Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Colossus Guard

by VampyVampire - Compo Entry

Colossus Guard is a game where you control the last woodland giant, intent on avenging his fallen friends and family by killing the people that murdered them.

Using your fists and stomping all around, you destroy buildings and squash tiny humans as they attempt to slow down your efforts.

There's no going back. Destroy as much as you can before you're finally subdued, and join your fallen brothers in triumph.

Controls:
Right arrow: Move forward
Q: Punch
E: Block
Space Bar: Jump (hold to jump higher)
P: Pause
M: Mute

Tools used:
Code: IntelliJ IDEA 14.1.14 with Java 1.8
Art: Graphics Gale and Paint.net
Audio: SFXR and Abundant Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#344Graphics3.32
#432Mood3.04
#436Audio2.78
#448Theme3.43
#514Overall3.07
#648Fun2.75

Comments

FlashMonkey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:47am

I like the graphicstyle :).

Ekibyou says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:03am

Nice graphics, but the gameplay is sadly enough not very special. No real goal, only punch and walk. Jumping feels meaty though!

Somfin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:05am

Great walk cycle, character feels pretty heavy- your implementation of screenshake was a bit overzealous, but it kinda works. Good game!

Don_Martinez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:08am

Colossus looks nice. Its cool that you can destroy houses by jumping. Maybe make the arrows a bit faster/harder to dodge.

OccamsRazor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:09am

Excellent entry! Really liked the graphics on this one, all felt very tight and polished.

My only thought is that you can't shift from punch to block very fast, so its hard to block arrows, even when you get to the block button in time.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:14am

Its really satisfying to smash those little buildings. It was weird how I could not punch for the first little while but once I started smashing buildings there was nothing holding me back. Quite entertaining!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:56am

Arrows were very frustrating. Not a great cycle on gameplay. Took too long to get to punching things. Great sense of scale, though, and you really feel huge.

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:58am

The colossus looks cool, and the jumping effect is cool, but the game runs slowly after a while. Good work all around.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:00am

I found the about section to be very neat. More people should do something like that. Good job!

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:20am

Scored 345. :> Nice game, loved the graphics and smashing those buildings was very satisfying. :D

Halleflux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:38am

Great graphics!
The gameplay is simple, but it has a good mood to it. The whole time, you know you're going to die, it's just a matter of how much can you do before that, and the gameplay reinforces that rather well.
Well done!

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Excellent art, well done!

Kaadmy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:40pm

The Google drive link doesn't load for me.

Yamzho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Nice graphics.

charliecarlo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:04pm

I like the design of the character. I got stuck at a point where there were so many archers I couldn't let down my guard for long enough to even move forward.

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Jump over an arrow, it still hits, and you can flatten humans while in the sky...
Aside from those little inconsistencies, the mood is good!
Also: the colossus looks nice.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:08am

Congratulations on your first entry. Not sure why, but I really liked the style of the giant. The gameplay was pretty solid other than there didn't seem to be need for jumping in the game (I'm guessing you were planning on having arrows shoot along the bottom as well). Also, the volume for the music was very low, and didn't notice it for a few minutes into the game, which was a pity since it was very good. I ended up turning up the volume quite high and holding down the guard button to listen to it for a while.

Mine final score was 1368.

Sicilica says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:31am

I liked how heavy the giant felt when jumping, although the screenshake could probably be toned down a tad. The game felt a bit stretched out, as you just stroll along blocking arrows and stuff.

baylej says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:55pm

I cannot download the JAR: the link takes me to a blank page.
The same for the sources.
What's the problem?

MegasDragos1 says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 10:09am

I love the 8-bit style graphics and the gameplay. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]