Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

taikun

by zillix - Compo Entry

you have a simple mission:
find the target, and eliminate it.

the power you've been granted is overwhelming.
cleanse the valley with fire!


-----CONTROLS-----
LEFT/RIGHT - move
UP/DOWN - activate
SPACE - jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Innovation4.57
#12Theme4.36
#39Overall3.95
#48Mood3.92
#78Fun3.77
#92Humor3.66
#189Audio3.33
#255Graphics3.50
#1504Coolness44%

Comments

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:57am

Holy moly, really great job!!!

022pedro says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Really good game,had fun playing it! Good job!

pavel_insight says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Wow! Awesome!

bombjack says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:41pm

wow! super original gameplay! good job!

Manou says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:00pm

looks awesome ! make a .exe plz !

afisicos says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Nice job, excellent game an original idea.

adsilcott says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:19am

Dude this is amazing!! If I could give ten stars for innovation I would. I'd love to experience more of this world!

Jimbly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:37am

Fantastic job! Gameplay reminds me of Lovers in a Dangerous Spacetime.

JHM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:38am

This is a nice concept ! The gameplay is cool :) Though, it is a little bit repetitive. Hope you'll continue it !

lowercaserho says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:38am

Really dark and creepy, while also being imaginative and fun. Good job.

zatyka says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:41am

I loved the unique interpretation of the theme. Being in control of a large flying dragon made me feel mighty. The music fit well, the graphics were charming. Playing it put me in a happy mood. I just wish there were a bit more game play.

Another great LD game.

djfariel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:42am

This was a nice treat.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:41am

It's like a Real Human Basketball, but solo, I love it!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Reminds me of little big planet. Controls worked fine.
sadly i glitched out of the "ship" but i had fun playing!

TaleEngineer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:10pm

This game is astonishingly innovative; I only wish there was more to the game, though.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Really cool concept, well executed too.

DrunkenOrc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Very cool game, and very cool use of the theme. The concept and controls were great. Love it, love it.

alexrus07 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Neat game, but could benefit from a little challenge. Charming graphics and dialogue, had fun playing this one!

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:11pm

What a great concept! Really enjoyed this entry!

Rulrite says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:17pm

A really cool idea! The control scheme is very interesting, and the game itself is very charming. It could do with a little more challenge, as it got a little samey towards the end, but you can always add more if you choose to develop it further.

Sicilica says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:46am

Hahaha, I really like the general idea and the way the game plays.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:27am

That was awesome! Best concept ever, I got super excited when I realized how you control the ship. Would love to see something like this with a sci-fi setting!

BOBANY says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:31am

Fantastic! As with everyone, I loved the controls! It was great and funny

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:37am

I LOVE THIS FREAKING GAME SO DANG MUCH. Dude, just go ahead and make a bigger one. I'd buy it.

TagliatL says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:48am

One of the best interpretations of the theme so far :D
And this is really fun

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:31am

Not bad! like how player controlling the dragon ship =)

dwemthy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Lots of fun, very different gameplay, enjoyed it a lot.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Great innovation and use of theme, well done! :)

scorched says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Great job man!
The only complaint is I got in the wheel many times when I didn't want to

Togimaro says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Amazing! Very good idea!

allinlabs says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:50pm

I love this indirect control!

dancingmad says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Excellent concept, I love it.
It reminds me a cartoon indie game where you control a man and a woman in a spaceship and you have to travail in your spaceship to control it and destroy asteroids but I can't find it anymore.

AngryRebel says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:02am

Coolest controls so far! Nice game!

NamNam says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:48am

Very cool !

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:28pm

What an amazing concept!!! Get some stars!!

Arche-san says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Great idea!
With some aggressive enemies it could be really awesome.
Great job! :)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Incredible! This is by far the most creative entry I've played so far!
Just proves Ludum Dare doesn't cease to offer surprises! Great job!

xvw says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:04am

Awesome idea!!
It works very well!
GG!

walsh9 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:26am

Loved the art! Also a really cool idea and well implemented.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Really cool game! The concept is simply brilliant! Very innovative, part platformer, part flying breathing dragon simulator. Would love to see more of this in a post-jam version of some kind!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Very nice mechanics. The story is a bit confusing (are these houses my target, or am I killing them in vain?), but I guess the target is the artefact?

Nanolotl says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:49am

Nice idea executed pretty well. Could have been a bit more depth then just repeating the same process though. Could definitely see it being expanded upon. Good job.

David Yates says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Innovative gameplay, great graphics and music. I was a bit surprised that there was no armed resistance to my dragon's attack -- I feel like a small amount of that at least could have made the game a bit more exciting. Nonetheless, it was fun figuring out how to fly the fake dragon.

ethankennerly says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 2:56am

When I burned down a tower, I smiled. If you continue to develop this, when I wanted to go lower and then forward, I had to plan a bit and felt less skillful.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Yes, I found it, like Jimbly says, you game look like Lovers in a Dangerous Spacetime :
http://www.gog.com/game/lovers_in_a_dangerous_spacetime

Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Your game has been rated by our team member Antonin Charvat (music composer). Here is his comment: Excellent work! Although it is really short and I was expecting at least one more level, it was really fun to play and to coordinate all my moves :)

igoramendola says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:53am

ooh, this is an adorable and gorgeous entry! the gameplay is pretty cool and innovative. Excellent work! :D

Shaun LeBron says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 11:51am

Congrats on the innovation win! Well-deserved

Sep 28, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Absolutely loved the double endings. I'm wondering if anyone else found the pacifist ending, but it makes me sad that based on the previous comments, no one has.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]