Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Robo Monster Hunt

by faemir - Jam Entry

You are an evil robotic wolf that steals sheep from the equally insufferable robotic farmers.

Collect all the sheep in the level while avoiding the farmers keen shotgun aim.

Game created by SUPERCORE members:

Ben Wilson (Code, Graphics) - http://www.zerofifty.one/
Daniel Cohen (Code, Graphics) - https://twitter.com/faemir
Kathryn Zalecka (Concept Art, Graphics) - http://kathrynzalecka.com/


Non-Jam resource credits:

Ambient sounds: http://freesound.org/people/sverga/sounds/16726/
Shotgun sound: https://freesound.org/people/Marregheriti/sounds/266105/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#97Overall(Jam)3.85
#101Graphics(Jam)4.31
#234Mood(Jam)3.52
#243Fun(Jam)3.46
#353Innovation(Jam)3.24
#428Theme(Jam)3.58
#518Humor(Jam)2.80

Comments

shiroookami says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:33am

Fantastic Game. The graphics are smooth and the mechanics as well. The AI works well and it was very fun to play! Great job!

garvon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:55am

I enjoyed this game. And I also shat my pants when the farmer first shot me.

Simonaiso says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:51am

Nice artwork! The game is fun too, but I have the feeling the Robo-Farmers are a bit too fast in shooting me, even when I am not in their vision.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:53am

The farmers shot me although I wasn't in their field of view. Made me stop at level 5 :(
Still a neat stealth game!

nwdg says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Wow! Nice art and smooth gameplay. Very well done! (Heart attack when the farmer shot me XD)

block97 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Fun game. The concept along with the smooth mechanics and the fantastic art really pull it all together. Very impressive, congrats!

Maramasa says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Great game with some wonderful graphics. Awesome work!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:48pm

That Headshot I took! Funny :) Liked the concept, pretty cool link with the theme. That was very laggy on my end but that must certainly comes from my PC. One bad note: I felt the hitbox with the field of view of the farmer was a bit unforgiving!

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Wow what a charming game. I could easily see this as a successful retail game. The shotgun sound is too loud though, made me jump XD.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:02pm

The visual style is quite good.

wooltech says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:21am

Great graphics, although it felt like the farmers could see a bit further than the arc showed. Overall fun.

Strike says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:00am

Very sad that the game crashes at the 5th level. Graphics are awesome and concept is great. So i won't consider this crash in my rating.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:35pm

I really like this game! The gameplay idea is great! Maybe the only problem is the line of sight, a little bit mesmerizing, not perferctly matching I think. Btw the game is extremely playable, enjoyable and funny!
The visual is amazing!
Well done! ;D

the31 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:54am

Very nice art! I had a few issues with the gameplay though: the WASD movement being rotated 45 degrees made it harder for me to know where exactly I was going, and I couldn't quite figure out where the cones of vision actually were.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:55am

Really fun experience! Always glad to see other Unreal developers ;) Nice visuals (especially those cool trees and the hut!).

Don't know about keyboard - can only recommend playing it with a controller - works great.

btw. also got crash around 5th level (first rain level).. but after restarting the game - all was fine (rain shader/ particle emitter/ ppfx?)

Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:52am

Ran at about 1fps on my laptop, so I'm not rating.
Specs: 1.5GHz Celeron, 4GB ram, Windows 10 (its not much, but it has been fine with every other game I've played)

sikosis says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:09am

Excellent gameplay which works really well. Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]