Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Plant II

by internetpaulicy - Compo Entry

Finally the sequel to Alien Plant from LD28.

You will find yourself in control of something otherworldly. You seem to be here to terraform the earth. For some reason the earthlings don't like you...

The control is really interesting if I do say so myself. Its fun to just walk around and see what the little guy can climb on. If you play at all try to walk over things as much as you can. Smashy-smashy :)

Its essentially a hold out game, survive until the timer is done for a secret message. I believe the build has a survival timer set to 4:44!

WASD + MouseAim + Leftclick to attack

Good luck.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#29Overall4.03
#31Fun4.00
#44Graphics4.21
#83Audio3.61
#84Mood3.74
#95Theme4.00
#193Humor3.35
#258Innovation3.33

Comments

zanenga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:21am

Love the powerfull lazer and sound fx! Nice job!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:43am

everything in this game just *feels* right. The laser is big and destructive, the movement feels stompy and imposing, and the particle effects coming off of crumbling buildings are oh-so-satisfying. A wonderful little game you've made.

haloguy397 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:44am

I love the Sounds and everything else! Camera could've been improved. 9/10 GG

ferdbold says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:45am

AWESOME. Best graphics so far, and nailed the "I'm a powerful robot fear me" mood, even if you're as slow as a granny on wheels. 5 stars for me.

zanenga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Hey! You commented in my game "Aye The Destroyer".

I'm just making sure that you know that you can move using WASD. I forgot to tell that in-game. It's now fixed and it should take care of most of the difficulty issue. If you could give me your updated thoughts I would be very glad.

Thank you!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:20pm

I did not realize that I'll come by and play again.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Very fun and solid game. I absolutely loved it, great job!

Deity says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:13pm

The robot's movements and destruction effects are done very well. It was very satisfying to move around the town firing the laser at everything.

My one suggestion would be to make the enemies a bit more visible or maybe having arrows at the edges of the screen pointing to where they're coming from.

Nice work!

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:56pm

This was a fun game! I liked how it played, I would love to play a more indepth version of this game :)

jsmars says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Very impressive game! Beautiful graphics and nice concept, great job! :)

TerinHD says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:57am

Sweet game! Really enjoyed it.

JHM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:28am

Cool :)

Coruja says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Very good sound FX and music, blends nicely with the game! Great job!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Loved it. Solid gameplay and design. I don't know if I caught your message correctly but to me it was like: Okay I'm the monster, but hey, I'm super environmentally aware, I destroy stupid building blocks in order to let Nature breath again. Sure, a few casualties will me made but everything comes at a cost!

Didn't manage to trigger the win condition, even tho I think I destroyed every piece of building. Nevermind, that way I could enjoyed the Game Over letters, falling over me like a bird crap on my noze. "Take this, you noob" that was super fun xD

Congrats!

snakezito says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Very good game. Nice job with the graphics and sound.
I found it a little bit hard to control the beam and move around, but otherwise a very good entry. Good Job.

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:47pm

The sound and the terra-forming beam was really cool. That I was moving around so slowly was really annoying, but I suppose that's the cost of being so powerful. It was also interesting how burning up things (or so it looked), made them green. I got a bit confused when I had turned all 9 blocks green and the game still continued as it said that the target was to bring down the city. I simply though the timer was the time I had to do it in, else I would loose. So the aim of the game could have been made a bit clearer. It was a good game though, I enjoyed beaming around.

colinn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:22pm

those legs

ArchBang says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Very satisfying entry. You've done the monster behaviour really rather well, it is a bit slow-moving though. Fun!

Maramasa says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Great visuals and audio. You really captured the heftiness and destructive power of the monster. Good job! :)

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:33pm

A little slow but cool, with nice graphics. Really good powerful feel to the monster

lycanpoet says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:35pm

The game is great love the mechanics on the lazer and the soundfx. There was a point were the sound sort of broke, but it came back after about 20 sec. Nice one.

jrhee says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:25pm

BZZZZZZ<BEOOBEOO>ZZZZZZZZZZZZ<URHHH>ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ<URHHH>ZZZZZZZ

Fun times- would be cool if there was a big stomping sound when it walks around!

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:28pm

I love the awkwardness of the laser as well as the monster as the gameplay was still fun and rather dynamic. Classical video-game/comic book feel about this. Great job!

bombjack says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:50am

Nice game. I personnaly would prefer the plant to move faster.

conormn says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Had a lot of fun playing this, everything felt really good. Loved the audio.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Turning the city into plants and evading the shooters is still fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]