster, still I had a great time following the story ! Good job ;)

Clodial says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:11am

I saw this, and I was like, "Oh no, someone didn't just", and then I started playing it, and I was like, "OH YES, SOMEONE REALLY DID"...

The part where he then talks about his tentacle, yo... I died...
Best of luck to ya :D I can't vote since I didn't make a game for the jam, but yeah!

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:31am

really enjoyed that.

cxsquared says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:44am

Really well done script. I actually really enjoyed this. It's also cool to see another Haxe game. I'm looking forward to digging through your source code.

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:36am

So, when is the LN coming out?

Reisen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:20am

Funny story, got the bad ending at the first time. Feature-wise, it's a well-done VN engine.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:46am

First LD33 game to make me laugh out loud, kudos for that! ;)

Manky says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:03am

The engine is very nice, and works pretty well! Very funny moments, I'm glad it didn't take itself too seriously. Would like to see more stuff with your engine.

el-pepi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:09am

I was afraid it was gonna be a very serious game, luckily I was wrong. Loved the humor. You just destroyed that fourth wall!

terop2 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:10am

you got points for humor..

randomhuman says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Funny stuff :) I like the rendered environments too.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:52pm

That was poetry.

kakarotsan says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:56am

Good job on finding those free resources. Wow!

Hilarious game. It made me LOL for real.

General says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Fun story! And I like how the dialogue goes on after The End.

The video reviews of the games I played: https://youtu.be/gAPMEoLs5yA
Your game is at 29:36

PixlWalkr says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Really nice VN game, I tried to get the good and the bad ending. had some laughs :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]