Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

A Beautiful Day to DIE

by Integershift - Jam Entry

IMPORTANT: If you get stuck or there is a game breaking bug there is reset button in the bottom right corner!

A Beautiful Day to DIE!

Description:
_______________________

You are the zombie! Eat all of the humans and advance to the next stage. The humans may try to resist, Police officers will try to shoot you, civilians will try to run but there is no way to hide from your wrath! Enjoy a new map every time you play with a random map generator generating new areas to play every stage!

Whenever you kill a human they join your zombie army. The more humans you kill the more zombies you control!

Controls:
________
W,A,S,D To Move your zombie army
Simply collide with humans to eat them!

CREATED BY: Integershift from SubLab Studios in 72 hours!
https://twitter.com/integershift
https://twitter.com/SubLabStudios

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#234Innovation(Jam)3.41
#251Fun(Jam)3.45
#340Theme(Jam)3.68
#373Overall(Jam)3.39
#477Audio(Jam)2.92
#479Mood(Jam)3.18
#511Humor(Jam)2.81
#624Graphics(Jam)3.18

Comments

increpare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:46pm

difficult curve a bit slight for me

sprawl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:46pm

The simplistic graphics make it very simple and clear to see what's going on. The game looks good.

Minor issues with gameplay :
- When eating someone, he sometimes spawn at an weird position.
- Enemies sometime spawn in a block and cant be reached.


Good job on the game !

shellyalon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:54pm

very cool mechanic idea!

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:01am

Now that is a FUN game. Graphics were neat, and it was fun as hell :D great music too <3

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:18am

I feel like it's not quite there in terms of balance and polish and such, but this is too be expected of compo games. The music was quite good for 48 hours.

Perkovec says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:22am

Guys! This game is the best i've seen at the ludum dare! I want it on my mobile phone! Great art! Great idea! Great gameplay! Please, don't leave your idea! We want more! ;)

conrad123 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:22am

It's beautiful, in a way.

guoboism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:25am

Simplest Design. And the way you raise a zombie army is interesting.

ehtd says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:39am

Really nice, would have liked a bit more speed

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Super fun dude, well done :)

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:03pm

The art style is neat.

Dejvo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:06pm

This is really simmilar to this entry http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=55673 but done much better and more fun. Goood Job!

FiSilva says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Very good idea the zombie mechanic!

grotewold says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Those are seriously heat seeking bullets! I walked into them soo often

keddelzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Really captivated me! Nice!

Culpo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Simples game, is very funny, congratulations =D

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:29pm

It's a really good idea, gameplay is good. But it will be better with improved graphic and music. =)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:16am

Cool game, i really enjoy it.

Divitos says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:43am

Very quirky game

Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:06am

Nice input concept!

wooltech says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:04am

Nice idea, I like moving the whole mob around at once. The block graphics make it clear what's what. A few time I started a level already dead (well, deader), and one time a policeman spawned inside a building, but otherwise it all seemed polished.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:53am

There's a bug in the game where sometimes enemies would spawn on top of a block making the current level unbeatable otherwise I love the primary mechanic of being essentially patient zero of a zombie outbreak plus I like the rather simplistic art style.

FireTwin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:31am

I like the simple art, it's hard to make something simple but also pleasing to the eye, good job! Game has a few bugs that other people have mentioned, so it might be worth fixing those. What I like most is that you can change the formation of your zombie army by colliding with those big blocks. That's a really cool mechanic you could make use of in later levels.

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

OldPeculier says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:32am

Awesome concept, and fun. I played several stages and enjoyed it.

Druid says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Nice solid entry!

What i liked :
Minimalistic style and probably most interesting use of zombies in whole ludum dare!
And Difficulty was ideal! Game was NOT hard at all. Pretty balanced for me :)

What i hated :

Collisions were incredibly bad, thanks to that i ended in 14 level because one human spawned inside wall :( Also camera don't followed player sometimes.

All in all, standart overall but 5 in theme and 4 in innovation!

Integershift says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:49am

Thanks for all the feedback!

Demy says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:51pm

You made achievements ^__^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]