Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Plothole

by RedPanda - Compo Entry

ATTENTION, please:
* WebGL build is werid with resolution, please play in fullscreen. It's only a preview option in Unity :P
* Unity Web Player uses NPAPI, Google Chrome disabled those, please use browser that allows NPAPI, or try WebGL version, or standalone.
* Standalones link lists 3 zip archives (For Windows, Linux, and Mac OS X). Each archive contains both x86 and x64 version for their respective OSes.
* No audio voting because I haven't got time to do even basic SFX not to mention music.
* No humor voting because, it shouldn't be a humorous game anyways.
* There maybe some UI problems on Linux (just tested) use keyboard instead (ESC to go back or close) and it seems less intense in fullscreen.

Description:
Plothole should've been an adventure/mystery game about a detective who investigates some of the recent murders that might be a a job of one serial killer. SPOILER: in the end the detective would uncover that his 2nd (schizophrenic) self is in fact that serial killer.

In reality Plothole is an unfinished game with only core functionality and not much content at all. (Art is really hard and slow for me)

Controls:
WASD or Arrows - Move (Only left and right though)
E or Enter - Do action (Read, Investigate, pick up)
Tab or J - Diary/Journal
I - Inventory

Tools used:
* Unity Engine 5 Personal
* Paint.NET
* Visual Studio 2015 Community
* Sublime Text 3
* SimpleJSON script for Unity

After thoughts:
Amazing Ludum Dare! Even though I once again haven't finished a game, I totally loved (almost, that missing boolean not bug costed me 2 hours of work) each second of it! I learned a lot about Unity's new UI system, discovered new game genre I might like and wanted to do and finish! I had great time overall, nice to get distracted from some unpleasantness that happens around. I hope everybody had amazing time too, here's to another great Ludum Dare, and for many more!

Additional stuff:
I always shared my LD brainstorming results after LD, so here goes: http://codebite.xyz/ld33/ideas/
Although I usually did it in Google Drive, I try to move away from Cloud Storage, coz I am paranoid.

Thanks:
* To Mr. Mike Kasprzak, for Ludum Dare itself and still maintaining it, and even making a new version!
* To Unity Engine Team, for amazing Game Engine.
* To... Microsoft, for Visual Studio and C#
* To All the Open Source developers, for everything! Much love <3
* To Ludum Dare'ers, for amazing community! :D
* To Zhoot, AtomicVikings, yuraSniper, Leo, Skай, Zet and Thok, Jorge and my family, for being there.
* To Caffeine, for keeping me alive. XOXO

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#47Graphics4.20
#160Mood3.53
#509Innovation2.93
#514Overall3.07
#560Theme3.25
#588Fun2.83

Comments

Modoc73 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:28am

Nice graphics. I like how even though you could only walk on the x-axis you can see the map well. I wish it was a bit longer. well done!

UncleChris says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:57am

I liked the graphics also. Not seen an adventure game like this in Unity - I liked it.
I had trouble moving between areas, not sure if was loading issue, or just not lined up to select store. But overall it was very good to the theme.

inurashii says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:57pm

I loved the interface and moody feel of the game! I was drawn in immediately and excited to play more. Sadly, the 'plot summary' at the end really disappointed me for two reasons: first, using mental illness as a "YOU are the monster" scapegoat is kind of offensive, done to death, and dull. second? you just spoiled us on your post-comp plot! I would have liked a "to be continued" much better. This could be a really great piece of work, but I hope you bring on a writer or editor!

Resonious says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Interesting use of the theme! Also good graphics.

Juin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:00pm

I encountered a bug when i entered the first house and wanted to go back to the street, i just immediately entered the house again so it was impossible for me to progress from that point.

Nate says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:01pm

I anxiously await the post-compo version!

Korso says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Very nice graphics. I hope you continue developing it.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:11pm

For some reason even in full screen I don't see the whole world, so there's clipped text etc at times.
But great art man!

sleepYxy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Really great art! I like the mood you are creating with the raindrops, street lanterns and this guy desperately smoking his cigarette.
Music and sound effects like barking dogs and splashing rain would really enhance the feeling. The setting is just perfect.

Your game has a lot of potential even if your story isn't set in stone yet. Heck, it doesn't even need to be themed "You are the Monster".
Needless to say, I want more!

TiByte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:33pm

I really like the art style.

mutuware says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Quite atmospheric. In the WebGL I started off-screen.

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Great graphics and a nice template for a good game. Good luck! Hope you'll be able to finish it someday.

Darkhaul says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:19pm

The idea is really nice, the graphics are gorgeous but I found that (on the web version anyway) things kept ending up off the sides of the screen and I couldnt see where I was going and stuff, despite that though I would really liked to have seen a bit more to it mayve in place of the graphics being quite so nice, also audio would be nice even if it was just some atmospheric rain sounds or something

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Art style is awesome, great job. Also you used the theme in a very creative way, great entry.

tMalicet says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Nice game ! Even not finished it's really enjoyable.

nili says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:42pm

I definitely hope to play a finished version of this.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Lovely graphics!

GBGames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Well done for what is there, and I wish more was there. I like the direction you were taking it.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Interesting concept. It really shows that you put a lot of effort into the graphics. There's a jam entry with a similar concept called "Enigma", if you happen to be interested.

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:50am

Nice graphics, kept crashing my browser though

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]