Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Escape to Hell

by Kep - Jam Entry

In an age of darkness, before science and culture had brought enlightenment to humanity, one man's quest for power brought him to the brink of the demonic plane.
Though he would not live to see his greatest accomplishment his death would open a rift and pull through it the greatest terror this land has ever witnessed.

Move with WASD or arrow keys.
Aim and shoot with the mouse.
Use the compass in the lower left to find the next shard.
Collect all shards to unlock the portal.
Survive and Escape to Hell!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#375Theme(Jam)3.64
#477Audio(Jam)2.92
#534Graphics(Jam)3.38
#589Mood(Jam)3.03
#654Fun(Jam)2.89
#663Overall(Jam)3.05
#764Humor(Jam)2.31
#955Innovation(Jam)2.34

Comments

GreaseMonkey says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:22am

Unity Web Player. Cannot play this entry. Could you please provide a 32-bit Windows build so I can? Thanks.

No, I don't use Windows, I use FreeBSD.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:38am

you can still shoot when dead :)

i liked how they're swarming you, nice feeling!

Arche-san says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:14am

No sure who is the biggest monster : Cthulu or those bloodthirsty farmers ? Nice work btw :)

Kep says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Windows and Mac builds added.

mooncalf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Wow, this is a solid game. I feel like the movement speed could be turned down, a bit too fast. The sfx are fantastic and the music is superb, great chords on the game over screen in particular. Visrep is great. I mean, wow, this is going to do well, in my opinion.

Great job!!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Nice job, enjoyed the art style. :)

Reallysketchy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Great game! I love the art style and music. Those farmers are terrifying... there are so many of them.

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Holy Shoggoth, great job

Arskiainen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Simple and effective gameplay. The feedback loop just works.

Kep says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:09pm

There is a bug on the Mac build that made the movement speed much faster than it should be. I've removed the Mac build until it's fixed.

Thanks for playing, everyone.

Kep says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Mac build is back up and working!

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:35am

Nice game! But in my opinion electrnoic music does not match very well for this artstyle.

Gravity Games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Overall great job, but I did notice that it was really easy to get stuck in between buildings and such, and that the farmers weren't much of a threat. Despite this, I had fun playing.

markedgertt says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:41pm

I loved working on this game! I wish I had more time to put into the artwork. Very cool to see that people enjoying it! :)

Kep says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:56pm

I made the game easier overall and fixed some minor bugs.

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Really liked the art style... and covering farmers in slime! =)
Great job!

Jakob37 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Very nice! I really like this kind of top-down games, and this worked very well. My minor complaint is that after I finished the level, I didn't realize the game was over. Took me a while to figure it out...

markedgertt says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:17pm

I did the character art for the game as well as assisting with creating additional assets and tasks and I loved every second of it. The whole team was fantastic and incredibly talented. I'm always looking for more work!
http://www.markedgertt.com/

Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:40am

Great art on the monster. Good entry overall, I like the concept - it worked really well with the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]