Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Demon Vessel

by drilltail - Jam Entry

(If you are playing the embedded version, use full screen mode. If your resolution height is under 768 pixels, you'll also need to run the Unity plug-in itself in full screen.)


A platformer featuring a witch that takes on the forms of defeated spirits.

You may run into a bug or two. ...or, actually, you may run into a stampeding horde of them. If something crazy happens, you can press R to restart at the last checkpoint.

If you run the executable, make sure you pick 1024x768 resolution.

Controls (listed in game, so don't worry):
Left/Right: Move
Z or Up: Jump
X: Action (depends on your current form)
C: Switch form (press when near a fallen orb)

Tools:
- Unity (Programming/engine)
- Visual Studio 2013 (Programming)
- GraphicsGale (Artwork)
- Adobe Photoshop (Artwork)
- FL Studio (Music)
- Audacity (Music)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#147Innovation(Jam)3.58
#163Fun(Jam)3.60
#205Audio(Jam)3.50
#291Overall(Jam)3.50
#395Graphics(Jam)3.65
#534Mood(Jam)3.11
#988Theme(Jam)2.60
#1842Coolness33%

Comments

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:03am

Check the link!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:22am

Not the most monstrous game, but loved the different abilities and having to use the right one for the right situation, not just combat.

valid4life says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:52am

Controls are a bit cramped on the left side of the keyboard. I saw that you get different abilities as time goes on, but spacing them could help!

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:53am

Awesome audio and graphics. Very fast paced, and fun! Great job!

TRON.dll says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:42am

Really liked it! I liked the way the boss required you to use the all of the different abilities. Not sure if it was intentional or not but the attacking while jumping with the cat ability slows your jump, which I thought worked in the game's favor, adding more of a sense of agility. Great work!

Frump says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:07am

That was rad as hell. Great use of the mechanics and introducing them. Was satisfying to figure out how to beat the barrier enemies and get past the fireballs. Cool bossfight and music too. Great job.

Hegback says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:07am

The ability change feature sure hits my spot! Nice artwork, but is the animation a bit fuzzy? If the controls can be improved and the players got more health, I'll say it'll be awesome!

mantis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:10am

The game was quite cool, liked the final boss fight, though it wasn't that hard with possibility to switch to shield mode at any time

Hegback says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:11am

The ability change feature sure hits my spot! Nice artwork, but is the animation a bit fuzzy? If the controls can be improved and the players got more health, I'll say it'll be awesome!

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:11am

I liked all the sprites and different abilities. With a bit more development it could turn into a nice little platformer. The music didn't quite sit right with the game in my opinion, it was a pretty cool track though!

Grouflon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:30am

Amazing mechanics. Great job.

nassi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Interesting design with different "playable characters" and switching between them on the fly. Encountered only a few bugs, but nothing gamebreaking. Sprites looked nice but the environment was a little plain.

kaitokidi says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:03pm

nice game

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Interesting concept! I really enjoyed changing the powers of demons!
Really enjoyed the graphics and audio too! It's so cute~ xp
I just think that it's not very strong with the theme. It was a bit weird that when you jump attacked you immediately fall after the attack... Didn't spoil the action, but it was weird. Also at the first "big" battle, the camera was fixed at the "arena", but you are free to leave it, and then you would have to go back to it almost blindly (if you jump you may see where you are). But these are just details.
Anyway, great job!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:18pm

I like the art, the gameplay was cute and the effects were nice :)
the music was ok, but definitely, the graphics were cool.
nicely done!

PixlWalkr says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Cool game and cute graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]