Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Calcusaurus

by CorgiCommander - Jam Entry

An Arcade Classic!

Play as a laser-shooting Calcusaurus that is on a revenge spree! Destroy an onslaught of incoming tanks, helicopters and jets with elementary math!

Show this game to your math teacher! Get extra credit!

Disclaimer: Your kids/younger siblings will probably be better at this game than you.

CONTROLS:

- Keyboard or Screen Buttons: Enter Answers
- Pause: Pause the Game
- Spacebar: Panic (Destroy everything on the screen at the cost of 10,000 points)

Earn a certain score on each level to unlock more levels!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#60Audio(Jam)3.93
#77Innovation(Jam)3.83
#105Overall(Jam)3.83
#169Graphics(Jam)4.12
#189Fun(Jam)3.54
#280Mood(Jam)3.45
#282Humor(Jam)3.27
#558Theme(Jam)3.41

Comments

Mikhail says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:33am

Liked the game man keep it up!

Coruja says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Good game! I liked to play it on Android. Cool CRT monitor effect!

disperse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Great! It would be even better with keyboard support. I found clicking the buttons slow with a mouse.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Disperse: Glad you like it! Numpad and Alpha keys were implemented, If you get a chance to play it again and they aren't working, feel free to let me know which browser you are using (unless it's the exe ;) )

architect404 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:34pm

you really are a monster, trying to make people play a game about MATHS! lovely soundtrack, nice graphics, my biggest criticisms is that the majority of damage I took came from offscreen enemies that never actually appeared, and that sometimes the sums would overlap each other making it difficult to read. a fun and original entry though, nice work!

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Really cool game! Bring it out for iOS ;)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Thanks arhitect404! We'll see about resolving those issues for ya, but yeah, we're the real monsters ;)

KodingNights says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Wow doing math under stress was harder than I thought

Tuism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Great stuff! It's an educational game that doesn't feel terrible! That's rad! :D

Great graphics, sound, animations, juice, effects :)

I played the web version which stretched to full screen, that's an obvious advantage over the mobile format. That probably needs to be addressed, especially since the guy above says you can get damage from those unseen enemies.

Good stuff :)

SvenFrankson says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Smart and polished ! Nice job !

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:44pm

This is a little annoying on a mouse, but the game is very cute. Not being able to gun down the bullets is a little frustrating.

I very much enjoyed this one.

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Great game! Thanks for reminding me that I'm a numbskull

walaber says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:52pm

fun game, I love math games :)
it's really overwhelming though (although oddly not too difficult since it takes a lot of hits to die and the "panic" button doesn't seem limited in any way).

would have been cool to have health pickups that are subtraction or multiplication problems to add some variety.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Walaber: Thanks! If you make it past a certain score, additional levels appear ;) Perhaps I'll update the score GUI to indicate that?

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Amazing game but you made me do maths and now I'm sad.

Sicilica says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:27am

Hahaha, a fun little game to remind me how bad at math i am ;p

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:45am

Not bad at all! Only complaint I have is that sometimes the equations were hard to read when they overlapped each other, but you were right on, I felt dumb while playing, good challenge :D

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:57am

A really polished game. I like the monitor effect. So cool!

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:29am

Very nice presentation and well polished educational game; I played all the way through the four levels without too much issue except for what seems to be a bug. After about 50,000 to 60,000 points on a level, it would grind to a near halt, where I would only get one jet coming down at a time slowly, while I was being shot by four or five somethings that were offscreen; this was happening even when I killed all the enemies thus far in a wave, and hitting the panic button would always bring the game back to the previous level of panic with all three enemy types. This definitely looks like a game you could polish up and sell on mobile platforms, but this pacing bug will need to be addressed.

yuigoto says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:16am

Whoa! This is really good! Nice graphics, nice visuals and a pretty clever concept for a game! :)

It offers quite a nice challenge, is totally fun and also pretty much educational! Kids just learning math could easily play this game to have some practice. ;)

Loved it! :3

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:07am

Cool, it's pretty finished looking and is a nice addition to the math games genre as is. Hey, where's the APK gone? I got it yesterday.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:36pm

dalbinblue: Major thanks on the review and critique, totally keeping all of that in mind!

yuigoto, bvanschooten: I'm glad you liked the game! Also, I updated the apk link for ya, sorry about that :)

panda says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:01am

I completed the game! Yay! It said to wait, but then nothing happened. All the same, this is a great game! With music, sound effects, great visuals, and even some polish! I really like it, congratulations!

kidando says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:37am

I disagree!!! Math is the true monster here!!! This game is polished enough for sure. Solid solid entry. Music, graphics, everything. Congrats dude!

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Very original game. The music and the graphics are awesome!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Great little educational game! A few minor quibbles: Enemies off the screen were annoying (or helicopters that were on the screen, but the math was off the screen...that was really frustrating to the completionist in me). Also, and I'm not sure how easy a design challenge this would be to overcome and still keep the math relatively simple, in subtraction and division there was a LOT more overlap in the answers. I cleared half the screen more than once with a single answer in those levels. Didn't detract too much, but it made those levels much simpler to complete than they could have been. Despite the minor completes, would definitely give to kids to play (reminded me a lot of the games I used to play during class in elementary school, so +1 for the nostalgia factor). The sound worked really well, also.

radmars says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:55am

This concept is great! Surprisingly fun. I think the only issue is that there are so many possible answers on the screen that you can just pick and choose the easier ones rather than challenging yourself and learning things. Also the subtraction level had a lot of common answers so it blew by super fast compared to the addition level. Some tweaks to the number of numbers (heh) on the screen/balance in general and this would be even better. Nice work!

shawn42 says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 11:40am

Controls felt good and there's some good learning to get here too. I wish the difficulty scaled so it could be easier for my young kids. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]