Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Mortal Fright

by belva1234 - Compo Entry

Hi my name is Fabrizio and i'm 18 , hope you like the game :D
In this game you are a player that's pissed off about running away from monster that try to kill you in any game , well now you are the boss, you make the rule , YOU ARE THE MONSTER , kill all the damn scouts

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#228Theme3.75
#353Audio2.96
#363Mood3.13
#399Humor2.87
#419Graphics3.18
#485Innovation2.96
#572Overall3.00
#722Fun2.65

Comments

belva1234 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:30am

GUIDE TO RUN UNITY WEB PLAYER ON CHROME:

-Type "chrome://flags/#enable-npapi" into your Chrome browser bar.

-Click Enable under "Enable NPAPI"

-Restart Chrome.

Suese says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:10am

I really liked the background art and ambient sounds.

robodylan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:39am

You did not include data files and assets for the game. To do so zip together the executable and game_data

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:39am

The background pixelart is really cool and the sounds and musics 'voice-made' are quite fun. I just think that the monster moves too slowly and sometimes it becomes a bit boring. But nice work anyway ;)

robodylan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:40am

You did not include data files and assets for the game. To do so zip together the executable and game_data

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:42am

Love the sounds

Ybalrid says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:48am

The audio is cool. You've donne really good graphics. The game is fun and is rhight on the theme! :-)

iossif says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:51am

the hiding mechanic with the eyes in the bushes is great!
i really enjoyed that game.

inurashii says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Nice audio, backgrounds, mood! Cutely goofy. Not terribly fun but a good start.

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:18pm

nice sounds and graphics. But the controls didnt work, i couldnt move in the game...

belva1234 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:43pm

I fixed the controls bug thanks you

evandaley says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:32pm

I like the lighting! Nice work

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Awesome art and lightning! I love how you are able to get the monster part of theme so nicely into the gameplay! Great work!

dsoft20 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:47am

Nice game, for a game made in 48h it is very fun and enjoiable.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:53am

Great entry!

Maramasa says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:18am

Looks pretty good and interesting mechanics. I do feel, however, that the graphical atmosphere is undermined by the audio clips. Good job though!

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:26am

Good game, loved it! Especially the art and sound :D

Xeke_Death says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:44am

Nice intro, gameplay was a little slow...
Graphics were cool, and I liked the sounds...

Leopoldine says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Background pixel art is funny.
good job.

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Nice mood! Put some guys on fire, like it!

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:17pm

I don't understand what I should to do near boy...

belva1234 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Maybe hold space as the tutorial suggest??

Phoenix Smith says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Interesting game, but could not beat level three, I was confused on what it met by going behind them. Tried everything from running past to scaring to waiting till one was looking away to scare. I just could not figure it out. Overall the concept was neat but felt it needed more to do in terms of scaring.

Thepattybeast says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Everything about this is really well done except maybe the third level because i kept having to kill a guard the dying on the trap over and over.

Ulydev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:12pm

+1 for high-pitched audio sounds !

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Awesome job recording the sound. Fun idea, could have moved a little more quickly

Hectigo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Could not figure out what I was supposed to do on the third level. Nice visuals and audio, especially the monster sounds.

belva1234 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:12pm

@Hectigo You just have tu run

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Neat little game with an interesting mechanic.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Creepy, well made. I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/UXRiA5Goh28

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Nice fun little game :D nice art.

dollarone says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:35am

Heh, cool idea. A game where you are an actual monster! The level with 4 people stumped me, the 2nd guy starts pointing before I finish my scare. Anyway, great interpretation of the theme!

Mikhail says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:32am

Liked the game! Just wished it was faster pace but thats just me. Still enjoyed it!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:47am

nice, those cows can take a fall!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:48am

sorry wrong browser window, playing yours now :)

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:57am

loved the ahem before the scare. I wished I could move faster and also on the 5th or 6th level I died but couldn't tell why? solid entry!

Shaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:11am

Great atmosphere, great graphics and animation, Really solid entry. Excellent work.

Caracole says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:57pm

The audio is just perfect :D made me laugh a lot.
Awesome job !

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:07pm

That's a solid game, good job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Gameplay is pretty good and interesting, graphics are good, liked the monster design. The audio ruins the mood to be honest, the one thing wrong with the game is the sound effects.

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:06pm

I like this. It's a fun stealth game and a good take on the theme. Bonus points for having level progression with locked levels!

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:42am

Very good audio! I laughed hard with ''What the ffff...?'' Haha good job!

TerinHD says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:08am

Felt a little slow for me. Good concept though!

Grouflon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:06am

Nice artwork but a little bit too slow

tMalicet says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Really nice pixel art! It's fun to play, I like this game!

superfreak says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Loved the ambient sounds and the idea - found that the monster moving slowly made some of the levels a tiny bit tedious but great effort and overall outcome :)

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:14am

I like the mechanics, but it moved a little too slow for my tastes. Scaring kids to death was surprisingly fun though.

shawn42 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:41am

I really like the duck and hide in the bushes mechanic. Nice work.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:39am

I love the introduction!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Fits the theme very well. Unique gameplay. Good job!

rudra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Really liked the art and the ambient sounds. Good job

dregamr says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:56am

Really nice game, but the monster moves too slowly, so it makes the game quite difficult.

FistBumpGames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Interesting game with nice game mechanics. The art and the sounds are nice.
In my opinion the monster moves too slow and that makes the game a tad boring at times.

TheColorMan says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:10am

The sounds and the music was good, but the enemies' behaviors felt buggy and inconsistent.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:18pm

This is a fun concept. I wanted the movement to feel faster though. I also wasn't sure where the range on the camper's view was. The monser animations and sounds were great. I like that you added a tutorial level as well. Good job.

jordinuco says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:14am

Nice visuals, the light effect is great.

Good job

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:24am

Wish the character was a bit faster but I really enjoyed the game regardless. Nice art style and audio. Great work!

bombjack says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:54pm

original. could be more fun if the monster moved faster

CrownCity says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 8:18pm

The sounds where good and I really liked the movement in your graphics. Sometimes I didn't know for sure what to do because there didn't happen anything holding the space bar. Overall it's a nice game.

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Very interesting entry with some good points: Original gameplay and skills, nice art, good atmosphere and perfect music and fx. Cheers!

Xanjos says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Definitely loved the voice acting. Adds a lot of charm to the game.

broknecho says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Great mood! Neat concept. Monster moved a little slow and I got caught by a camper when he was barely visible on the screen so that detection zone might need some tweaking. Great entry! Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]