Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Free Me, You Idiots!

by GBGames - Compo Entry

You're the personification of Evil.

Or you would be if you weren't trapped by the gods inside a magical tree.

But after millennia of waiting, you notice that you suddenly have some wiggle room, and you want to take advantage of it if it means coming back to defeat your enemies and ruling the way you wanted to in the first place.

You can use your Evil Energy to influence the nearby villagers. Make them doubt their faith, and they'll be more willing to take an interest in you.

Make them lose their faith, and you may gain a convert.

The more followers you have, the more Evil Energy you have to leverage. And when they pray to you (remember what that felt like?), you can use the energy of those prayers to grow your influence and eventually break free of your prison.

EDIT: Ported to Windows and Android. Here's a handy URL to explain how to install an app outside of the Google Play store: http://www.cnet.com/how-to/how-to-install-apps-outside-of-google-play/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#100Innovation3.69
#300Humor3.09
#320Fun3.23
#365Theme3.54
#432Overall3.17
#509Mood2.94
#702Graphics2.59

Comments

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Wow, nice lore. Really creative.

sapermysz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Sorry. It`s Linux only

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Very nice game!

FloatingGhost says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:12pm

can't run it

$ ldd gbgames-ld33-bin
libSDL2-2.0.so.1 => not found

$ sudo apt-get install libsdl2-2.0-0
libsdl2-2.0-0 is already the newest version.

magenta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:16am

Sorry, it didn't seem to want to run on my linux machine :/

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Nice. I like the feedback loop of getting more energy out of followers, then getting more followers out of energy. But I had already converted everyone when the red thing was only at 30 or so out of the 100 I needed. From then on all there was to do was chase villagers to call them back to my Tree of Evil and pray.

For those who are having problems with libsdl not being found, try this:
$ ln -s /usr/lib/libSDL2-2.0.so.* libSDL2-2.0.so.1
$ LD_LIBRARY_PATH=. ./gbgames-ld33-bin
(The game is looking for libSDL2-2.0.so.1 but even my bleeding edge Arch system only has libSDL2-2.0.so.0 installed.)

johnhattan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:36pm

The Windows version is working. This is a weirdly compelling game. It didn't start with much instruction, but figuring out what the heck was going on turned out to be part of the challenge. Enjoyed watching the story unfold.

Only complaint is that scrolling around the board was a little hard to do. Putting more stuff on the map would've made it easier to figure out where I am. Often I was looking at a completely green screen wondering if I was actually scrolling anywhere.

And the ending was amusing and satisfying. As I've said before, I like games that are fun for about five minutes and take about four minutes to play. You've pretty much covered that. Congratulations.

architect404 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:41pm

a unique and interesting concept. would benefit from some audio but good effort nonetheless!

johnhattan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:47pm

The Windows version is working. This is a weirdly compelling game. It didn't start with much instruction, but figuring out what the heck was going on turned out to be part of the challenge. Enjoyed watching the story unfold.

Only complaint is that scrolling around the board was a little hard to do. Putting more stuff on the map would've made it easier to figure out where I am. Often I was looking at a completely green screen wondering if I was actually scrolling anywhere.

And the ending was amusing and satisfying. As I've said before, I like games that are fun for about five minutes and take about four minutes to play. You've pretty much covered that. Congratulations.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:29pm

There's something so compelling about converting people to worship you oO xD

Kalm004 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:09pm

What a great game. I played it to the end and I enyoyed it. Great work!

kvanderlaag says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:16am

Good, solid entry. Windows port is working well. Controls are a little bit awkward - difficult to click on the little villagers while they're moving. Other than that, a neat mechanic.

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Come to me my minions! *insert evil laughter*
By the way, what does the fear do to the people?

GBGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:56pm

AzureAspect: unfortunately, nothing that matters. The villagers have a fear value that does get increased, but because I couldn't introduce combat like I wanted to, it doesn't do anything of value. I also thought about making it a way to make your followers pray harder, but this also got missed due to time constraints.

PIN34PPLE says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Hi GBGames, just saw your post on my game (Dreadwolf) and came to play yours. This is really good! I like the game and have fixed the download link if you are still interested to play my game :P

duskpn says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:52am

I really, really, REALLY like this idea. It's a little too easy, though, I had to keep only waiting for more villagers to spawn.

I'd love to play a post compo version!

MAnimal says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:50am

Walked thru to the end. It takes time to find what to do. Adding audio may improve feeling of the game.

HeyZeus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:24pm

I liked idea and thought the simple graphics really added to the game.

Darkflint says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Interesting game. And getting whorshipper is always good :D Some Music would have been really good, but still a good game.

TangyBananas says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:48pm

DAT ENDING

the31 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:07am

Awesome idea, wish there were more mechanics. After figuring out how it worked it was just a matter of waiting for enough guys to come along.

David Yates says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Really fantastic idea for a game. Loved the humour as well. The gameplay was novel, but a little lacking in areas, though that's understandable for a Ludum Dare game. You've got a solid core though, and that's what's important.

Still, it would have been a lot more engaging with a few more elements to it. I never really understood the point of "Cause Fear" after I got that upgrade and just spent the whole game spamming "Cause Doubt" and "Call". And it got a lot less fun once I'd converted about ten villagers -- after that point, the game turned from frantic clicking into idling and waiting for new villagers to slowly pop up one at a time.

I think the game would greatly benefit from some way to lose followers after you've gained them. Maybe the good townspeople could reconvert them, or they could just lose faith in you over time.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Great concept ! Would have loved to see some audio and maybe more interactions with villagers, though.

Cake says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Great idea! The gameplay is simple for a complete game but for the amount of time we had it's actually pretty fun!
The only bad part is the no audio, but overall pretty good.

~Cake

Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:09pm

I really liked the theme and the narrative, game play was also fun. I collected a lot of followers (12 I think) but then didn't know what to do. I liked the writing too.

cyrixd says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:57am

Very creative, I can see a lot of potential for expansion as well! It could use some form of threat to make the player's decisions more strategic, but the core concept is very cool.

pansapiens says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Great concept and pretty funny :) I didn't read the instructions and initially had difficulty figuring out how to gain followers, but after the reading them I persisted and beat the game. One thing that would make it clearer would be if the player has some insight into the internal game model (eg, a faith meter on villagers), so it could be tuned as a resource management game rather than "click to Cause Doubt" many times and hope at some point you turn them. Along these lines, seeing "Call" rings radiate from the tree would add some playability.

Maybe this idea could be rolled into "Stop That Hero" ? Turning farmers into goblins :) ?

GBGames says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 3:17am

pansapiens: All of those ideas would be great, and I ran out of time before I could implement them.

And yes, in fact, working on this game did make me think about how I would introduce elements into "STH!" and vice-versa. B-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]