Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Government

by goldenindiegames - Jam Entry

You are tasked with writing bills as an "evil" Senator. Cause as much harm as possible to your country but be careful! Both your donors and voters expect certain things and you'll have to make them happy just long enough to make everything awful!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#210Innovation(Jam)3.44
#222Humor(Jam)3.42
#537Theme(Jam)3.44
#638Audio(Jam)2.29
#862Mood(Jam)2.64
#949Overall(Jam)2.70
#1001Fun(Jam)2.33
#1011Graphics(Jam)1.81
#1362Coolness46%

Comments

Rakholl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:14am

I appreciate social narrative in games. Having completely silly and contradicting outcomes from having to do things in a hurry is a nice piece of emergent humor.

Artylo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Your game reminds me of a newspaper game by Lucas Pope, which had the same sort of gameplay. This one is fairly well executed, but there isn't much variation in the gameplay in my opinion, when posed next to some games of the similar style.

congusbongus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:51pm

I submitted two cancer research bills and my voter approval shot up to 247%! The voters love cancer research!

I'm not sure what your political views were so I found it hard to guess which bills were supposed to be evil :P Perhaps you can colour-code the bills based on their evilness.

azakhary says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Humor is strong with this one :)

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:34pm

This is an interesting concept, from an aesthetic point of view I would prefer the bills to move smother, it would make it easier to read. Also I couldn’t really work out how each bill impacted the metrics.

humbleness says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:23pm

A bit confusing to figure out at first, but I really enjoyed it once I did

pixzleone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Fun idea, well done!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Hah hah, hilarious game!

Yamzho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Concept is interesting. It just needs a bit more polish ! ;)

ladybenko says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Nice concept :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Pretty funny and as others have said the feeling of having to cobble together something quickly to please voters added emergent humor.

That said, actually winning basically involved determining the creator's definition of 'evil'... will mandatory religious education gain or lose me evil?? Oh evil, why must you be so subjective...

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Hey... your honesty is appreciated, but be less of a jerk next time you leave criticism.

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:47am

Really simple graphics and stuff, but idea is just great! 5/5 Btw, the cards moving kinda fast in my opinion.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Interesting idea, and I must echo Artylo in saying it reminds me of The Republia Times, be sure to check that out if you haven't seen it already.

The idea of trying to slip through diabolical measures is rather fitting, though the inherently political nature of the game can sometimes make it clear which options are considered evil.

I don't think political subjects should necessarily be avoided in games, but it would be more accessible if the options were comically overblown evilness or niceness, rather than actual political issues. If you do want to use your game for commentary, it could be worth considering what "evil" positions seem to actually have plenty of political support.

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Hahahah.. laughed my **** off.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Interesting take on the theme. Perhaps you could prevent players from "increasing drinking age" while "decreasing drinking age" at the same time.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Interesting idea, but as others have said some way of making evil an objective goal seperated from your personal morality would be better.
For example, if you have "evil" as exterminating the human race, pro-birth control and anti-environmental legislation would work towards it.
If on the other hand societal and governmental collapse is the evil goal, legislation that over-complicates things or specifically targets groups or individuals negatively would work towards it.

OldPeculier says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Awesome concept—loved it. I think the cards on the left should scroll smoothly rather than jumping; their overall motion is unclear. I couldn't drop a card after I picked it up. This is an LD game I'd actually like to play more of. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]