Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Ghost Academy

by jorgemoag - Compo Entry

Do you want to become a ghost?
You must complete three tests in Ghost Academy.
I hope you'll enjoy it
:-)

Controls:
A/D - Left/Right for test 1 & 2
G/F - Brake/Boost for test 3
Support for gamepad

Tools:
Models - Maya
Textures - Photoshop & CrazyBump
SFX - Bfxr
Music - classic military march edited with Audacity
Code - Unity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#151Graphics3.83
#189Overall3.53
#204Audio3.29
#205Humor3.30
#278Mood3.27
#280Theme3.68
#308Fun3.25
#457Innovation3.00

Comments

mat1er says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:52am

Not bad, but the tests are too long.

GameQuester says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:59am

I like the graphics and the sounds. I only played the first two testrooms and I think the timeres are set a bit to high. It can be really frustrating when you die after 100 seconds and have to start from the beginning. Nonetheless this was a really fun game.

celisoft says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:59am

Funny game !

sapermysz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:00am

The first level is too hard for me , my record is 50 secs
but this is good game.

Demy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:08am

The graphics is cute.

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:24am

i agree with mat1er, the first tests are too long 120s !
But i love the style of the game

IndigoWolf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:40am

Really nice entry!

JayWoody says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:52am

I liked the graphics a lot. I didn't like the main music that much, although it worked as a reminder that you are on a ghost academy boot camp. :)

The first test was maybe my favorite. The third one seemed to be very hard to beat and I couldn't finish it.

I like the idea of a game where you have minigames with different mechanics and you coded all of those three minigames in such a short amount of time. Nicely done!

All in all a nice little game with three different little games all in together. Kudos!

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Not bad at all, maybe mostly suitable for children.

jk5000 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Fun, but also a bit too difficult.

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:58pm

GoTY too :)

MrKOHCEPBAHT says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Wow. This is really good.

Mantlair says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Well. Minigames are cool but times were too long. I gave up on last. But plz accept me to academy. I need to play others games too.

Resonious says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Fairly entertaining. I like the graphics.

Jelinib says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:36pm

I cheated on the first test by floating past the edge of the platform. I could not beat the third test (I keep messing up at 20-30 seconds remaining). These tests of reflex and prediction were pretty fun, the feel of the game is quite lighthearted as well. Nicely done!

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Graphics is cool, but yes, agree with guys who mentioned testrooms time earlier - way too long, anyway - I like it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]