Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

You are the cosmos

by sam1373 - Compo Entry

In this game, you play as a malicious cosmic presence that doesn't want the humans to expand to other planets. In order to prevent that, you use meteors, possess human ships, and do other evil things.

Also, if you win too easily on normal mode, try hard mode.
If you don't, then try a different approach. It is definetely possible to win, even on hard.

This game was made in 48 hours in c++ with opengl as a graphic engine.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#94Innovation3.71
#229Audio3.21
#252Fun3.35
#293Mood3.24
#299Overall3.33
#535Theme3.30
#626Humor2.33
#727Graphics2.55
#1752Coolness36%

Comments

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:33pm

This is a fantastic concept, but energy should be tied to your actions, or be faster than it currently is. The player has no chance with how little they can do. This is very close to being an incredible experience and I can see this panning out into a fantastic and complex game with some more work.

5 for innovation!

Heissayen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:57pm

I really enjoyed the game, its very entertaining. But yeah, you need to be able to get energy faster somehow. Overall, the best game I played so far, nice job!

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Well thought game concept, most of my energy got wasted since I didnt know what all the skills do (possesing superships seemed to work fine)

Nichii says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Would be lovely to have someway to increase income, that would be perfect.

lurumdurum says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:46pm

I really enjoyed the game. I couldn't win the game, but it was fun trying out all the options and seeing how long I could last. I felt that things like the meteor strike were not worth their cost as it did so little to stop a base let alone a colonized planet. The AI worked pretty well as well, which made the game all the more enjoyable. So far this is one of my favorite entrys. :)

glerikud says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:43am

An interesting concept, but there is a bit of a problem with balancing. Sometimes I was able to possess a ship and it kept their starting planet in check, other times my ships just crashed right back into the planet, or ventured away. It feels a liitle random. Also creating monsters or destroying planets takes forever. By the time I get 200 points while trying to possess enough to fight back they're already at the other side of the map with 3-4 planets, at which point it's hopeless.

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:21pm

A very good entry, in my opinion. Maybe, it's because I love simulations and strategy games. I see a LOT of potential for this game to be something I would pay for.

What's missing is mostly balancing and maybe some interdependency of actions, like the player could tap into some resources to gain more energy. This would add some pace instead of sitting there waiting for the 30 energy to fill up.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Nice game! I think the fundamental problem for me was that the base mechanic of getting energy was to just wait for it to regenerate. Would suggest thinking about ways you could make this an interesting activity for the player.

All the power ups you could buy were very fun to use and felt like each of them had their own unique way of messing with the humans.

Great job!

Patomkin says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Very cool game, but meteors sometimes didn't work - they flew into a base and nothing happened. 60 energy down the drain... Other than that, had immense amounts of fun :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]