Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

You are them, on s.t.e.r.

by Erkberg - Compo Entry

Would you give up yourself just to belong?

Johnny is a young lad whose parents died. He moved to the city to find somewhere to belong.
All the people there take a medicine called s.t.e.r. ("substance to eradicate radiance") these days.
It makes them lose their individuality and the differences between them, so they can get along with each other well.
Johnny is rejected by some kids his age because he has never taken s.t.e.r., so he sets off to find some in order to not be alone anymore.
Will he succeed? Will the sacrifice be worth it?

"You are them, on s.t.e.r." is a third person 3D platformer with elements of stealth and bullet hell.
I hope you enjoy this little game! I encountered a lot of joy, but also frustration making it. :)

~ Controls ~
WASD / Arrows / ZQSD / left analog stick to move
Mouse / right analog stick to look around
Left mouse button / space / right trigger (R2) to jump
Right mouse button / left trigger (L2) to slow down time
Esc to quit / show mouse cursor

~ Tools used ~
Unity 5, Blender, FL Studio (VSTs: Piano One, Sonatina), GIMP, Audacity, jfxr

~ Thanks to my testers ~
ketzer and grimgraybeard

~ Hint ~
There might just be an alternative ending if you finish the game without picking up any vials. It is really, really hard though. :)

~ Timelapse ~
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rK9GT4SR96A

~ Postmortem ~
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/09/01/timelapse-and-postmortem-you-are-them-on-s-t-e-r/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#177Audio3.37
#192Mood3.43
#398Overall3.20
#468Humor2.69
#547Fun2.91
#588Innovation2.80
#643Graphics2.74
#771Theme2.82

Comments

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:42am

I like the music. The animations could be a bit more polished...

celisoft says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:51am

Cannot play the game, rar files are not supported everywhere :/

LastLeaf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Great music and mood.
It becomes difficult for I cannot look around every corners.

Divitos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:05am

Every single Ludum Dare I have to come check out what you did because I know it'll be awesome. This entry is no exception, and is just as amazing as I figured it would be.

TaleEngineer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:40pm

It's a pretty interesting game.

Part of me wonders if there is an alternate ending if you complete it without consuming any STER, but I was not skilled enough to find out.

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:42pm

I enjoyed this, made me laugh a lot. "So I became a turret" XD.

Teekeks says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Well, you missed the Theme, but its a realy good game!

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:36pm

The idea was good! I think but the theme was missed!

duskpn says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:44pm

pretty good game! Nice music too, sets the mood well.

Dizzly says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Best mood I found so far! Audio is great!

celisoft says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Well done, the story is really a good one ! Music is matching with the targeted ambiance.

wooltech says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:59am

I don't know why people are saying you missed the theme, it's right there in the title! I found it tricky to control and there was a bit of clipping where you could see behing walls, but a decent 3D platformer.

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Really liked the graphics and it's cool that it had a story to it. Also liked the music and that slow-mo mechanic was fun to use. Nice job.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Nice work for a compo entry. The fixed camera angle made it a little too claustrophobic. I'm not sure I completely understood the back-story and therefore I lost the relation to the theme.

General says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:22pm

The video reviews of the games I played:https://youtu.be/gAPMEoLs5yA
Your game is at 12:05

Only after I started writing this comment I understood the pun in the game name! Very nice touch!

WubAlliance says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 12:47am

Fun entry! The jump height didn't always seem constant... some times I would jump far higher than others. Maybe I missed something? I love the bullet time mechanic, the controls in this game are soooooooo smooth. Audio is excellent. Overall the game feels polished, nice work!

MAnimal says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:41am

I like this very much. I lake turrets and right timing, your game is very inspirating for me.

Lafolie says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:32pm

I had a really strange issue where the camera would rotate clockwise on its own constantly so I wasn't able to fully experience the game. Didn't rate, but what I could discern seemed interesting.

ComicSans says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Seems overly hard, or I'm missing something. I got past the gauntlet of rotating turrets, but the big room with overlapping zones just seemed impossible.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:30pm

This is a great game, it plays well and has an interesting (if contrived) story. I like the posters around which set the mood.

Oct 17, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Interesting story, cool game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/gLe7oOEiGe0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]