Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

CthulhTunes

by DaleP - Compo Entry

Puny mortals know that the only way to appease the tentacled horror is to send a sacrifice to play it a song. The monster responds in kind, vibrating its tentacles to mimic the mortal's music. The ritual is complete when the mortal loses his mind from the sheer power of the monster's rendition of the song, and becomes its servant.

As the tentacled monstrosity, you can't let the mortals down by failing to reciprocate in the ritual. Play back the mortal sacrifice's constantly changing melodies to enslave his mind forever.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#78Audio3.63
#234Innovation3.38
#353Theme3.56
#414Humor2.83
#472Fun3.00
#494Graphics3.03
#543Mood2.90
#558Overall3.03

Comments

greysphere says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:21am

This is great. Fun take of the theme. Classic gameplay with a great twist, a recipe for success!

guoboism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:43am

Great concept. But I am no good on copying meledies

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:46am

Very cool. I like the synth sounds. You can also play chords with this instrument. Unfortunately my keyboard does not support to press all keys at once.
Cool graphics with the swinging tentacles and the subtle hints
I will follow you master and give you a good score.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:22am

Nice idea, little hard though (for no musical people) :)

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:31am

That was fun :-)

Andrew says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:36pm

I'm not terribly musically inclined so I found copying the song somewhat frustrating. I do appreciate the idea and the squiggling tentacles though.

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Loved the tentacle-music!

Dianouille says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:39am

Nice concept ! A little hard for me cause I'm not really good at copying music haha, but your game is really cool !

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:02pm

funny little game! nice musical take on the theme. I had more fun just playing around with the waving tentacles than anything else lol.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:08pm

I like this game, even though music-driven games are bit hard for me, heh.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Fun, but very strict. Sounds great

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:23am

A fun twist of the theme! Cthulhu music is the best!

P.T.A says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:03pm

this game is great i play for many minutes, really enjoyable the cthullutunes congratulations!

Jelinib says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:47am

Love the smooth wiggling of the tentacles. The contrast between the two instruments was great and created a mildly haunting ambiance.

Also nice hinting at what note is supposed to be played by angling the flute towards it! It was quite satisfying to finally turn the tables and make the mortal follow me instead, haha. Very clean game. Well done!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Hey, you also made a typing game (sort of) :D
And memory, and musical interval training.
Fun little game, I liked how in the end the mortal mimics the player. The eyes were a nice touch but I feel there could have been some more to the transformation of the mortal. Also, a lose condition might have helped to create more of a challenge.

walsh9 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 7:16am

Great twist on a simon-style game. I had a lot of trouble until I figured out the subtle hint of the flute direction.

peterthehe says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Nice game. Very polished.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]